Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Easy to Make Butternut Squash Soup Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Easy to Make Butternut Squash Soup

    Average Rating:

    11 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-11 of 11

    Sort by:

    • on December 02, 2011

      Delicious! This soup is rich and healthy and tastes SO good! I bought a 2 pound container of chopped butternut squash at Costco so the only work to do for this was chopping the onion and blending the soup - I used an immersion blender to do that. The dollop of fat free Greek yogurt, freshly grated nutmeg and roasted sunflower seeds (my own addition) at the end just made it perfect. Made for Went To The Market tag game. Thanks Baby Kato! :)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 27, 2011

      Yes this is an easy and tasty soup that is indeed was enhanced by the Greek yogurt. I made as written with the exception of grating the nutmeg on top instead I stirred it in to the soup as DM will not taste anything she thinks might have nutmeg, so topped with yogurt and a few pumpkin seeds. Will be making again, thanks for the post.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 16, 2011

      Delicious! The Greek yoghurt worked wonderfully with the natural sweetness of the butternut squash not to mention being healthier than other options like cream.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 23, 2010

      Great soup! I am always looking for a way to make squash in another way other then the boring old baked brown sugar method. I have never really been a fan of squash because it always seems to have a grainy texture to it. I know that it is so good for you. I am a fan now.Very easy and worth the try. Thanks for the recipe

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 21, 2010

      I had a very similar version of this recipe. I went ahead and added 6oz of yogurt and 1 Tbsp butter into the whole pot. Also added 1 Tbsp sugar just to make it a little sweeter. Very yummy! Thanks for the recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 07, 2009

      Scaled this back to 2 serves for and served with crusty bread it served the DM and I for lunch. The greek yogurt is the addition here to give that creaminess and well the sweet potato from the diabetic point of view is right up there in the ratings. Thank you Baby Kato for a great soup recipe and hopefully next time I will get a pic. Made for Aussie/Kiwi recipe exchange #30 = July 2009. Oh another reason I couldn't resist this recipe it was by a Heather and that is my DD's name, one of the loves of my life.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 29, 2008

      I'm the only one in my family that enjoys squash so it's not something I have often. On a shopping trip awhile back I picked up a round orange red squash with a Japanese sounding name. It was waiting for me to tag this soup! It's absolutely wonderful. It has a rich mellow flavor that is boosted by the chicken stock and the onion helps to make it savory as squash has it's own sweetness. Once out of the food processor it's like velvet. I couldn't wait to try a spoonful and loved it so much as it was at that point I didn't add the yogurt. I made a single serving that just filled my fav bowl and enjoyed each bite. By sure to serve this hot since it thickens a lot as it cools. Made for Photo Tag.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 29, 2008

      Such a wonderful soup! I really enjoyed the heck out of this one! This has a great amount of flavor and is so low in fat and calories! If only all food that is good for you tasted this great! I made half the recipe since I am the only one who will eat squash but I had no problem eating this all by myself- well it did take me a day or two! :) This reduced very easily. Reheated like a dream too! I used my immersion blender right in the pot to blend the soup into a puree consistency! Perfection! Silky smooth and yummy! Thanks BK for an awesome recipe! *Made for Bevy Tag*

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 04, 2008

      The most difficult thing to do is cut off the outside of the squash, otherwise this is super easy to make and tasty. I did double the black pepper, and put in 1/4 teaspoon of sage, but we like sage. I do wonder why the sea salt and yogurt are not part of the NF? I suppose you could use sweet potato or pumpkin instead of squash with this recipe. Thank you Baby Kato for sharing. I made and reviewed this as part of the NEWEST ZAAR tag and will be making again!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 01, 2013

      This is a wonderful soup.<br/>I used Queensland Blue pumpkin and everything else as per the recipe.<br/>We loved it here, although I must admit I don't like yoghurt so I added cream to my serve, but the other's love the yoghurt added.<br/>Thanks Baby Kato, a lovely soup for a cold winter's day.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 05, 2013

      Lovely soup. Quick and easy and fat-free, excepting for the yogurt. The yogurt and freshly grated nutmeg really made this soup extra tasty. Photo posted. Made for January 2012 recipe swap in the Aus/NZ Forum.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Easy to Make Butternut Squash Soup

    Serving Size: 1 (320 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 195.8
     
    Calories from Fat 26
    13%
    Total Fat 2.9 g
    4%
    Saturated Fat 0.8 g
    4%
    Cholesterol 6.3 mg
    2%
    Sodium 456.5 mg
    19%
    Total Carbohydrate 37.7 g
    12%
    Dietary Fiber 5.3 g
    21%
    Sugars 10.5 g
    42%
    Protein 8.0 g
    16%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    Greek yogurt

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites