21 Reviews

Thanks for a great recipe. I also used only 2 cups of broth and added additional veggies and black beans like another poster suggested. Love that i usually have everything on hand to make the sauce so enchiladas are now an easy staple in our home.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
EMcooks November 05, 2010

These were good. I added some black beans and zucchini and mushrooms. I use only 2 cups of broth as others suggested. Thanks.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
aronsinvest August 26, 2009

Loved this! Made the sauce as directed, except I only had 3 cups of chicken broth. A lot of seasonings go into the sauce, but it comes out flavorful - not spicy hot. I like the suggestion to only use 2 cups of broth and will do that next time. I branched out on the fillings and used diced red onion, broccoli chopped very small, and chopped mushrooms. When they had cooked down, I added half a block of neufchatel cheese and melted that in. (You could use cream cheese or lowfat cream cheese, but I like neufchatel for the fat/flavor trade off.) I rolled the filling in low carb tortillas poured the sauce over, sprinkling with some grated cheddar. Loved it! The cream cheese gives the filling a nice creamy/gooey texture without using a lot of it. We didn't miss the meat at all. I did have extra sauce, and I mixed that in with more salsa and added that to cooked brown rice with canned black beans to make an easy version of black beans and rice.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Linda Sue May 08, 2009

DH & I really enjoyed this, although I did make some changes - mostly due to what I had on hand, but I did make one significant change: I only used 2 cups of veggie broth. I still had enough sauce to easily cover a 9x13 pan of 7 enchiladas - and I still have some leftover. I really think that 4 cups would've produced way too much sauce and really diluted the seasonings too much. In addition to the seasonings listed, I added a good pinch of salt (b/c I used organic, no-salt-added tomato sauce) and a dash of red pepper. I added about a half-cup of fat-free refried beans to the veggie mixture. This recipe is really versatile, and one I will prepare again. :)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
newspapergal August 31, 2006

Yumm. This is a keeper. No more canned enchilada sauce for us. We were able to use up leftover pasta sauce and salsa, making this a truly home made sauce with the ease of the canned stuff. We weren't sure if we were going to like the sauce when we were making it, and were surprised at how great it tasted in the end. We made this recipe just as directed, and now have a great base recipe to play with. I'm sure the sauce will taste different every time, depending on the kinds of tomato sauce and salsa we happen to have on hand. Thanks for another good one, Roosie.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
VegSocialWorker December 02, 2005

Great sauce recipe. Definitely broadening the spices is a plus and something I always do in other recipes but never thought of in my enchilada sauce... go figure. lol I also didn't add the salsa, I didn't need it. My filling was different as I added cumin seed to the oil first, then ground fresh large dark shitaki mushrooms fresh and a ground medium eggplant (standard not Japanese type) as well and then the spinach and red bell peppers. I also tossed in some fresh cilantro. You could use anything that suits your tastes.

I didn't have the cheeses listed and used paneer cheese it worked just as well. This best part of this recipe is that it is very malleable; After the sauce and purchased tortillas everything is what your tastes call for in the filling! Thank you so much for posting. Oh, and I got it from my daughter after she served it for a Shabbas dinner!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Maeven6 January 08, 2012

I can't thank you enough for this recipe!! AND for the wonderful reviews; very helpful--esp about cutting the broth amt (used veggie broth) in half. I cut the sauce recipe in half & spiced it up on the cumin & chili powder--2 of my favorite spices. I used taco sauce for the tomato sauce & used a little less paprika, garlic powder & flour (used whole wheat). I simmered it for almost 15 min to get it really nice & hot & let the spices meld. I used spinach, mushrooms, broccoli for the filling, plus added a few tbsp of black beans. It was just wonderful & I used the leftover sauce for a meat filled enchilada for my husband, who normally doesn't like "red" sauce all over his burritos. He liked it & now that makes it a keeper. Thanks again!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LUVMY2BOYS November 22, 2010

I really enjoyed this but I didn't want to give stars because I borrowed a method from another reviewer. I also added half a block of lowfat cream cheese to the veggie mixture, and I think that made it too different from your original recipe to fairly judge it. It was delicious though, and hubby couldn't believe how filling it was for a veggie dish! Thank you!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bricookie55 January 14, 2010

The sauce makes it! I used to think I disliked enchiladas but I actually disliked store-bought enchilada sauce. No comparison! I was afraid my BF might find this too spicy, so I added about 2/3 of the spices but next time I'd use all of them. Instead of mushrooms (don't eat them) I added carrots. I used about 1 1/4 cup of 2% cheddar and monterey jack cheeses. Even without the cheese it would have tasted great. I went easy on the oil and I made all of the sauce, and I'm grateful to have leftovers in the fridge the next time I'm in the mood for a gooey and cheesy Mexican dinner. More than 5 stars:)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kumquat the Cat's friend April 06, 2009

This is a great recipe. I made it as is, and everything turned out great. It is nice to find a good vegetarian recipe!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
hugs_16 March 26, 2009
Easy Veggie Enchiladas With Quick Sauce