Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Edna's Apple Crumble (Aka. Apple Crisp) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Edna's Apple Crumble (Aka. Apple Crisp)

    Average Rating:

    322 Total Reviews

    Showing 101-120 of 322

    Sort by:

    • on October 11, 2009

      Overall very good but it was a little on the sweet side. Next time I'll cut back on the sugar - perhaps 1/2 cup instead of 3/4.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 08, 2009

      My husband was so happy when he saw me wash these apples, then when I peeled and cut them he said, "You're not going to cook those are you?" :)) He'd never eaten cooked apples before. I served this fresh from the oven with a scoop of Bluebell Homemade Vanilla ice cream on top and he polished it off in no time. He says 5 stars!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 08, 2009

      Great recipe! I used honey crisp apples and they were a wonderful compliment to the topping. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 08, 2009

      Wonderful! We really enjoyed this delicious apple crisp. I'll be making it again tonight, but I think I'll double the apples this time. Thank you for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 02, 2009

      Cut down on prep time even more (if that is possible) by not peeling the apples. Use an apple corer, chop chop stir and you've got dessert!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 29, 2009

      This is an excellent recipe, even for a novice like me. I am testing various versions from the web, and this one consistently turns out tops with the family.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 28, 2009

      This was a really good crisp. The only change I made was to add less nutmeg; just my personal taste. I'm not a big nutmeg fan. Otherwise I doubled the topping as per other reviews and I used 4 different apples. I used Granny Smith, Honey Crisp, Gala, and Fuju. It was Soooooo good:)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 13, 2009

    • on September 07, 2009

      I just finished eating this crumble and it was really delicious. The trick I found to mix the dried ingredients with the butter is to actually use my hands. I doubled the recipe and used 1/2 cup of spelt flour with 1/2 cup of white flour. I also used 1/2 cup of chopped walnuts.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 06, 2009

      Totally delicious! I doubled the crumble too, just what the Dr ordered (well, perhaps not!)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 01, 2009

      Fantastic! I wouldn't change a thing. I used freshly picked McIntosh apples and it turned out lovely.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 30, 2009

      delicious, easy and flavorful!! everyone in my family loved this one. doubled it by going to 6 apples, double the topping, 13 by 9 pan. perfection

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 25, 2009

      Delicious! I made this for dessert tonight, and it was superb! Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 21, 2009

      I've made this a number of times, and it's always turned out wonderfully. My only complaint is that, as other reviewers have said, you really need AT LEAST twice the topping that this calls for (is this the American vs. European taste bud difference?). I usually make mine in a 13x9 pan, so use 6 apples instead of the 4. I tend to pair this with Cinnamon ice cream (Cinnamon Ice Cream (for electric ice cream machine)).

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 05, 2009

      Delicious. Tastes just like my mom used to make. I was using up surplus golden delicious, and while they definitely are not my first choice for baking apples, turned out beautifully. I squeezed a bit of lemon juice on the apples, added a pinch of salt to the topping, and used fresh grated nutmeg.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 27, 2009

      Thanks for posting this recipe. the flavor is just so great. I tripled the size of the crumble mixture so I can lay some of it as crust aside from the toppings. I reduced the brown sugar though (1 1/2 cup flour to 1 cup brown sugar) because the original quantity was just too sweet for us.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 05, 2009

    • on June 01, 2009

      Yumm yumm YUMM! I was able to use some apples that were looking old and unappealing. They baked so well with this recipe and tasted FANTASTIC! I used pumpkin pie spice because my husband and I love the combo of spices mixed together. I can't wait to make this again! This is a very versatile recipe and will be easy to customize with different ingredients. Thanks for posting!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 22, 2009

      Try drizzling regular old pancake syrup over the ENTIRE thing and then bake it. It definitely turns up the yum factor.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 18, 2009

      YUMMO! Just got out of the oven and it smells divine :) I used tinned pie apricots instead of apples as that is all I had but will be trying with apples over the weekend. Sweet, crisp and still crumbly, yum just like Grandma used to make. This one becomes an instant favourite :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Edna's Apple Crumble (Aka. Apple Crisp)

    Serving Size: 1 (134 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 323.7
     
    Calories from Fat 99
    30%
    Total Fat 11.0 g
    17%
    Saturated Fat 6.6 g
    33%
    Cholesterol 27.0 mg
    9%
    Sodium 99.5 mg
    4%
    Total Carbohydrate 56.6 g
    18%
    Dietary Fiber 4.1 g
    16%
    Sugars 39.4 g
    157%
    Protein 2.4 g
    4%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites