9 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

We loved these sandwiches! Had them tonight, actually. Used the King's Hawaiian Hamburger Buns, which are a little on the sweet side, and marinated the chicken in Soy Vay Island Teriyaki for 2 hours. We took the suggestion of adding a slice of provolone cheese on top of the pineapple. Delicious!! We served with corn on the cob and pineapple. I'll definitely be making this recipe again!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
msu4two July 14, 2013

Super Delicious, I made my own teriyaki sauce and marinated the breasts over night and it was AMAZING!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Emberann June 07, 2010

I make something similar to this, only I grill the pineapple ring and add a couple pieces of thick sliced bacon. Mmmm good.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tonda May 07, 2010

I didn't use this recipe, but its the same as what I did do. Just like Red Robin, I added shredded iceberg lettuce and a slice of juicy tomato. It was delicious, and made 4 burgers for the price of 1 at Red Robin! Steak fries and with ranch dressing too!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
missiselin May 06, 2010

Very good burger! One thing I would do next time though is maybe choose smaller chicken breasts than the ones we had this time around since they were quite large and it made for a hard to eat burger lol. And with the larger breasts the chicken to pineapple ratio wasn't really as good. I think I would like more pineapple on each anyway. I had to use vegannaise since my son is allergic to eggs, but it didn't compromise it at all. I toasted the buns first, and also grilled the pineapple slices before putting them on. As was mentioned by another reviewer some provolone would be great one this, but my son is also allergic to dairy so we haven't been using cheese obviously anyway. I think I might also put some lettuce or something on it next time. Simple to make for sure!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CulinaryExplorer February 06, 2009

This was really good!! It reminded me of a Hawaiian Chicken Sandwich I used to get at Rainforest Cafe. I've made it 3 times, each time marinating it longer. The flavor does improve with a 24-hr marinade, but if I were in a hurry, I wouldn't hesitate to do the 30 minute. I had a guest when I did the 30 minute, and she was very impressed with how juicy and just plain good this tastes. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
NebraskaRN May 25, 2008

Call me crazy but I'm inlove with this dish! I can't wait to make this for my husband when he comes home! This was a wonderful sandwich. I'm a fan of teriyaki but this was wonderful, I have never had a chicken teriyaki hamburger. And I followed the tip to mix mayo with jerk seasoning! Great advice indeed!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lilsnobelle August 18, 2006

I followed Giff's advice on adding the pineapple while still on the grill. This was good and easy.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
starsugarb October 31, 2003

It's a good start. To punch it up I put the pineapple on the breast while still on the grill and melted a slice of provolone over it. Also, to 1/2 c mayonnaise I added about 2 tsp dry caribbean jerk seasoning.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Giff August 31, 2003
Easy Teriyaki Chicken Burgers