41 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I am rating this a 5-star because it is fast, easy, healthy and economical. Honestly I thought it was a little bland but It makes a good base recipe, though, so I added some minced garlic, cayenne, hot sauce, worcester, green pepper and served it with lots of topping choices like avocado, cilantro, black olives, cheddar cheese, a squeeze of fresh lime, crushed tostito chips and sour cream. Problem solved, everyone gave it a big thumbs up. Next time I will sub cannellini beans for the chick peas (just a personal preference of texture). Anyway, it's a keeper and thanks for posting it!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Gina Farina February 23, 2010

Super easy and a great supper served with cornbread and oatmeal cookies for desert on a cold rainy night. Comfort food at its best! I only used 1/2 pound of turkey and also subsituted cannelini beans (for the ckickpeas) with delicious results. This is a must for busy moms who want a hot meal waiting at the end of the day. Thanks Derf we will be having this often!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ellie_ March 04, 2004

This really is a great base recipe. I drained the beans and used a can of tomato paste instead of tomato sauce which ensured it not being watery. I added corn, diced bell pepper and okra. Also tweaked it with a little cumin and garlic and paprika. It was a hit! So easy to make and even better next day!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
josiejane February 01, 2012

Great recipe! My entire family liked this one (that say's ALOT)! I didn't use the chickpeas and I added some Ceyenne for heat. Also, I was out if ground turkey so I used 93% lean ground beef. I will do this one again but will try the turkey next time....didn't seem like a diet dish at all!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
diane_7656672 January 19, 2012

This is a fantastic recipe. In order to give it more dimension and add a bit more spice I also add: 1 tbsp minced garlic, 1/2 tsp paprika, 1/2 tsp dried oregano, 1/2 tsp cayenne pepper, 1/2 tsp ground cumin, 1/2 tsp salt, 1/2 tsp ground black pepper and 1 can of original ro-tel (drained). I also only use 1 tbsp of the chili powder. We serve it with sour cream, oyster crackers, shredded cheese and jarred jalapeƱos, and everyone that has tried it offers two thumbs up!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
dawtrnr January 01, 2012

this was really simple and delicious! I added a green pepper, 1tsp of sugar, 1 tsp of cumin, a packet of chili seasoning and a few fresh cloves of garlic. It was the perfect amount of spice. I would recommend draining the cans though, this was more liquidy than I like my chili so I ate it over rice. Otherwise, very good.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Crosbie09 September 21, 2011

This is a pretty basic chili recipe. If you want to get a heartier chili that feeds more, I like to add frozen corn, chopped green peppers, and chopped celery to the recipe. It has more texture, it's cheap, and feeds a few more.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KateMcG January 17, 2011

Delicious! My only change was subbing the cup of chickpeas for a cup of chopped sweet potato. Thanks for the great recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
readergirl November 23, 2010
Easy Turkey Chili - Crock Pot