Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Easy-To-Get-Your-5-A-Day Vegetarian Chilli Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Easy-To-Get-Your-5-A-Day Vegetarian Chilli

    Average Rating:

    21 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 21

    Sort by:

    • on May 18, 2010

      Although this was quite different to my usual veggie chilli recipe and tasted very different too, it was delicious and I shall be making it again. I too was a little sceptical of the grated carrot idea but it really worked well. I halved the recipe but otherwise followed it faithfully. I notice one other reviewer mentioned adding ground turkey 'for protein'. That's fine if it is a matter of taste, but the kidney beans are a perfectly good alternative protein so there is no need from a nutritional point of view.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 12, 2006

      Am always looking for tasty, meatless dishes and am delighted with this one. I used just 1 Tbls cumin and did not add the red pepper flakes or the cinnamon. Cooked on high in crockpot for about 5 hours. This is definitely a keeper!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 07, 2012

      I gave this 3 stars because as a recipe, it wasn't to my taste for chili, but after some quick fixes, it ended up enjoyable so it could be a good base recipe. I felt that there was too much tomato, not enough beans. I will admit that I cooked it in the slow cooker, so maybe that affected the taste. I chopped up all of the veggies (except the zucchini) and microwaved them in a big glass dish with the aromatics (per the way America's test kitchen does most of their recipes in their Slow Cooker Revolution book) before putting them into the slow cooker and the onions were still not done after 4 hours on high - and my cooker runs hot. We let it cook longer and then gave it a taste and it just wasn't what we were looking for, which was unfortunate because I had doubled the recipe since this had received good reviews. I added a can of baked beans and a can of refried beans, some oregano and parsley and that helped a lot. After the fixes we really enjoyed it and DH had a second bowl and he originally didn't want to eat any of it. So, I might make the recipe again, but probably omit the can of whole tomatoes and add more beans.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 04, 2011

    • on April 14, 2011

      We have made this twice and loved it both times, even our little kids ate it! I don't like corn in my chili, but everything else was great.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 11, 2010

      So good! My whole family gobbled it up, kids and hubby ate 3 servings! Love all the veggies in here. Added 1 lb lean ground turkey for protein, added a 15oz can of beef broth and a 6 oz can of tomato paste. Played with the spices a bit (doubled the chili powder and paprika, kept the cumin as is, forgot the cinnamon). Used the 2 large cans of tomatoes I had on hand (1 was diced, 1 was whole), and simmered for about an hour. This made a huge batch, I'll freeze the extra for another meal. Thanks for the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 07, 2010

      Excellent recipe, I didn't think the grated carrot would work but it really gives a good texture!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 27, 2010

      Yum! I made this last night and just loved it! I added more chilli powder, cumin, used all of the bell peppers, took out the zucchini, and added black beans (personal preference). I also used rotel's chilli fixins. Very spicy - just the way i like it! I sprinkled a little bit of chedder cheese and a little dollop of sour cream. Very filling!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 05, 2009

    • on June 18, 2008

      Great recipe! It looks like meat and tastes like "real" chilli!! Great way to get veggies in. I used my mini food processor to chop everything so it was super fast to put together too. Thanks, brew!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 22, 2008

      This is a great vegetarian recipe; I'm a meat eater as a rule, but have felt absolutely no need to add meat of any kind to this recipe. I've made it several times now, and use the basic recipe with slightly different veggies each time - really nice with pumpkin added.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 26, 2007

      SO quick, easy to date! LOVE is LOW FAT, healthy too! GREAT way to get 5 a day! This will be a keeper is what I want to say! THANKS!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 24, 2007

      This is great. I'm just heating up some of this for supper tonight actually. We made this a week or so back, and froze the leftovers. I definitely recommend Not decreasing the cumin, it's got a really nice flavour.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 16, 2007

      Absolutely delicious and very versatile! I did use frozen corn instead of canned and added a pound of ground turkey to satisfy the more carnivorous folks I was feeding. I did add a touch of cayenne and allspice, 1 t. vegetable "Better Than Boullion", and a bit of flour to thicken it up.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 06, 2007

      This is a great chili recipe. It's nothing like our usual spicy 'Texas' chili, but it was really good, and I love that it has all those veggies!! I added a pound of extra lean ground beef (for my husband) and only used 1 TBSP of cumin like others suggested. We served it with LF sour cream and tortilla chips. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 05, 2007

      I can't rate the recipe because I did a whole lot of changes, but I wanted to thank you for sharing such a terrific healthy chili recipe! I added 1lb browned ground turkey. Subbed 2 cans medium Rotel for the whole canned tomatoes. Followed other reviewers and decreased the cumin to 1 TB, didn't add cinnamon or paprika, added a lot of worchestershire sauce, a big spoonful of A-1, and a few big splashes of Liquid Smoke. I also grated all the vegetables (and left out the corn) because we don't like chunky chili and cooked it in the crockpot for 5 hours, like how another reviewer suggested. All the veggies are hidden, so it looks and tastes like meaty chili with beans. We love it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 01, 2007

      This chili was great.I used whole peppers and an extra zucchini, just because I wanted to use it up.I added jalapenos and a couple drops of tobasco to spice it up a bit.The leftovers went a long way too.Very satisfying.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 26, 2006

      a little bland, i added twice as much chili powder and a lot of pepper. may try adding some jalapenos next time

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 16, 2006

      Very good chili. used two cans of whole tomatoes (like the texture better too of whole tomatoes). The only drawback (for us) was that it was too much cumin. It sort of overpowered. Next time (yes there certainly will be a next time)I make it I'll cut down the cumin to two teaspoons instead of tablespoons. Thanks for a very tasty veggie recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 14, 2006

      Excellent chili! I used summer squash instead of zucchini. To make the dish a little more kid- and grandma-friendly, I cut the chili powder in half and the chili was still very flavorful. I will be making this dish again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Easy-To-Get-Your-5-A-Day Vegetarian Chilli

    Serving Size: 1 (322 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 321.1
     
    Calories from Fat 45
    14%
    Total Fat 5.0 g
    7%
    Saturated Fat 0.6 g
    3%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 252.0 mg
    10%
    Total Carbohydrate 58.8 g
    19%
    Dietary Fiber 15.7 g
    63%
    Sugars 7.7 g
    31%
    Protein 16.8 g
    33%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites