204 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

PLEASE READ THIS REVIEW!! I get extremely annoyed at those members who post these horrible reviews and then don't even bother to complete their pages. As far as I'm concerned, they just "hit and run". This recipe was featured the other day and I saved it to try. I have just now completed it and it is delicious! The only change I made was to use a Mexican style blend cheese, because that's what I had. It is not grainy, gritty or disgusting. Remember, the cheese you select to use will dictate the taste of the dish. I have no burned flour taste. I completely melted the butter, whisked in the flour, whisked in the milk and then kept whisking until it was thickened to my satisfaction. I left it a bit runny, because the starch from the pasta will cause it to "draw" up. Removed from the heat, stirred in the cheese until it was melted and creamy, then stirred in the elbows. Pure mac and cheese heaven! This is a classic recipe and not to be confused with a boxed mix or that made with Velveeta. Velveeta isn't even classified as real cheese (and I still love it!). Marie, thank you again for another wonderful recipe. This is a keeper and I will use it often because it's such a fast meal. To those of you who left rotten reviews, "LEARN TO COOK" before you post such nonsense. Also, if a man leaves you because you flopped a dish--men are like streetcars--another one will come along shortly.

48 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Rose is Rose August 15, 2013

This was excellent, exactly what you want mac and cheese to be decadent and saucy. I don't understand why some reviewers changed the recipe and then review it with only two or three stars. How can you know what it's really like unless you follow the directions? That's unfair to the person that posted the recipe. With that said I have to say I did use Velveeta, and added a couple of shakes of nutmeg and cayenne for zip. But I used all the flour and had no problem, it didn't have a floury taste because I cooked the flour in the butter for a little while before adding the milk. I used skim milk. When I asked DH if he wanted homemade or box mac and cheese he didn't want me to go to a lot of trouble, but this recipe is very easy, and came out sooo good, and so much better then boxed. We had this with pigs in a blanket and black bean salad. Wonderful supper. Thanks for the recipe, I'll use it again!

25 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Nougat December 06, 2010

Good basic recipe. This works best with extra sharp cheddar cheese IMO. I also add a little dried mustard, garlic powder, and nutmeg to the sauce. Make sure the flour is cooked thoroughly before adding liquids. To make a creamier product, try mixing half and half and milk. Also, to keep it from getting grainy, take the sauce OFF the heat and THEN whisk in the cheese, a little at a time. It's worth the effort to shred your own cheese for a good end product.

16 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
tebe777 April 06, 2011

If you use this recipe to make food for your family, they will stop loving you.

Seriously. I made this tonight for my (probably now ex) husband. I followed the recipe exactly. What resulted was a gritty, runny, floury, terrible mess. I had no clue how to dispose of it, let alone eat it.

I can't help but notice the folks giving this high ratings also COMPLETELY ALTERED THE RECIPE.

I will never, ever, ever make this again. I will never stop hearing about the time I tried to make this. Thanks for the divorce, recipe.

11 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
thefoodslayer December 25, 2012

This was a simple recipe. If you had trouble with the flour/butter part of it you probably don't know how to make a roux. Melt the butter, stir in the same amount of flour as the butter and stir, stir, stir with a whisk. It should look buttery but creamy. Let it heat through completely and then start adding the milk very slowly allowing it to thicken as you whisk in the milk until you get the creaminess and thickness you desire. Then take it off the stove and add your cheese, stirring as the cheese melts. I was making it for my granddaughters who do not like anything spicy [they are 4 and 2 years old] so I used Kraft singles and Gruyere, grated from a chunk I had. I ripped the singles into strips. It was delicious although very mild and very creamy. They loved it. If it was for a dinner or for adults I might start adding other spices but kids, I have found, like it very mild. This was certainly as quick as a box of Kraft macaroni and cheese and much tastier. I wish I had a chunk of cheddar but I didn't so the Kraft Singles were okay.

7 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Rita M. March 05, 2014

Creamy and delicious! (I doubled the amount of macaroni because there was so much sauce.) My new go-to mac and cheese recipe--Thanks!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Nikki Lewis September 16, 2011

This is such a good easy, tasty, & creamy recipe. Prefer this over baked recipes!

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
seattlescraps November 29, 2011

This is a very good recipe. Simple, fast, tastes good. The first time I made it, I felt there was WAY too much sauce for the amount of pasta, so I ended up making more pasta to add to it. The second time I made it, I just halved the recipe for the sauce, keeping the 8oz pasta. It was the perfect amount. I also sauteed a little onion and garlic in the melted butter to add a little more flavor. All around, good recipe--thanks Marie!

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Linds August 17, 2011

This is a great recipe. The first time I made it I had leftover cheese sauce(oh darn), so this time I doubled the noodles and it was perfect. The key to this recipe, as with any sauce or gravy, is to stay with it- no walking away from the stove. Thank you for this yummy recipe!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lensley_mk February 17, 2014

As written, I give it two stars (and only because it is pretty easy and not bad tasting). The directions are horrible. You need to actually make a roux with the flour and butter and cook it before adding the milk. Thank goodness I actually knew how to make mac n cheese or it would have been horrible.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
WhatsInTheOven January 19, 2014
Easy Stove-Top Macaroni & Cheese