Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Easy Taco Stew Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Easy Taco Stew

    Average Rating:

    101 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 101

    Sort by:

    • on September 20, 2002

      This stew was fast and easy to make and it tasted great! I actually used some leftover chicken I had on hand instead of hamburger. I loved the chicken in it and can't wait to try the hamburger. It was a little spicy for us so when I served it I added a spoonful of sour cream.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 15, 2002

      Great! We loved this Stew! It was so easy to put together because I had all of the ingredients in my pantry. I loved the taste, just like tacos', only no chopping!! It was a good hot soup to serve at lunch, and it was hearty enough that I didn't serve anything else. I used tortilla chips, warmed in the microwave. Thanks for sharing this wonderful recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 04, 2002

      This is a wonderful stew! Hearty and flavorful. I made it exactly as stated except I didn't use the pinto beans in chili sauce. Just used plain pintos and it was just right for us. I am so glad to have found this recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 19, 2002

      This is EXCELLENT!! What a quick and easy way to wip up a very flavorful and hearty stew. Perfect for a cold and wintery day. I substituted a can of red kidney beans for the beans in chili sauce because I don't care for spicy food. It turned out perfect for my tastes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 28, 2010

      Really good and easy! It was eaten up!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 05, 2010

      wish I could give you more than 5 stars.We have been searching for a Taco Soup ever since my hubby left the casino business some years ago. The casino made the best taco soup on the strip! We knew how it tasted, but just couldn't seem to duplicate it.This is as close as it gets.This is perfect, just the way it is. I don't buy the RoTel, as all it is is green chiles and diced tomatoes. I only buy whole tomatoes and "squish" them myself. If you'll notice, diced tomatoes are paler than whole ones. They've been cut and processed until they've lost their color, and in IMHO, their flavor.So I just buy the canned chiles and use them with the tomatoes.I also used some kidney beans and a little black beans for variety. This has become our favorite taco stew/soup and our search is over! Thanks so much for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 13, 2003

      Just by looking at the recipe I could tell that I'd be holding extra water for a week if I prepared this dish without some changes. I've experienced what I call "salt buildup" in cooking when recipes call for a lot of canned goods -- I'm not "sodium restricted" but I know what's too much for me. And besides that, nobody in my family likes really salty foods. But I liked the ideer of this, so I made a few modifications - here goes: I knew I was going to be really busy today, and I also like to have planned leftovers to make busy lives easier, so I decided to do a double batch in the crockpot. I only used ONE packet of taco seasoning, however, and I used no-salt canned corn. As for the canned tomatoes & chilies, I used one of those, and substituted a can of no-salt diced tomatoes for the other. All other ingredients I used as listed. Browned the meat & onion, and while that was cooking, I put everything else into the crockpot and put it on HIGH. Added the meat when it was done - it was very lean so I didn't drain it. This was all in at about 11:30 AM, so I covered it and set it on HIGH so it would be hot & ready for supper at 6pm. Wow, everyone loved it and had seconds (there's still SOME for leftovers, but not a whole lot!) First we put corn chips in the bowl, then some sliced provolone cheese (had no cheddar, but this was good); ladled the stew over top, then topped it with some lettuce, a dollop of sour cream, and tabasco sauce for DH and me. I don't often try something new that everyone ends up just loving so much. Thanks for this recipe, Merlot!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 13, 2012

      This is always good with ground beef, even better with seasoned shredded beef. The hotter the better, of course, nice with a sour cream garnish. An old favorite of mine I hadn't made in a long time. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 30, 2011

      YUMMMMY!! This was super fast and easy to make and my whole family loved it, even my husband who is from Mexico! Instead of pinto beans I put in a can of red kidney and black beans (drained), topped with greek yogurt, cut up tomatoes and cheese. Will be making this again!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 15, 2011

      I never knew there was such a thing as taco stew, but Im glad I came across it. This stew is delicious! Its so easy to make and tastes great. I love the different textures with the corn chips. I will be making this more often, especially during the week as a quick and tasty dinner.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 28, 2010

      delicious!!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 08, 2010

      I made this for dinner when my sis-in-law was over & everyone enjoyed the 1st batch but said the second batch was too spicy & tomato-y. I'm not sure what I did different but I'm keepin the recipe. Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 06, 2010

      My Grandson asked for tacos of which I'm not a big fan, so I tried this. Everyone LOVED it (including me) Served it with corn chips on a cold snowy nite. Excellent!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 03, 2010

      Great soup! I browned the ground beef and the onion, then dumped everything into my Crock-Pot. Cooked on low for about 4 hours. Then I served it topped with a blend of Mexican cheeses (in a bag), sour cream, crushed Doritos, and sliced jalapenos. Yummy! It really hit the spot. Not your typical soup. Hubby didn't act too interested when I was making this, and he ate TWO BOWLS!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 08, 2002

      This was AWESOME!!!!!!!!!! and EASY!!!!! I used turkey instead of beef....and it tasted GREAT!!!! Keep the recipes coming!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 25, 2003

      I loved the spice in this. It was the perfect weeknight meal for us...quick, easy and tasty....I served it with shredded jalapeno jack cheese and sour cream....we will definitely be making this one again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 11, 2003

      Superb!! What a delightful and easy little dish this is, Merlot!! Great flavor and just the right zip...not too mild and not too hot! I goofed and opened pinto beans instead of chili beans, but, no matter...just added a TBspn. of chili powder, and no one could tell the difference! I crunched up 4-cheese flavor Doritos in the bottom of the bowls and put the stew on top...sprinkled with cheddar and served w/warm flour torts...YUM! DH gave it a big "Thumbs-up", and went back for seconds!! Thanks, Kiddo...I'll be fixing this winner often! Laudee

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 11, 2003

      Delightful dish.I used a 19 oz. can of tomatoes as that is as small as they come in Ontario stores. I bumped the water up to a soup can worth and the thickness was just right. I used red kidney beans and white dorito chips. It was enjoyed by all.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 27, 2003

      Made this ahead of time and took to my brother's lakehouse.This was quick, easy, and spicy enough to satisfy all of us. I used white corn tortilla chips. Making it a day ahead gave the flavors time to mix and mingle. Very delicious and will make again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 07, 2002

      Great recipe, easy, economical and tasty. Thanks!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4 5 6

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Easy Taco Stew

    Serving Size: 1 (312 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 374.6
     
    Calories from Fat 116
    31%
    Total Fat 12.9 g
    19%
    Saturated Fat 4.9 g
    24%
    Cholesterol 73.7 mg
    24%
    Sodium 1734.7 mg
    72%
    Total Carbohydrate 41.2 g
    13%
    Dietary Fiber 5.3 g
    21%
    Sugars 11.7 g
    46%
    Protein 27.6 g
    55%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    pinto beans in chili sauce

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes