Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Ecuadorean Quinoa and Vegetable Soup Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Ecuadorean Quinoa and Vegetable Soup

    Average Rating:

    41 Total Reviews

    Showing 21-40 of 41

    Sort by:

    • on October 21, 2011

      Slightly mixed reviews here, but I thought it was great. It's a nicely flavored vegetable soup boosted by the quinoa. I toasted the quinoa. I also added the cumin and coriander to the onions just as they finished sauteeing, as I think that releases more of the flavor. I used half broth, half water and canned tomatoes, so added no salt. Also, my bell pepper apparently had been used earlier, so I added a bit more zucchini to compensate, and I think that worked out quite well. Thanks for a very nice soup.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 04, 2011

      Excellent, yummy, comforting soup! I added a little more vegetable broth to the correct the consistency and I didn't have zucchini on hand so I added chard. Next time I will add cilantro and a touch of heat, but this soup was excellent. I will make again and again! Thanks for the great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 26, 2011

      This is fantastic! I was looking for a creative recipe for Passover and this fit the bill perfectly since the ingredients are only fresh vegetables, broth, spices and quinoa. My guests loved it and many asked for the recipe! I made a double batch but added more broth toward the end to reach the desired consistency. I also used meat broth. Otherwise, I followed the recipe exactly. The quinoa thickened up the consistency to be almost stew-like - it was so rich and yummy. I will definitely make it again - for Passover and year-round.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 19, 2011

      My first experience with quinoa and I chose this soup. It was sooo good, very comforting and filling. I could live on this soup!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 11, 2010

      Great soup. I ended up adding a touch more veggie stock because it seemed a little dry, but other than that, it was perfect.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 24, 2010

    • on February 10, 2010

      Delicious! Hearty and very tasty... a great soup for a cold winter day.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 09, 2010

      Wonderful taste and easy to make. We added a tsp of red pepper flakes to really enhance the flavours. Will be making this often - thank you for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 04, 2010

      Great soup. We added a little heat to it, otherwise stuck to the recipe. We'll make this again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 31, 2009

      Very nice. A comforting, mild yet flavorful dish. I added a bay leaf and bit of cayenne pepper, that was the only thing different. I plan on making this many more times. Maybe next time with chickpeas and kale or black beans and sweet potato instead of potatoes and zucchini. This will be a fun one to experiment with!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 05, 2009

      I really enjoyed this soup. I doubled the recipe so as to have leftovers the next day, and I used 10 cups of water instead of the 6 called for (if doubling). I added some chicken broth concentrate instead of vegetable stock. I omitted the tomatoes (didn't have any). Used red and yellow bell peppers. I added Cholula hot sauce to my 2nd bowl and it was even better. Next time I will add sliced avocados to this delightful, simple yet soulful soup.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 16, 2009

      Excellent soup. I multiplied this by 5, and had a nice large stock pot full. I used a combination of both red and green bell peppers, canned tomatoes and zucchini. I also added in some handfuls of baby spinach at the end to perk up the colors. I had to increase all of the spices and also the quantity of stock that I used, but that could be due to the increased cooking time. This reheats and stores well. Excellent soup, ratherbeswimmin'!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 09, 2008

      Yum! This soup has a great flavor, slightly reminiscent of vegetables and gumbo file powder. I must say I only tried this recipe because it had such great reviews, and because I recently bought some quinoa at a health food store and didn't know how to cook it. I was nervous about using cumin (I don't like it), nervous about using coriander (a spice I've used maybe once before, afraid I wouldn't like the quinoa. The only things I changed were to add about 3 cups more water, and cut down on the cumin. I also had to add a little extra of the spices to balance the added water.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 25, 2008

      Excellent, and so healthy too! I did leave out the lemon juice, otherwise made as stated. It's even good cold as left overs! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 02, 2008

      Delicious! This was my first time using quinoa, which I first prepared using the "Quinoa-Toasted" recipe. For the soup, I made a half-recipe but I needed to keep the liquid the same. I used beef broth and added some chipotle. Definitely will make again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 21, 2007

      Recipe definately needs 5 cups liquid. I used chicken broth. I had avoided quinoa because the first time I didn't have any directions about washing the quinoa first. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 11, 2006

      I ended up making this soup with barley instead of quinoa so I suppose I missed the point a little!! But it was delicious all the same. I used sweet potato in place of the regular potato and the resulting soup had great colour and tasted fantastic. Thank you.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 30, 2005

      I loved this soup! I also had to add extra water as it got really thick. I added 2 cloves of garlic and a splash of soy sauce to the recipe. The best way I have found yet to eat quinoa as it can sometimes be a bit stodgy. Lovely, thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 17, 2005

      This is delicious. I loved everything about it. It also freezes well.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 10, 2005

      I loved this. I added a bit more spices then it called for and added Tumeric, as well. Tastes great the next day cold, too.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Ecuadorean Quinoa and Vegetable Soup

    Serving Size: 1 (310 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 233.2
     
    Calories from Fat 78
    33%
    Total Fat 8.7 g
    13%
    Saturated Fat 1.2 g
    6%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 601.8 mg
    25%
    Total Carbohydrate 34.5 g
    11%
    Dietary Fiber 6.0 g
    24%
    Sugars 7.9 g
    31%
    Protein 6.1 g
    12%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes