Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    Thanksgiving Tips & Ideas >

    50 Ultimate Side Dishes

    50 Ultimate Side Dishes

    Make Sides They'll Be Thankful For
    3-Ingredient Appetizers

    3-Ingredient Appetizers

    Fabulously Easy Feast Starters
    Adorable T-Day Sweets

    Adorable T-Day Sweets

    The Kids' Table = The Place To Be
    You are in: Home / Recipes / Edna's Apple Crumble (Aka. Apple Crisp) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Edna's Apple Crumble (Aka. Apple Crisp)

    Average Rating:

    328 Total Reviews

    Showing 21-40 of 328

    Sort by:

    • on October 02, 2010

      Well don't know what I did wrong with this recipe, I followed the directions to a tee but my apples came out all dry and the topping was just clumps. It had a good flavor but just dry.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 14, 2009

      I have made this twice and the topping is excellent, however..Next time I make this I think I will add a bit of sugar and cinnamon with the apples, I felt the apples lacked something. I used spy apples the first time and the suggested granny smith apples this time. Some nuts in the topping would be good too..but I reitterate the topping is excellent as is and there is plenty, no need to increase amount of topping as I have with other recipes. Good with vanilla ice cream! Enjoy!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 13, 2008

      Had a good flavor. Was definitely easy!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 06, 2004

      This the original! --The One ---THE ONLY--- Thanks for posting and letting everyone else in on the best kept English secret! LaceyLady

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 26, 2014

      Made a double batch. I put in a little cinnamon sugar with the apples (probably about a tsp of cinnamon in 2T sugar), and split the nutmeg into 1/2 tsp nutmeg, 1/2 tsp ginger, 1/2 tsp allspice as I agreed with some comments that 1 1/2 tsp seemed like too much. The coworkers gave it rave reviews. This is a definite keeper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 20, 2014

      Absolutely delicious crumble! I did, however, make a few changes the second time around.<br/>I reduced the brown sugar by 2 tbsp. Reduced the nutmeg to 1/4 tsp because it was wayyy too overpowering. And cut up some extra butter and sprinkled randomly on top of the crisp before baking. <br/>Thank you for the amazing recipe. I made the changes due to personal preference only.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 25, 2014

      Sorry, this just didn't work for me. I used 4 apples instead of 3, but the crumb topping I made as written. It wasn't crumb like in the mixing bowel, but I decided to just roll with it...which was my mistake. At the 30 minute mark I checked on it and there was no crumb mix on top to speak of. It looked just like sugar and flour dumped on top. I added small cold chunks of butter on top and cooked another 10 min which really helped. As written though, the crumb topping is no good. Sorry...I really wanted this to be amazing

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 21, 2014

      Don't change a thing. It's wonderful as it is. It's a classic recipe made with ingredients I always have on hand.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 07, 2014

      Way to much nutmeg. Next time I'll try it without. Otherwise it has really good flavor.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 06, 2014

      Absolutely delicious. Just like the apple crisp I remember eating when I was a kid growing up in Michigan. Yummy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 16, 2014

      This crumble recipe is so good. As a note I used melted butter and left it in for 40 minutes then let it sit to cool. The crust firmed up just lovely.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 10, 2014

      Great recipe! Making this dish for a second time with a few alterations. I found that a pinch of salt would have added to the flavor as well as some cinnamon and sugar on the apples. The topping is excellent! Loved it!!! Thank you.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 30, 2014

      Great balance ... Nice topping but apples are still the star. Quick to prepare and you probably have the staples in your pantry already.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 19, 2014

      I've made this twice in the last three days. I need to double the recipe next time because it's so yummy! I think the nutmeg really makes the crisp.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 12, 2014

      Very very easy and very yummy! Honeycrisp apples and homemade sweetened whipped cream pushed it over the top. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 26, 2013

      Sweet enough but not too sweet and the perfect amount of oats! Whole family loves it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 01, 2013

      This is an amazing recipe! I also doubled all the ingredients so it would fill up a 9x13 pan. I used a combination of Granny Smith, Braeburn and Pippen apples and it was really good. I made it for Thanksgiving dinner and everyone raved about it. This recipe is a keeper!!! Thanks for sharing 1Steve!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 21, 2013

      Made this exactly as posted including the English custard on top, very good - this is the first time I've ever "made" a crumble but not the first I've ever "eaten" one and with all the apples from the orchard decided it was time to make my own. This was so good with the flavor of the tart apples and the crunchy topping, YUM; the only thing I had a problem with and I'm pretty sure it was me - is that parts of the topping was still dry, thinking I should have added more butter to it or something. But the flavors, oh my!! Used A Very Proper English Custard for the cream which was a new experience (in a good way) for me - thinking it'd also be so good with a scoop of vanilla ice cream

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 20, 2013

      I didn't have any nutmeg.... but it was very good!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 16, 2013

      I know after 300 reviews you are just dying to read mine LOL......but I just HAD to say thank you for a superb crisp......I have searched far and wide for a topping we love and this is it! It was the perfect combo.......I made this one as directed w/the granny smiths but looking forward to trying others apples and even peaches! This southern bee is buzzing, I'm the hit of the hive :). Thanks again

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Edna's Apple Crumble (Aka. Apple Crisp)

    Serving Size: 1 (134 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 323.7
     
    Calories from Fat 99
    30%
    Total Fat 11.0 g
    17%
    Saturated Fat 6.6 g
    33%
    Cholesterol 27.0 mg
    9%
    Sodium 99.5 mg
    4%
    Total Carbohydrate 56.6 g
    18%
    Dietary Fiber 4.1 g
    16%
    Sugars 39.4 g
    157%
    Protein 2.4 g
    4%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes