Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Economical Homemade Liquid Laundry Soap Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Economical Homemade Liquid Laundry Soap

    Average Rating:

    15 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-15 of 15

    Sort by:

    • on July 06, 2010

      I love this, it has a fresh clean smell, never any problem with it, gets my clothes sooooo clean!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 03, 2009

      I use a recipe similar to this I found online. The recipe I use calls for exact measurements of water and it yields 2 gallons. Other than the water amounts the rest of ingredients are the same. Yes, it is supposed to be a gel like substance. It helps to stir or shake before each use. We have a front loader that uses conserves water and I have had no trouble using this soap on anything. At first I worried the fels naptha would be too strong for my toddler but it's fine. It gets your clothes super clean without leaving any residue behind. I have used a downy ball with white vinegar in the rinse but found it wasn't necessary. I've given this laundry soap to friends and all have raved over it and ask for the recipe. As much laundry as I do, it costs pennies a load now. I've been making my own laundry soap since spring 2009.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 19, 2009

      I have been using a version of this for at least 2 years, not sure how long exactly. I love it. It's very easy to make, I make about 3 gallons at a time. I think i gets clothes just as clean as commercial laundry detergent and i do not miss the fragrance. You can always add your own if you like the smelly stuff but I don't personally like it. It's a great recipe and it's cheap. It's also great for sensitive skin.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 17, 2004

      I use this same laundry soap. Except I add 1 capful of Febreze Laundry Odor Remover. Which makes the detergent smell like Commercial Detergent. This soap does clean clothes just as well as any detergent. For stain removal pre-treat the stain by wetting it and rub the bar of Fels-Naptha on the wet stain. Scub spot with toothbrush. Fels-Naptha will get out most any stains. Including yellow formula stains and grease. Even on items that have been previously washed.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 15, 2004

      This stuff will clean just about anything. I have a glass stovetop and yesterday some water from potatoes boiled over and burned into the stovetop. Normally I would scrub ever so gently with the 'recommended' (and very expensive) cleaner. This time I put a bit of this soap gel on the area and let it set about an hour. When I came back I was able to remove this burned on stuff with a washcloth and no scrubbing at all! Awesome!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 01, 2009

      This works and it is very economical! I add 1 capful of a commercial detergent that is too strong smelling for my family to use alone but it does impart a subtle fragrance when added to the 2 qts of detergent. I am passing this on to my mom. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 25, 2009

      I made up this recipe using my own homemade liquid soap and found that it worked (suprisingly) very well. The primary reason for making my own detergent was for the fact that every time I opened the lid I would almost gag on the concentrated smell and would have to turn my head and hold my breath. Since I make both liquid and hard soap, I have options as to what detergent I want to use! Great recipe...I will use this one again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 09, 2009

      I use this all the time. We really like that it doesn't make a lot of suds. We haven't had any trouble with "gray" clothes as one person had and our clothes always come out clean smelling even without the essential oil added. Sometimes I will add grapefruit essential oil or lemon just because I like the citrus smell We also use vinegar put in a downy ball as a rinse Lots cheaper than storebought. You can find washing soda on internet.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 04, 2009

      This is my recipe too! (I got it from The Queen of Clean.) I add about 10 drops of Sweet Orange essential oil to it. LOVELY!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 06, 2008

      I have used this for the last year or so. I have to say after trying it as a laundry detergent I did not like it. My whites would turn grey and it seemed like it would "eat up" my towels. It is very strong in that way I think. But we LOVE it as a cleaner and put it in a spray bottle. If you want to see your kitchen sink and faucets shine, you have to try this. I couldn't find anything that would clean my textured shower floor and thought I would just pour some in and scrub that way....wherever it laid it was white under there...that was before scrubing it! We love the smell...I will use ZEST 'clean linen' scent and just a touch of lavender in it. I would say just be careful and test a small spot before trying it the first time on something new to make sure you have good results with it. (Don't put it on anything painted)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 04, 2008

      I made this recipe tonight using Ivory soap instead of the Fels Naptha. For the dingies in the laundry, use a vinegar rinse in a Downy ball. This will also clean your machine over a period of time. Hope this is helpful to others.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 20, 2008

      I've been using this soap for almost 2 years now, one of my sons has very bad skin ( before switching to this soap he looked as if he had severe burns on his neck and torso)Once we switched ,in three days his skin "cleared" and we cannot use any "store-bought" soaps ever again. If you have alergies, please try this soap ,it really helped us.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 19, 2007

      I have made this many times in the past 3 years. I developed an allergy to all commercial detergents except one brand of fragrance free/color free brand that is on the expensive side. I think this did a good job of cleaning our clothes, plus I could add in essential oils if I wanted a boost in fragrance or cleaning power. Eucalyptus EO is reputed to kill dust mites, so I also add a few drops for good measure. I did end up using about 1c/ normal load and 1 1/2c for heavily soiled or larger loads. I am having a hard time finding the washing soda in our area now, so as soon as I find some, I will make another batch. Thanks for posting a great household tip!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 16, 2006

      I have made this many times, it is nice, I esp. like that is not highly scented. It is easy to make and not very much money. I got an old enamel chamber pot at a flea market with a lid. I use store bought only occ. for the really dirty farm clothes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 03, 2005

      I tried this recipe in hopes of saving $$ on store bought Laundry Detergent. I do not feel the clothes were cleaned - it was difficult to tell. I don't feel too comfortable that this actually cleaned as good as I read in the other reviews. I followed the recipe to the "T". It's a 'jell-like- substance. I'm still using it here and there along with the regular detergent I was using. Unless someone can tell me what I may have done wrong - I do not think I'll try this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Economical Homemade Liquid Laundry Soap

    Serving Size: 1 (2370 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 0.0
     
    Calories from Fat 0
    %
    Total Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Saturated Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 23.6 mg
    0%
    Total Carbohydrate 0.0 g
    0%
    Dietary Fiber 0.0 g
    0%
    Sugars 0.0 g
    0%
    Protein 0.0 g
    0%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites