Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Ecuadorean Quinoa and Vegetable Soup Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Ecuadorean Quinoa and Vegetable Soup

    Average Rating:

    41 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 41

    Sort by:

    • on March 31, 2010

      This was really excellent! Had a bunch of extra vegetables in the fridge, so I added brussel sprouts, carrots, ginger, garlic, sweet potato and upped the quinoa a bit to compensate. Easy recipe to play with, and it turned out so good. Highly recommend the ginger, it works great with the lemon juice. Also, if you really want to stay really low on calories, you can "steam fry" the onions in 1/4 cup water with the lid on rather than use oil. I never tried that before and was skeptical, but it worked fine and there's plenty of flavor in this soup without the oil. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 01, 2011

      Great stuff. Very flavorful, I was skeptical of the lemon but it was great, and I added cilantro. I played kind of fast and loose with the ingredients, a whole quart of stock, 2 smallish red potatoes, a whole red pepper, whole mediumish zucchini, 2 smallish onions, added some mild bulk sausage I had left from breakfast, etc., only really measured the seasonings. I will be making this a lot, with carrots next time and who knows what else. Thanks ratherbeswimmin'.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 24, 2010

      This is one of the richest tasting soups we have ever eaten! I followed it to the letter and we just couldn't get enough of it. My husband is still talking about it the next day. Thanks, Carole

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 06, 2009

      I liked this a lot. It's a really good mix of veggies, and I liked the spices. Next time I make it, I'll probably use larger amounts of the spices; also, I added more than the tb. of lemon called for. Thanks for sharing!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 09, 2005

      This was a really pleasant vegetable soup that with the addition of quinoa quite filling. I ended up adding an additional 2 cups of broth beacuse the soup initially resembled gruel with veggies. Used a combination of green and orange peppers which gave a nice appealing contrast to the tomatoes. The lemon was a nice addition and gave the dish a lighter flavor.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 28, 2005

      This is a wonderful soup, lots of flavor. I added one more cup of veggie broth and one crished garlic clove. Was a pleasant leftover lunch too the next day. Thank you!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 27, 2014

      It was tasty. I added more lemon and spice. Added 2 cloves garlic and a little ginger. More vegetables.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 08, 2013

      Even my surly children who didn't want soup LOVED this. I made a couple of minor adjustments, adding a handful of chopped jalapeno peppers for a touch of heat, bag of mixed veggies instead of zucchini, and sweet potato instead of regular. Really, really hit the spot! I will definitely be making this again! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 16, 2013

      Loved it! I will increase liquid next time...probably needed it b/c I used yellow potatoes (added at time of zuch.) and they disintegrated in the soup. I did add 1 large carrot in place of the bell pepper and threw in a little celery tops just for fun. Also didn't have vegetable stock so I used 2 small cubes of chicken broth. The only other change I made was to saute the tomatoes with the onions to release a little more of their flavor...oh and I added two cloves of garlic in there as well.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 14, 2013

      Yummy! I used chicken broth since I didn't have vegetable broth and couldn't bear to use just water. I happily added 1 crushed garlic clover per the suggestion of another review. Don't forget the lemon juice - it balances out the flavors perfectly.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 23, 2013

      Thanks for the recipe! It was my first exposure to Quinoa. Not sure I'm a fan on quinoa, it was a little thick for me...but the soup base was good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 18, 2013

      Great soup! I didn't have fresh tomatoes, so used a can of diced tomatoes with basil, garlic and oregano instead. Other than that, I followed directions exactly. Will make again, for sure! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 02, 2013

      This has become my favorite soup. I use an entire carton of vegetable broth (4 cups) and one can of diced tomatoes including the juice instead of the chopped fresh tomatoes. I also buy pre-washed quinoa to save time. You can substitute ingredients easily in this soup... I many times use a can of black beans instead of the potato and add a dash of hot sauce.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 28, 2013

      I followed the recipe but in the last five minutes I added a huge handful of fresh spinach, a can of drained cannelini beans and some rotisserie chicken that I chopped up. I wanted extra protein. I then added the cup of broth I had left over so it was a bit more soupy. It still turned out like a stew, but very yummy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 25, 2012

      Delicious. Easy and just lovely. I forgot to add the lemon juice at the end, but it still tasted great. I also just threw in an extra cup of broth. Will make this one again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 14, 2012

      I got this recipe off Meet the Shannons. Their recipe calls for two corn on the cob broken in half and cooked with the soup. It's absollutely delicious. I love the tangy taste the lemon imparts.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 18, 2012

      I wasn't paying attention and added too much chicken stock to my quinoa. In an attempt to save the quinoa, I decided that soup was the best option and this recipe was impressive. I had everything, but the zucchini on-hand. The result was an incredible soup that I will definitely make again! Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 02, 2012

      I followed this recipe almost exactly, using water since I didn't have any vegetable broth. I kept the water at the same level by adding more as needed, and I thought I could have probably doubled the amount of salt. I also used about 1/3 cup quinoa instead of 1/2 cup. The end result was excellent but didn't blow me away. It was a lot of work for my busy schedule. Also, my strainer wasn't fine enough and the quinoa got stuck in it, and some when down the drain. I probably won't buy quinoa again since I don't want to buy another strainer just to wash it in. But that's not the recipe's fault.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 28, 2011

      Perfect, amazing, very delicious and healthy soup!! Just a perfect combination of spices and ingredients that come together as more than the sum of the parts. I added diced ginger, which I highly recommend if you like ginger.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 21, 2011

      Slightly mixed reviews here, but I thought it was great. It's a nicely flavored vegetable soup boosted by the quinoa. I toasted the quinoa. I also added the cumin and coriander to the onions just as they finished sauteeing, as I think that releases more of the flavor. I used half broth, half water and canned tomatoes, so added no salt. Also, my bell pepper apparently had been used earlier, so I added a bit more zucchini to compensate, and I think that worked out quite well. Thanks for a very nice soup.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Ecuadorean Quinoa and Vegetable Soup

    Serving Size: 1 (310 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 233.2
     
    Calories from Fat 78
    33%
    Total Fat 8.7 g
    13%
    Saturated Fat 1.2 g
    6%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 601.8 mg
    25%
    Total Carbohydrate 34.5 g
    11%
    Dietary Fiber 6.0 g
    24%
    Sugars 7.9 g
    31%
    Protein 6.1 g
    12%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites