330 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This was incredibly easy! I used Braeburn apples (they are tart and I prefer them over Grannie Smith). I took the suggestion of making more of the crumble but next time I'll stick to the original recipe. The extra crumble overpowered the delicious baked apples. I also used less nutmeg and more cinnamon as some suggested and the flavor was perfect. THANKS!!!!!!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JungleLove November 06, 2008

doesnt really need another review does it :) Best crumble ever! I did sub some demera sugar, for some of the brown, and it gives the crumble an even better CRUNCH!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mummamills August 24, 2012

The kids and grandchildren loved it. I did add brown sugar, cinnamon and soft butter to the apples before putting them in the pan and then added the toppings. It's good either way, we just prefer our apples with the extras!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ksahr August 07, 2012

Fantastic! This was so great. I doubled the topping recipe (sans nutmeg) as others had suggested and put a layer on the bottom, sandwiching the apples. I also used Joy1996's Dutch Apple Pie recipe to coat the apple slices (sans nutmeg). After it baked, I topped it will Kittencal's Caramel Sauce. I'm looking forward to eating the leftovers for breakfast! Thank you!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
themiddlechild November 25, 2011

I used Penzey's extra fancy Vietnamese cassia cinnamon because it is more flavorful than the grocery kind. Also, I used half the amount of nutmeg, a pinch of salt, fresh lemon juice and zest. Lastly, I always add vanilla flavoring to my desserts even when it's not called for in a recipe because it enhances flaovr just like salt does to desserts. I learned that in culinary school and it does make a difference. I would suggest using Granny Smith apples for this recipe or a mix of them with another apple. You can also use peaches in place of the apples. I have also used frozen apples which worked out very well. When I am doubling, tripling and even quadruling this, I do use the frozen to save time.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mizjmassie September 18, 2011

I gave it 4 stars, but made it 5 stars as follows: 6 total apples 1/2 fuji and 1/2 granny smith. Doubled the crumb topping as others had advised and eliminated the nutmeg as our family does not like the taste. Didn't have oats so left those out and it still tasted great. Will make it again soon!! Thanks!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MommaBakes2 September 08, 2011

Yum. Didn't and wouldn't change a thing about this recipe. Classically Delicious!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MsJena November 30, 2010

Excellent as written! Apples were perfectly tender and the top perfectly crispy!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
catkoehn November 28, 2010

I have made this at least four times this week. This is probably the simplest crumble you will find on this website, and the best.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
n18zh6 November 15, 2010

I omitted the nutmeg b/c I didn't have any, and used 2 granny smith, and 2 macintosh apples...delicious! My go to recipe for fruit crips now for sure! So easy, I won't even need to look at it again!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
498291 October 21, 2010
Edna's Apple Crumble (Aka. Apple Crisp)