Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Edmonds Scones Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Edmonds Scones

    Average Rating:

    11 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-11 of 11

    Sort by:

    • on February 07, 2011

      I'm an european living in NZ. We invited some British friends for the afternoon tea. I was looking for an easy scons recipe, as I never backed them before. I tried this one and it has become an instant success! I've made them several times since then, we just love this scons with jam and cream. And they are realy easy to make. ( I use food processor)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 24, 2009

      this is the base to many amazing scones - my fav is cin/sultana, just add to this recipe 1 tablespoon of cinnamon, 1/4 cup sugar and 1/2 cup of sultana's. keep dough quite wet do not knead to much just till combined. makes light scones. Yummy!!!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 18, 2011

      great recipe. I like to add 1 cup of cheese and about a 1/4 of a onion, finely chopped and microwaved for 1 minute in about 15gms of butter to soften. Delish!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 21, 2010

      Good basic recipe, just like my grandmother used to make. Only thing I did different was instead of mixing dry ingredients, butter and milk with knife I rubbed the butter in with the dry ingredients and then added milk. Seemed much easier and was the way my grandmother showed me to do it. I added one cup of grated cheese and it worked really well, nice subtle cheese flavour. Thanks for reminding me how to make proper scones!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 22, 2009

      I am a kiwi who is in Europe at the moment and without my trusty edmonds cookbook... good thing recipezaar has the Edmonds scone recipe online! Delicious, especially with dates.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 10, 2009

      best scone recipe in the world. My fav for savory is to add a cup of grated cheese, half a cup of grated zucchini and a handful of sliced sundried tomatoes mmmmm

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 10, 2009

      I have almost the exact recipe from an English cookbook. It uses 1/2t salt instead of 1/4. I usually add a tablespoon of sugar. It is so simple to make and delicious! Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 04, 2009

      This is a staple in NZ homes! Classic, no fail recipe. I too, add cheese and bacon or serve with jam and cream. You can't go wrong here!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 06, 2008

      This is fantastic. I have been away from NZ for three years and this is one of my favourite recipes. I do add extras like a cup of cheese and a tsp of herbs for a savoury scone. And for a sweet version - I love topping these with jam and whipped cream. Thanks for posting this - Excellent.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 14, 2007

      Fantastic kiwi recipe, with great success on first attempt!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 24, 2006

      These are wonderful, thanks! I had been searching for this recipe for three years. I am English and visited America three years ago. I spent time in Florida and Arkansas and fell in love with those fabulous American 'biscuits' and I couldn't get enough of them. On my return from America I missed them so much and tried to make them many times, but, Alas, with no success ... until now that is. These taste exactly as I remember those in America tasting and now I cannot get enough of these! Thank you very much for posting this recipe I can now make those wonderful American 'biscuits' at any time!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    You Might Also Like...

    View All Scones Recipes

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Edmonds Scones

    Serving Size: 1 (60 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 12

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 172.4
     
    Calories from Fat 54
    31%
    Total Fat 6.0 g
    9%
    Saturated Fat 3.7 g
    18%
    Cholesterol 16.2 mg
    5%
    Sodium 284.9 mg
    11%
    Total Carbohydrate 25.3 g
    8%
    Dietary Fiber 0.8 g
    3%
    Sugars 0.0 g
    0%
    Protein 3.9 g
    7%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites