330 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Well don't know what I did wrong with this recipe, I followed the directions to a tee but my apples came out all dry and the topping was just clumps. It had a good flavor but just dry.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jazze22 October 02, 2010

I have made this twice and the topping is excellent, however..Next time I make this I think I will add a bit of sugar and cinnamon with the apples, I felt the apples lacked something. I used spy apples the first time and the suggested granny smith apples this time. Some nuts in the topping would be good too..but I reitterate the topping is excellent as is and there is plenty, no need to increase amount of topping as I have with other recipes. Good with vanilla ice cream! Enjoy!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Luv2Garden November 14, 2009

Had a good flavor. Was definitely easy!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
southern_gal12000 May 13, 2008

This the original! --The One ---THE ONLY--- Thanks for posting and letting everyone else in on the best kept English secret! LaceyLady

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LaceyLady February 06, 2004

A great Apple crisp! I used a total of 5 apples. We loved this warm with vanilla ice cream.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
nmj February 22, 2015

We loved it. I made some minor changes, I did cube the apples instead of slicing them, omitted the nutmeg (I don't like it) and added 1/c coarsely chopped pecans.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Suzy Snoflake February 02, 2015

Made a double batch. I put in a little cinnamon sugar with the apples (probably about a tsp of cinnamon in 2T sugar), and split the nutmeg into 1/2 tsp nutmeg, 1/2 tsp ginger, 1/2 tsp allspice as I agreed with some comments that 1 1/2 tsp seemed like too much. The coworkers gave it rave reviews. This is a definite keeper.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ZoomZoom Diva November 26, 2014

Absolutely delicious crumble! I did, however, make a few changes the second time around.<br/>I reduced the brown sugar by 2 tbsp. Reduced the nutmeg to 1/4 tsp because it was wayyy too overpowering. And cut up some extra butter and sprinkled randomly on top of the crisp before baking. <br/>Thank you for the amazing recipe. I made the changes due to personal preference only.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
K's November 20, 2014

Sorry, this just didn't work for me. I used 4 apples instead of 3, but the crumb topping I made as written. It wasn't crumb like in the mixing bowel, but I decided to just roll with it...which was my mistake. At the 30 minute mark I checked on it and there was no crumb mix on top to speak of. It looked just like sugar and flour dumped on top. I added small cold chunks of butter on top and cooked another 10 min which really helped. As written though, the crumb topping is no good. Sorry...I really wanted this to be amazing

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mrs. Beckman October 25, 2014

Don't change a thing. It's wonderful as it is. It's a classic recipe made with ingredients I always have on hand.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
herbsnflowers October 21, 2014
Edna's Apple Crumble (Aka. Apple Crisp)