Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    Thanksgiving Tips & Ideas >

    50 Ultimate Side Dishes

    50 Ultimate Side Dishes

    Make Sides They'll Be Thankful For
    3-Ingredient Appetizers

    3-Ingredient Appetizers

    Fabulously Easy Feast Starters
    Adorable T-Day Sweets

    Adorable T-Day Sweets

    The Kids' Table = The Place To Be
    You are in: Home / Recipes / Edna's Apple Crumble (Aka. Apple Crisp) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Edna's Apple Crumble (Aka. Apple Crisp)

    Average Rating:

    328 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 328

    Sort by:

    • on September 26, 2010

      this was DELICIOUS! we made it with double the amount of apples, and triple the topping, but it was still tasty! we also added a pinch of allspice, which worked out really well. just make sure that when mixing the topping ingredients to fully and completely mix them, or else the topping'll turn out flour-y and not as tasty :D

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 05, 2010

      Fabulous crunchy topping!! I doubled the recipe using a 9X13 pan, worked perfectly. I also added approx 1 cup of toasted walnuts to the topping!
      This is now going to be our GO TO recipe for fresh fruit crisps. Thank you for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 08, 2008

      Wow wow wow!!! I also doubled this recipe and put it in a 9x13pan. At first it seemed like too much "crisp" but in the end it was great. I did have to grate some frozen butter on top of the whole dish midway through cooking though because the crumble was dry and the butter did not distribute evenly. I sprinkled some cinnamon on top of the apples before putting the crisp on as well. I thought it was really good warm out of the oven, but it was ten times better cold out of the fridge the next day. Delicious and easy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 06, 2011

      Yummy! I did tweak it a little which is why I gave it a four instead of a five. First I knew we'd need a bigger batch since my family and I are gluttons so I doubled the apple portion so it would fill a 9x13 size pan. I also tossed the apples in a little vanilla and white sugar. We love the apple crisp topping so I tripled that. I added a couple dashes of salt to the topping and ended up adding two sticks of butter. It came out picture perfect. It tasted just like I wanted it too and my family loved it. Vanilla ice cream on top is a must of course ;)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 27, 2012

      Sorry, but nutmeg was over powering and all I could taste.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 12, 2010

      Yummy, yummy! What I love most about this recipe is that it's so easy to make for the 2 of us. We halved the crumble recipe, and sliced 2 apples, baking in individual dishes. We served them with a scoop of cinnamon ice cream. We also think it would be good with a little caramel drizzled on top.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 12, 2009

      This is the same recipe from Betty Crocker that my friend shared with me recently. I doubled the recipe to fit my 13x9 (unless you have an older jar of nutmeg, you'll definitely want to reduce the amount as it is very strong!). Baked at 350* for 30 minutes. It's so easy to pull together and makes a great dessert served a la mode.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 28, 2011

      Delicious with some slight changes. Made with braeburn apples, added a little lemon juice to up the tartness and keep them looking fresh as I sliced them. Also, cut out the nutmeg, upped the cinnamon to 1 TBL, and added chopped walnuts to the topping for more crunch.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 04, 2010

      I can't believe I have not reviewed this yet ... I have made it many times. We all absolutely love it ... not a lot of ingredients yet full of flavor. Truly a great apple crisp.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 14, 2009

      This was VERY good! I had really small apples (not sure what kind they were), so I used about 8 or so. I doubled the topping, and cooked it in a 9x13 pan. Also, I didn't cut the butter in, I just melted it and mixed it with all of the other topping ingredients, then used my hands to sprinkle the crumble over the top. I also used about half the cinnamon and nutmeg. We had this with vanilla bean ice cream, it was VERY good!! Beats my old recipe for crisp hand down!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 06, 2008

      This was incredibly easy! I used Braeburn apples (they are tart and I prefer them over Grannie Smith). I took the suggestion of making more of the crumble but next time I'll stick to the original recipe. The extra crumble overpowered the delicious baked apples. I also used less nutmeg and more cinnamon as some suggested and the flavor was perfect. THANKS!!!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 24, 2012

      doesnt really need another review does it :) Best crumble ever! I did sub some demera sugar, for some of the brown, and it gives the crumble an even better CRUNCH!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 07, 2012

      The kids and grandchildren loved it. I did add brown sugar, cinnamon and soft butter to the apples before putting them in the pan and then added the toppings. It's good either way, we just prefer our apples with the extras!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 25, 2011

      Fantastic! This was so great. I doubled the topping recipe (sans nutmeg) as others had suggested and put a layer on the bottom, sandwiching the apples. I also used Joy1996's Dutch Apple Pie recipe to coat the apple slices (sans nutmeg). After it baked, I topped it will Kittencal's Caramel Sauce. I'm looking forward to eating the leftovers for breakfast! Thank you!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 18, 2011

      I used Penzey's extra fancy Vietnamese cassia cinnamon because it is more flavorful than the grocery kind. Also, I used half the amount of nutmeg, a pinch of salt, fresh lemon juice and zest. Lastly, I always add vanilla flavoring to my desserts even when it's not called for in a recipe because it enhances flaovr just like salt does to desserts. I learned that in culinary school and it does make a difference. I would suggest using Granny Smith apples for this recipe or a mix of them with another apple. You can also use peaches in place of the apples. I have also used frozen apples which worked out very well. When I am doubling, tripling and even quadruling this, I do use the frozen to save time.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 08, 2011

      I gave it 4 stars, but made it 5 stars as follows: 6 total apples 1/2 fuji and 1/2 granny smith. Doubled the crumb topping as others had advised and eliminated the nutmeg as our family does not like the taste. Didn't have oats so left those out and it still tasted great. Will make it again soon!! Thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 30, 2010

      Yum. Didn't and wouldn't change a thing about this recipe. Classically Delicious!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 28, 2010

      Excellent as written! Apples were perfectly tender and the top perfectly crispy!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 15, 2010

      I have made this at least four times this week. This is probably the simplest crumble you will find on this website, and the best.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 21, 2010

      I omitted the nutmeg b/c I didn't have any, and used 2 granny smith, and 2 macintosh apples...delicious! My go to recipe for fruit crips now for sure! So easy, I won't even need to look at it again!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4 5 6 ... 17

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Edna's Apple Crumble (Aka. Apple Crisp)

    Serving Size: 1 (134 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 323.7
     
    Calories from Fat 99
    30%
    Total Fat 11.0 g
    17%
    Saturated Fat 6.6 g
    33%
    Cholesterol 27.0 mg
    9%
    Sodium 99.5 mg
    4%
    Total Carbohydrate 56.6 g
    18%
    Dietary Fiber 4.1 g
    16%
    Sugars 39.4 g
    157%
    Protein 2.4 g
    4%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes