Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Easy Yeast Rolls (Or Monkey Bread) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Easy Yeast Rolls (Or Monkey Bread)

    Average Rating:

    37 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 37

    Sort by:

    • on August 28, 2010

      These could not be any easier! I love how little time they took. I made them sweet and added coarsely chopped pecans between layers. I took them to a baby shower and only 3 pieces were left. I am making a second batch tonight for my family! They weren't ooey gooey, so if you want them that way, sprinkle extra cinnamon/sugar between the layers (which is what I plan on doing tonight). These were much better than ones made with canned biscuits!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 28, 2014

      This is a great recipes,I just love it to out GREAT !!!!!!! THANKS SO MUCH.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 30, 2013

      I now know how to make proper cinnamon roll dough! Thanks for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 21, 2011

      YUM! So good, loved making these as monkey bread with my 2 year old. Your directions are wonderful for making the experience extra special with kids :) They did burn a little on the bottom, but I think it's because we put it on the bottom rack (had a roasting chicken on the top rack). We will definitely make them again, thanks for the keeeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 08, 2011

      turned out amazing! used fresh yeast instead.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 01, 2010

      Excellent! This is now my "go to" recipe for yeast rolls. I made them as dinner rolls, not monkey bread style but I will try that next go around. I can see where they would be very tasty with the cinnamon and sugar as a sweet treat. Thank you for sharing this recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 25, 2010

      Delicious! These make the perfect dinner rolls. If making a sweet monkey bread, really pile on the sugar and cinnamon between layers, and don't skimp on the butter.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 25, 2009

      Made these for Christmas. I didn't have butter, so I brushed with an egg wash (1 egg yolk and 1 T water). Turned out beautiful! and very delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 27, 2009

      These rolls were a last minute addition to our Thanksgiving dinner, and they were a fantastic choice! This is a simple recipe. The rolls rose and baked beautifully. I will continue to make these every year! Thank you for a wonderful recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 26, 2009

      I have always had hockey puck yeast rolls. These are fabulous! Great directions=great results! THANKS!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 08, 2009

      These were so-so. My dough never rose very much. I know the yeast was good, since the bread dough I made earlier in the week rose properly. Maybe my thermometer is off? Anyways, I'm giving this three stars because they tasted good despite the density of the bread. I made the sweet version, but added way too much sugar. I ended up with brown sugar sauce, which gave the rolls a slimy texture.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 03, 2009

      These were a flop! I followed recipe exactly and they didn't rise at all. Sorry, but yuck hockey pucks here! :(

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 12, 2009

      I don't know what I did wrong T_T I followed the instructions exactly but my 'sponge' never rose at all!! I ended up putting on top of my warm oven with a damn towel. I saw bubbles in the sponge form but that's all that happened! Was my yeast bad? I bought it at Winco at their bulk section. I am so sad. I ate the bread anyways (it was really good) but was just sooo dense, like cake or something. I suppose I'll stick to baking powder style breads for now.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 04, 2009

    • on March 22, 2009

      I got the chance to make this recipe, and Oh my Goodness, did it ever go over big!! My hubby has even invited friends over to try it, so I'm in the Monkey Bread making business for a while!! lol Thanks again for yoru recipe!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 17, 2009

      These wee rolls were so cool! I'm already trying to plan my next meal using them! They were so soft & light! I added some minced garlic & onion to the marge for a bit of a kick - could've used more though! I served these with Sackville's "Moroccan Meatballs" & kept the sauce a bit runny for more soaking... sooo good!!! What a wonderful find!! Thank you :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 25, 2009

      I was surprised how fast these rolls were for a yeast bread. They were tender and fluffy. I wanted to make dinner rolls, so I put 3 balls each into muffin tin cups. They were the perfect compliment to sopping up pot roast gravy. I would make again, though in my experience I needed to add almost an extra half cup of flour to make the dough workable.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 05, 2009

      This was the perfect bread addition to my soup dinner. I used my Kitchenaid mixer to make this. Never heard of Monkey Bread until just recently. Lovely texture and fun to just pull a piece off at a time. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 07, 2008

      These were easy to make & tasted good. My 4 year old enjoys them. I didn't know how big to make the balls & didn't make them large enough, so we had tiny little rolls, but they were still good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 13, 2008

      I hate to give this a bad review so I am not giving any stars just a comment. I have never touched yeast before so the bad turn out was probably my error. I was so afraid to make anything with yeast until this simple recipe....but I think I flubbed it. My rolls were really dense and flavorless. Maybe I kneaded them too much??? I am going to try again. Thanks for a painless recipe for us that are scared of the yeast.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Easy Yeast Rolls (Or Monkey Bread)

    Serving Size: 1 (89 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 298.2
     
    Calories from Fat 142
    47%
    Total Fat 15.8 g
    24%
    Saturated Fat 3.0 g
    15%
    Cholesterol 23.2 mg
    7%
    Sodium 289.9 mg
    12%
    Total Carbohydrate 33.5 g
    11%
    Dietary Fiber 1.2 g
    5%
    Sugars 3.2 g
    13%
    Protein 5.3 g
    10%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites