Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Easy Taco Stew Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Easy Taco Stew

    Average Rating:

    101 Total Reviews

    Showing 21-40 of 101

    Sort by:

    • on October 09, 2002

      NOTE: If this stew is too spicy for you, you may use pinto beans that are not in a chili sauce or pinto beans in a "mild" chili sauce. Also you can substitute a can of red kidney beans. The degree of heat depends on the beans you use.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 14, 2013

      I made this last night using some leftovers I had in the fridge. We had nachos the other day, so I used our leftover hamburger meat from that. I had some leftover corn, so I used that. This was really good, plus it cleaned out my fridge. I served this with corn chips, sour cream, shredded cheese and some veggies I had leftover from the nachos (tomatoes, onions, black olives and avocados) Thank you for sharing your recipe with us.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 18, 2009

      Amazingly good and so simple! I couldn't believe how good this turned out. I didn't want to stop eating even when I was full! lol Thanks for the delicious recipe! We used Dark Red Kidney Beans instead of Pinto beans with chili sauce and it was fantastic. I think if it would have been any spicier it wouldn't have been enjoyable for a meal more for a snack. And I LOVE spicy food so that is telling you something. It is fine without the chili sauce. :D Also used 1.5 pounds of meat and 1 and 1/2 packets of taco seasoning. Mmm Mmmm!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 05, 2010

      very easy and tasty! I severed cheese quesadillas with them.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 01, 2009

      Loved it. I used yellow hominy instead of corn just to give it that authentic Mexican touch. I reduced the water to 3/4 cup. A keeper for sure. Thanks, Merlot.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 13, 2009

      I keep trying Merlot's recipes and they keep being 5 Star gems. This one is no different. It was SO easy to throw together after work but tasted like I had been cooking for a long time. Onion powder instead of onions was the only change I made. I served it with crushed tortilla rounds, sour cream, shredded cheese and flour tortillas and it was DELICIOUS! This will be on our menu on a monthly rotation for sure but next time I will double the recipe as there was not a drop left!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 18, 2009

      I doubled this recipe and made it in a crockpot for my Tennis Team luncheon. I served it with everything to make taco SALADS, and it was a big hit. Here is the process for a crockpot: Heat 1 T. oil in a saute pan - add onions and saute until translucent. Add ground beef to onions and continue cooking until all pink is gone. Remove excess fat and liquid from saute pan. In a small bowl, mix Taco Seasoning Mix with HALF the water as stated in the recipe and add it to beef/onion mixture and then put this cooked mixture into the crockpot. Add all other ingredients to crockpot and stir gently. Cook on HIGH 4 hours. Note - crockpots tend to retain moisture which is why you want to reduce the water by half. Serve with Taco Salad ingredients if you want to turn this into a salad smorgasbord!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 17, 2009

      This was wonderful! so easy as well. I didn't use the tomato soup and water bc all i had was a can of tomato sauce which worked fine

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 06, 2009

      This made a very quick, easy, and delicious dinner for us. We used Taco Seasoning Mix #124269 for the taco seasoning. Made for Zaar Stars.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 06, 2009

      Very tasty

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 28, 2009

      WOW!!! this is so good, my DH liked it too. I thought it might be too spicy for him but he said no, it was perfect. I didn't have the pintos in chili sauce so just used plain and did cut down a smidge on the taco seasoning. Added 2 minced garlic cloves to the onion & beef. Served with sour cream & cheese sprinkled on top & Skillet Cornbread. I am going to add this to my monthly menu rotation!! Thanks Merlot! Made this again tonight 1-28-2009. Added 1/2 package ranch dressing (dry) 2 beef boullion cubes & 1 can black beans. This is so good, hubby says he likes it better than my chili.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 16, 2008

      I served it over rice with light old cheddar and light sour cream. Thanks for a great recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 07, 2008

      This was delicious! I took the leftovers and served them over soft fried potatoes and onions the next day, Yummy!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 05, 2008

      this was a wonderful stew! its similar to a Taco Soup - w/o all the fuss - it was very easy and quick to make. which i love ... and very flavorful - we love all types of mexican food so this was a big hit w/the family. i couldn't find "pinto" beans w/chili sauce - only red beans w/chili sauce but figured they were the same/close enough! :)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 20, 2008

      I love this! So simple and so easy!!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 03, 2008

      I have to be honest...after reading the ingredients I was afraid it was going to be a little dull as we like things with intense flavor, though not necessarily spicy but it was anything but dull! I didn't have tomato soup so I subbed V-8 and omitted the water and added a dash of garlic salt and cumin and it was very hearty! My BF who normally doesn't love mexican food said it had a rich "manly" flavor :) and requested it be made again! Leftovers were just as good if not better! Thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 28, 2008

      I added lots of cheese on top right before serving and mixed it in. It made it really thick, and we scooped it up with Tortilla scoops to eat. I also added in 1 small can of sliced black olives, just because they are a favorite. We thought this was great! Thanks for sharing

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 18, 2008

      We really enjoyed this meal - it was like Mexican chili! My only note is to add water as you see fit - I did add a whole cup and ended up with taco soup rather than taco stew. I don't think a whole cup is necessary (especially if I'm not cooking it for hours on end). My husband went back for seconds, then thirds, so that's definitely a good sign. I'll be sure to make this again!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 28, 2008

      We loved this 'stew'! Even people at work were wanting some. The only variation I used was to add FF sour cream to the stew when eating it. VERY YUMMY!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 08, 2008

      I LOVE THIS RECIPE!!!!! I have found an even faster way to make this! Fry up a pound of ground beef and use it to make "Chili" Hamburger Helper. Then, near the end of cooking, as the sauce is thickening, I add a can of diced tomatoes and a can of corn. It would be even better to add beans! I love it because it only takes about 20 minutes to make a great dinner! You should really try my variation sometime! Thanks for the great recipe! I have some really good chips that I have posted that I serve with this...please go see! I already rated this, but if I could, I would add 5 more stars. I love it. I'm making it for the daycare children for lunch today. It's a "clean plate" day!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Easy Taco Stew

    Serving Size: 1 (312 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 374.6
     
    Calories from Fat 116
    31%
    Total Fat 12.9 g
    19%
    Saturated Fat 4.9 g
    24%
    Cholesterol 73.7 mg
    24%
    Sodium 1734.7 mg
    72%
    Total Carbohydrate 41.2 g
    13%
    Dietary Fiber 5.3 g
    21%
    Sugars 11.7 g
    46%
    Protein 27.6 g
    55%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    pinto beans in chili sauce

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites