Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Edith Gump's French Onion Soup Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Edith Gump's French Onion Soup

    Average Rating:

    29 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 29

    Sort by:

    • on March 22, 2011

      YUM:) Next time I will cut add 2 onions instead of 3, and simmer covered so not so much broth cooks off... also I will omit the parmesan that goes the soup--it was good with it, but I don't think it needs it. But still an amazing recipe, I will be making it again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 04, 2009

      This was excellent! We used the base recipe, and modified it a bit. We only used 2 cans of beef broth and 2 yellow onions. In addition, we added a few dashes of worcestershire sauce to taste when we mixed in the soup and seasonings. We thought this made a big difference in enhancing the flavor of the soup. We also used provolone cheese on top, as that was what we had on hand, and it was excellent. Thanks for a great recipe that we will make again and again!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 10, 2009

      This soup turned out really good. I made it using Better than Bouillon beef stock base. I used that instead of the beef stock in the cans. It has a much richer, better flavor. Next time I will use the same beef stock base but I would add another 8oz. of water. It will make the soup a little bit thinner. I thought that at the end there was a bit too much onion and not enough soup. That should be perfect. Cheeses tasted great together. Make sure you toast the baguette rounds before melting the cheese over them. Perfect!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 21, 2014

      Fast and easy to put together. I used 2 onions instead of 3 and only swiss but otherwise stuck to the recipe. I have to say I thought it might have benefited from some sherry or a dry wine to make it a bit more "rich". That being said, nice basic soup that's easy to get on the table!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 31, 2010

      This soup might, may well be very good but please don't think a minute it IS the original French soup! We'd never use mozzarella, nor parmesan, nor garlicPowder! I do like the idea of customizing ANY recipe but ... Still I now feel I ought to try it which I'll do at the week end!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 30, 2010

      This is an excellent, authentic French Onion Soup! I made 6 batches of this (someone gave a friend 50#'s of onions!). It took nearly an hour for the onions to cook down and begin to brown. This means each batch took me 2 1/5 hours. 95% of this is cooking time! I tried low sodium broth at first and ended up adding some salt. Frankly - I do think this soup alot about the salty taste...and of course the melted cheeses! Used 'normal' beef broth for the remaining batches and they were just fine! I also added a little parm to my bread cubes (I prefer small, bite size pieces) while baking! Returned her onions in the form of soup with baggies of croutons and cheeses. All she had to do was warm and bake!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 29, 2010

      My DH surprised my by picking this recipe to make for us. He was so excited by how well this came out. Delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 03, 2010

      Oh so gooooood! This soup is so easy to make, and I really should make it more often.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 01, 2009

      Yum! I followed the recipe as best I could given my lack of swiss cheese. I also used 3/4 cup milk + 2 tbsp flour to thicken it up a bit since we like our soup thick around here. Will make again! The toast was scrumptious.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 06, 2009

      This was a big hit with my family and very easy to make. We used Jarlsburg Swiss on top.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 04, 2009

      Excellent recipe, thank you for posting it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 27, 2008

      Could not be easier but packs the full flavor of a soup that you slaved over all day! I served it in bread bowls (#329435) with the cheeses as the recipe calls for - to die for! A keeper for sure.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 18, 2008

      What an incredible soup! SO EASY, and tastes as good as any I've had in a resteraunt! I'm so impressed. This recipe makes me feel like I actually know how to cook!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 07, 2008

      We love this soup..Tasted wonderful and it was easy to make..Thanks

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 25, 2007

      Follow this incredibly easy recipe exactly if you want to serve a truly great soup. I served this on our Christmas Day dinner in Sourdough Bread Bowls with awesome results. My son requested this soup in the bread bowl and he did serious damage to his 2 servings! Thanks Potsie for another wonderful (and easy) recipe to make. I will make this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 21, 2007

      Potsie, another winner! This soup was truely lovely. Thank you so much for putting up with that hated Edith Gump; keep stealing her recipes and sharing them with us!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 14, 2007

      This was my first time trying french onion soup and I'm not sure if I just don't care for in general or if it was the recipe so I guess I really can't rate this fairly. Sorry.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 19, 2007

      Delicious! Thanks for the great recipe. I think it was adding a bit of cheese to the soup that made it creamy and wonderful. I didn't have beef broth so I used bouillon, make the soup just a bit too salty. This recipe is a keeper! Thanks

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 04, 2007

      We love French Onion Soup, and this one is one of the best we've had...even compared to the ones we've tried at fancy-schmancy, fuddy-duddy and nouveau ridiculoso establishments. Ambrosia in a bowl, indeed....the soup was absolutely wonderful. Edith Gump at her best. Hey, Potsie, I don't know what you have to go through every time Edith calls, but we really appreciate the endurance and fortitude you show, all in the name of good food. Bless you, Potsie!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 15, 2007

      Simple and tasty. I think the parmesan cheese stirred into the broth was a great idea. I did sub provolone for the mozzarella, only because that was already in the fridge. Thanks Potsie for putting up with Edith and for sharing her recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Edith Gump's French Onion Soup

    Serving Size: 1 (392 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 422.0
     
    Calories from Fat 226
    53%
    Total Fat 25.1 g
    38%
    Saturated Fat 15.3 g
    76%
    Cholesterol 75.5 mg
    25%
    Sodium 1709.4 mg
    71%
    Total Carbohydrate 25.8 g
    8%
    Dietary Fiber 1.7 g
    6%
    Sugars 3.8 g
    15%
    Protein 23.5 g
    47%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes