101 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This stew was fast and easy to make and it tasted great! I actually used some leftover chicken I had on hand instead of hamburger. I loved the chicken in it and can't wait to try the hamburger. It was a little spicy for us so when I served it I added a spoonful of sour cream.

15 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JRiggs September 20, 2002

Great! We loved this Stew! It was so easy to put together because I had all of the ingredients in my pantry. I loved the taste, just like tacos', only no chopping!! It was a good hot soup to serve at lunch, and it was hearty enough that I didn't serve anything else. I used tortilla chips, warmed in the microwave. Thanks for sharing this wonderful recipe.

15 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Miss Annie September 15, 2002

This is a wonderful stew! Hearty and flavorful. I made it exactly as stated except I didn't use the pinto beans in chili sauce. Just used plain pintos and it was just right for us. I am so glad to have found this recipe!

9 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Linda R November 04, 2002

This is EXCELLENT!! What a quick and easy way to wip up a very flavorful and hearty stew. Perfect for a cold and wintery day. I substituted a can of red kidney beans for the beans in chili sauce because I don't care for spicy food. It turned out perfect for my tastes.

7 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Enobmah October 19, 2002

Really good and easy! It was eaten up!

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Charmie777 July 28, 2010

wish I could give you more than 5 stars.We have been searching for a Taco Soup ever since my hubby left the casino business some years ago. The casino made the best taco soup on the strip! We knew how it tasted, but just couldn't seem to duplicate it.This is as close as it gets.This is perfect, just the way it is. I don't buy the RoTel, as all it is is green chiles and diced tomatoes. I only buy whole tomatoes and "squish" them myself. If you'll notice, diced tomatoes are paler than whole ones. They've been cut and processed until they've lost their color, and in IMHO, their flavor.So I just buy the canned chiles and use them with the tomatoes.I also used some kidney beans and a little black beans for variety. This has become our favorite taco stew/soup and our search is over! Thanks so much for sharing!

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
FLUFFSTER March 05, 2010

Just by looking at the recipe I could tell that I'd be holding extra water for a week if I prepared this dish without some changes. I've experienced what I call "salt buildup" in cooking when recipes call for a lot of canned goods -- I'm not "sodium restricted" but I know what's too much for me. And besides that, nobody in my family likes really salty foods. But I liked the ideer of this, so I made a few modifications - here goes: I knew I was going to be really busy today, and I also like to have planned leftovers to make busy lives easier, so I decided to do a double batch in the crockpot. I only used ONE packet of taco seasoning, however, and I used no-salt canned corn. As for the canned tomatoes & chilies, I used one of those, and substituted a can of no-salt diced tomatoes for the other. All other ingredients I used as listed. Browned the meat & onion, and while that was cooking, I put everything else into the crockpot and put it on HIGH. Added the meat when it was done - it was very lean so I didn't drain it. This was all in at about 11:30 AM, so I covered it and set it on HIGH so it would be hot & ready for supper at 6pm. Wow, everyone loved it and had seconds (there's still SOME for leftovers, but not a whole lot!) First we put corn chips in the bowl, then some sliced provolone cheese (had no cheddar, but this was good); ladled the stew over top, then topped it with some lettuce, a dollop of sour cream, and tabasco sauce for DH and me. I don't often try something new that everyone ends up just loving so much. Thanks for this recipe, Merlot!

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ThatBobbieGirl October 13, 2003

This is always good with ground beef, even better with seasoned shredded beef. The hotter the better, of course, nice with a sour cream garnish. An old favorite of mine I hadn't made in a long time. Thanks!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mrs.Stanley January 13, 2012

YUMMMMY!! This was super fast and easy to make and my whole family loved it, even my husband who is from Mexico! Instead of pinto beans I put in a can of red kidney and black beans (drained), topped with greek yogurt, cut up tomatoes and cheese. Will be making this again!!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KatySanchez April 30, 2011

I never knew there was such a thing as taco stew, but Im glad I came across it. This stew is delicious! Its so easy to make and tastes great. I love the different textures with the corn chips. I will be making this more often, especially during the week as a quick and tasty dinner.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AndreaN February 15, 2011
Easy Taco Stew