10 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I doubled this recipe, and boy, am I sure glad I did because I ate two of these for lunch!! These are SOOOO yummy!! I used fresh garlic, and dipped my burrito(s) in salsa. Thank you, Anu, for a recipe that is sure to become a staple for me!!:) ~Manda

12 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Manda May 25, 2002

Yummy and so nice for a hot low fat lunch. I had mine in a pita bread and added some hot spicy salsa.

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
dale! November 04, 2002

I think the recipe was good. It smelled delicious and we made it into a pizza pie

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Latisha July 10, 2002

The recipe was very good

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
victor25 July 08, 2002

This is a very tasty and versatile recipe. I quadrupled the recipe for our family and we had them for dinner and lunch the next day. I made the filling, put the filling in the tortillas and folded them and immediately put them in the refrigerator (I wanted to hurry up and make dinner but had to run some errands before my husband got home) So then we took them out of the fridge and grilled them when we were ready for dinner. Ooooh so yummy and even better with a day later!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
karalyn5272 February 03, 2010

Wow! What a wonderful recipe! I used 1/2 cup vegetarian beans & since I HAVE to have spice/flavor to any mexican dish, I added taco sauce, cumin, chili powder, onion & garlic powder, cayenne & coriander. I heated the bean mix in a saucepan, then layered some lettuce & fat free cheddar cheese & sour cream on the burrito. It was fabulous & so easy. Thanks for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LUVMY2BOYS September 03, 2008

Pretty good, and very vesitile. It's good with refried black beans too. I personally like to add fresh garlic and onion for more flavor. I also double the recipe for one. One serving is only enough to fill a very average sized burrito. Come on, it's vegan, you can have two!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
alanam_28 June 24, 2008

Great recipe, but even after I added medium salsa and fresh garlic with the garlic powder, I found there to be a lack of flavor. Nevertheless, the recipe is very versatile and would be fun to play around with. I also used corn tortillas to save calories, so I'm sure that relinquished some flavor (hence the 5 stars). Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mimosas for Mr & Mrs March 18, 2008

Brilliant, easy, tasty, healthy meal. I added chopped fresh chilli, plus some Mexican spices and served with salsa and avocado salad. Very yummy; will definitely make again - thanks for this recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
VegeMight July 23, 2006

Tried to convert this recipe into a 4 person serving and used half the water (1/2 cup instead of 1), and in the end the refried bean mixture was too runny, even though I tried boiling some of it off. However, it did taste quite good, so my BF and I agreed on a 5-star rating. If you want to quadruple this recipe, I recommend using less than 1/2 cup of water. I added a bit of cheese to the burrito and used black bean wraps. Served with salsa too. Tasted fine but it was a bit messy.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kumquat the Cat's friend December 16, 2005
Easy Veggie Burrito for one (Vegan)