31 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

YUM! Another winner with the overly-picky hubby... I thought this tasted very "pot-roasty" and heavy... not expected from a chicken dish but VERY welcome! I skipped the potatoes and served mine over egg noodles--- excellent! I would highly suggest doubling the mushrooms and carrots (at LEAST, especially if not including potatoes in the pot)-- they soak up all that delicious flavor and I really wanted a lot more once I started eating them! This is a keeper! Thanks esm4877

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BrandNewJen July 24, 2008

This turned out excellent for so little work and so few ingredients! I was running VERY short on time and came across this dish. I only had 98% FF cream of celery soup in the house and improvised with it. I added 8 ounces fresh sliced shrooms and used a 1 ounce envelope of onion soup mix. Didn't have time for carrots or potatoes so omitted them both and served this over wheat penne. DEELISH! I have a crockpot that cooks HOT so I cooked this on high for 2.5 hours and it was perfectly done from the frozen chicken state. Will definitely make this one again.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
RedVinoGirl July 14, 2009

Excellent recipe with great flavor. The only thing I'll do the next time is cut down on the onion soup mix as a 1/2 a packet probably would do the trick. After cooking this stew all day I removed the chicken, shredded 1/2 of it and put the shredded chicken back into the stew. Then the other 1/2 of the chicken I used for enchilada's the next day. Thank you for sharing this great recipe!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cooking Mama 3 January 27, 2008

Very easy and super yummy! I reduced the ingredients and made 4 servings: reduced fat COM soup, 1/2 a package of Lipton's mix, 1 cup of raw sliced shrooms, 4 red potatoes. Served it all over brown rice- it was great. The chicken was nice and tender and the veggies and gravy were so good with the rice!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MrshMelloz November 06, 2007

This was outstanding! I would give this 10 stars. I used 2 large frozen chicken breasts. Cut the recipe in half except for the mushrooms and carrots. Added some sour cream, equivilent to the amount of milk used. Just before serving I tore/shredded the chicken into smaller pieces and mixed in about another 1/4 cup of sour cream. My neighbor made this also, but used alot more of the sour cream at the beginning and it was even better than mine. With the leftovers I made soup. Made chicken broth from bullion cubes (2 cups of broth to 2 cups of leftovers) and mixed in a heaping tbsp of sour cream. It was absolutely delicious!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jenniegal January 08, 2006

This recipe was made on 12/21/12 for the " Let's P-A-R-T-Y 2011 " Event and most importantly mine and my SO's dinner. :) If you don't like the convenience of canned and boxed soups,stay away from this recipe.I did make some changes to the recipe, instead of using 6 chicken breasts only 2 very large ones were used. Also, instead of using mushroom soup I used cream of chicken ( personal choice ). About 2 hours into cooking the cooking time, I added about 4 cups of peeled and cut potatoes. When the potatoes were almost fork tender, I added 8 ounces of frozen blanched baby carrots. To replace the mushrooms I added some leftovers peas, which also added a bit of color. This recipe was cooked in just under 6 hours on low.My SO and I both really enjoyed the taste and texture of this recipe. Thanks for posting a recipe the will be made again. " Keep Smiling :) "

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef shapeweaver � December 22, 2011

Wonderful all in one dish! We added the carrots and potatoes a couple hours before serving so they wouldn't get soggy and everything turned out great!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Elizardbeth October 11, 2008

Great recipe...made a few revisions tho...used a 540 ml can of ready to serve chicken and mushroom soup, omitted the carrots, used a 2 lb bag of baby potatoes, and as per previous reviewers that commented on the saltiness (and because I used pre-seasoned chicken breasts) I also omitted the onion soup mix and just used sliced onions...I also substituted the milk with sour cream...cooked it on high for 5 hours and added a little cornstarch in the end to thicken gravy...came out amazing and my husband and 1 year old LOVED it...leftovers are yummy too...thanks for posting an easy and adaptable recipe. :)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
YummyInYourTummy June 08, 2008

The name says it all... easy and yummy. I thickened my gravy with a little cornstarch at the end but otherwise followed the recipe exactly. Definitely a repeat recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Alisa Lea March 16, 2008

I skipped the potato and added a cup of sliced fresh mushrooms. I too put it over rice. It's certainly easy, just put it all in the crock and turn it on. I thought that the onion mix was on the strong side, but then, I made a single serving and that could very likely throw off the equation.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Annacia May 05, 2007
Easy & Yummy Slow Cooker Chicken