Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    Thanksgiving Tips & Ideas >

    50 Ultimate Side Dishes

    50 Ultimate Side Dishes

    Make Sides They'll Be Thankful For
    3-Ingredient Appetizers

    3-Ingredient Appetizers

    Fabulously Easy Feast Starters
    Adorable T-Day Sweets

    Adorable T-Day Sweets

    The Kids' Table = The Place To Be
    You are in: Home / Recipes / Edna's Apple Crumble (Aka. Apple Crisp) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Edna's Apple Crumble (Aka. Apple Crisp)

    Average Rating:

    328 Total Reviews

    Showing 301-320 of 328

    Sort by:

    • on December 10, 2005

      Very good -- very easy! I used a mix of granny smith and winesap apples -- three each. Very yummy served warm with cinnamon ice cream!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 16, 2005

      The best!! it is great with some vanilla ice cream, i have it for dessert lots

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 14, 2005

      This makes a great apple crumble. I did increase the topping, by adding half the amount again. I served it with a choice of hot custard or vanilla ice cream. If you want to serve 6-8 people though, you have to make more, we ate it with four adults and I don't think the individual portions were huge. Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 21, 2005

      Very good and easy to make. I used smallish granny smith and golden delicious apples (about 10) thought the crumb mixture was at a good ratio as it is, I added chopped walnuts too, which was yummy. Next time I will cut up the butter into small pieces while its cold and mix them with the crumble mixture and then let it soften, it might be easier and faster to incorporate than adding a lump of softened butter at one time. Very good, Easy easy easy

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 18, 2005

      very very easy to make! i doubled the crumble mixture so i can add to the bottom and top of the apples. lots of cinnamon! no lemon juice tho. hope it goes well with the potluck. havent served it yet. thanks again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 07, 2005

      This recipe was great. It was simple to make, the only variation I made was to increase the amount of the crumble mixture to 1 1/2 times what is listed and it turned out perfect. Received many compliments on this one.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 04, 2005

      This was a wonderful and easy recipe! My whole family enjoyed. Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 02, 2005

      Wonderful!! Made this for a dinner party with apples my neighbor gave me... Everyone went for seconds! I did substitute a couple pears as I didn't have quite enough apples.. doubled recipe for a larger pan.. and it turned out great! I personally would have increased the topping.. but loved it as is... I just love the "crisp" part the best.. :)thanks for the great recipe!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 29, 2005

      I made 1 1/2 times the amount of topping b/c we like the added crunch. I thought it was a little too sweet but my husband likes apple desserts extra sweet and says I never add enough sugar, well this one was perfect for him.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 26, 2005

      Very yummy! I doubled the topping because it is my favorite part. I used two red apples and two green and it tasted great!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 29, 2005

      I made this today and it was amazing. My Mum and I loved it and surprisingly so did my Dad who is very picky about food and cooking. I added a sprinkling of desicated coconut and flaked almonds before putting it in the oven. The flavours of the nutmeg and cinnamon were delicious!!! Thank you for the recipe!!! xx

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 02, 2005

      I tried this recipe and it was a hit with the whole family. Very delicious. Celina#2

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 19, 2005

      Made this last night and we really enjoyed it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 07, 2005

      We enjoyed this desert. Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 03, 2005

      I loved that this recipe was so quick to prepare! We added chopped walnuts and it was scrumptious. And of course, vanilla bean ice cream on top -- love this recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 08, 2005

      I loved this recipe. It was so simple yet so delicious. My apples were gigantic Grannies. I increased flour and oatmeal (used whole wheat flour) by 50%. I did not increase the butter however. My butter was hard so I just chopped it into the oatmeal, much as though making a pie crust. I more than doubled the cinnamon, sprinkling some on the apples themselves. If you don't have Granny apples and you like their tartness, sprinkle a little lemon juice on your apples. (That's what my Mom always did.) I loved this. It brought back memories of watching my Mom prepare this and eating the long stripes of apple peel, (a real treat in those days!) Bought the ripple ice cream as suggested by someone. Goes perfectly with this although it would even be good plain. A real keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 04, 2005

      We made this tonight to use up some apples that where a little punky looking. It was excellent, even with me having the broiler on for the first 30 minutes. simply adjusted the setting and cooked it for another 20 minutes. Even I could not hurt it. We served it with either Freshly whipped cream or caramel ripple ice cream YumYum Quick, easy and tasty. A real winner.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 30, 2004

      Really a great recipe. We had some apples that were beginning to age and it used them beautifully. I did use 3/4 cup of oats and half Splenda and half brown sugar to reduce the sugar carbs and it worked just fine! Will make it again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 16, 2004

      Great recipe. Directions were clear and accurate. I'll definately make this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 11, 2004

      Took this dish to a potluck and received rave reviews. I altered the recipe slightly; less sugar and more oats.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Edna's Apple Crumble (Aka. Apple Crisp)

    Serving Size: 1 (134 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 323.7
     
    Calories from Fat 99
    30%
    Total Fat 11.0 g
    17%
    Saturated Fat 6.6 g
    33%
    Cholesterol 27.0 mg
    9%
    Sodium 99.5 mg
    4%
    Total Carbohydrate 56.6 g
    18%
    Dietary Fiber 4.1 g
    16%
    Sugars 39.4 g
    157%
    Protein 2.4 g
    4%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes