11 Reviews

Had to make something quickly and luckily had all the ingredients on hand. Everyone loved it. Great tang to it. Will definately be making this one again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
j9cowie August 06, 2010

A wonderful salad. Nice and crisp and would be great served with Mexican food in place of the normal refried beans. I didn't have white balsamic vinegar and wished I did after it had chilled. Next time. Thanks for posting. :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
teresas November 03, 2009

i tried this recipe @ a friends house & loved it! i made it last night with a couple of changes...i used red wine vinegar & rice vinegar instead of the balsamic & cider vinegar. i added some red onions instead of the onion powder. juice of one small lemon & salt & pepper to taste :) i served it on a bed of coarsly chopped romain lettuce and baked pita chips. YUM!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
caribee April 28, 2009

So tasty and easy to make!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Zoanna November 26, 2007

My husband and I thought this was great! I used a whole red pepper, added 1/4 tsp of salt, substituted parsley for cilantro, and used raw corn. I can't imagine the salad without it, it imparts such a wonderful flavor. I took other reviewers advice and halved the vinegars, but next time I might add another TBSP of lime juice.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Maito July 25, 2007

Theresa P, this was perfectissimo! I absolutely love this salad. There are not enough words. I had this over some lettuce and added some tuna to it as well. (Flaked salmon would also be a great addition for that extra protein) I didn't have the bell peppers, but this was just great even without them. For the corn, I used frozen white corn straight out of the bag without cooking it, and it added a nice crispy crunch. Thank you again Theresa P for sharing such a wonderful recipe. I'm always on the lookout for a new salad, and this is now one of my favorites!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
FoodExplorer July 24, 2007

This was very good-- I used the regular balsamic vinegar but with rice wine vinegar. I also did a few shakes of dried cilantro (before chilling)since that was all I had on hand. My two year old sat down and ate half of the bowl with me! I will be adding this to my summer recipes, nice crisp cold salad!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kts-3-Boys May 18, 2007

Great recipe but I jumped on the bandwagon with the changes and used half the cilantro,clear vinegars and red onion instead of onion powder.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
FLKeysJen November 20, 2006

Theresa, I really enjoyed this edamame and corn salad, and so did my husband. Not being a big fan of cider vinegar, I used seasoned rice vinegar instead, and I used white balsamic vinegar following the suggestion of another reviewer. My cilantro was looking tired so I used Italian parsley, about 1 T, and fresh red onion worked well instead of the onion powder. Beautiful colors and great flavor. I bet it'll be even better tomorrow, perfect for the lunch box. Thanks for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Heather U. April 25, 2005

This salad was absolutely gorgeous, until I added the dark vinegars. This is definitely a recipe that demonstrates the necessity of white balsamic. I also used half the listed cilantro. We enjoyed the flavor of this salad.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sugarpea June 20, 2004
Edamame (Soybean) & Corn Salad