335 Reviews

This was VERY good! I had really small apples (not sure what kind they were), so I used about 8 or so. I doubled the topping, and cooked it in a 9x13 pan. Also, I didn't cut the butter in, I just melted it and mixed it with all of the other topping ingredients, then used my hands to sprinkle the crumble over the top. I also used about half the cinnamon and nutmeg. We had this with vanilla bean ice cream, it was VERY good!! Beats my old recipe for crisp hand down!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cherie.godbey April 14, 2009

This was incredibly easy! I used Braeburn apples (they are tart and I prefer them over Grannie Smith). I took the suggestion of making more of the crumble but next time I'll stick to the original recipe. The extra crumble overpowered the delicious baked apples. I also used less nutmeg and more cinnamon as some suggested and the flavor was perfect. THANKS!!!!!!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JungleLove November 06, 2008

Turned out perfectly. Was my first time making apple crumble. Tastes great when hot and cold too. Transfered it into tiny glasses, topped it up with a scoop of vanilla ice cream and popped it in the freezer. The next day my brother came over and tried it. Was so delighted and now he wants me to make them again for 50 of his officemates. It's that good. Thank you so much. Though I can say it's a bit nerve wrecking to make it for 50 people! Yikes.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Slasher T. April 27, 2016

doesnt really need another review does it :) Best crumble ever! I did sub some demera sugar, for some of the brown, and it gives the crumble an even better CRUNCH!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mummamills August 24, 2012

The kids and grandchildren loved it. I did add brown sugar, cinnamon and soft butter to the apples before putting them in the pan and then added the toppings. It's good either way, we just prefer our apples with the extras!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ksahr August 07, 2012

Fantastic! This was so great. I doubled the topping recipe (sans nutmeg) as others had suggested and put a layer on the bottom, sandwiching the apples. I also used Joy1996's Dutch Apple Pie recipe to coat the apple slices (sans nutmeg). After it baked, I topped it will Kittencal's Caramel Sauce. I'm looking forward to eating the leftovers for breakfast! Thank you!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
themiddlechild November 25, 2011

I gave it 4 stars, but made it 5 stars as follows: 6 total apples 1/2 fuji and 1/2 granny smith. Doubled the crumb topping as others had advised and eliminated the nutmeg as our family does not like the taste. Didn't have oats so left those out and it still tasted great. Will make it again soon!! Thanks!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MommaBakes2 September 08, 2011

Yum. Didn't and wouldn't change a thing about this recipe. Classically Delicious!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MsJena November 30, 2010

Excellent as written! Apples were perfectly tender and the top perfectly crispy!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
catkoehn November 28, 2010

I have made this at least four times this week. This is probably the simplest crumble you will find on this website, and the best.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
n18zh6 November 15, 2010
Edna's Apple Crumble (Aka. Apple Crisp)