Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    More Go-To Meal Ideas

    25 All-Time Dinner Winners

    25 All-Time Dinner Winners

    Make Tonight's Meal a Knockout
    Grilled Cheese, 25 Ways

    Grilled Cheese, 25 Ways

    It's Sandwich Night!
    25 Five-Ingredient Dinners

    25 Five-Ingredient Dinners

    Start With 911 Meatball Subs
    You are in: Home / Recipes / Easy Stove-Top Macaroni & Cheese Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Easy Stove-Top Macaroni & Cheese

    Average Rating:

    140 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 140

    Sort by:

    • on August 15, 2013

      PLEASE READ THIS REVIEW!! I get extremely annoyed at those members who post these horrible reviews and then don't even bother to complete their pages. As far as I'm concerned, they just "hit and run". This recipe was featured the other day and I saved it to try. I have just now completed it and it is delicious! The only change I made was to use a Mexican style blend cheese, because that's what I had. It is not grainy, gritty or disgusting. Remember, the cheese you select to use will dictate the taste of the dish. I have no burned flour taste. I completely melted the butter, whisked in the flour, whisked in the milk and then kept whisking until it was thickened to my satisfaction. I left it a bit runny, because the starch from the pasta will cause it to "draw" up. Removed from the heat, stirred in the cheese until it was melted and creamy, then stirred in the elbows. Pure mac and cheese heaven! This is a classic recipe and not to be confused with a boxed mix or that made with Velveeta. Velveeta isn't even classified as real cheese (and I still love it!). Marie, thank you again for another wonderful recipe. This is a keeper and I will use it often because it's such a fast meal. To those of you who left rotten reviews, "LEARN TO COOK" before you post such nonsense. Also, if a man leaves you because you flopped a dish--men are like streetcars--another one will come along shortly.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 06, 2010

      This was excellent, exactly what you want mac and cheese to be decadent and saucy. I don't understand why some reviewers changed the recipe and then review it with only two or three stars. How can you know what it's really like unless you follow the directions? That's unfair to the person that posted the recipe. With that said I have to say I did use Velveeta, and added a couple of shakes of nutmeg and cayenne for zip. But I used all the flour and had no problem, it didn't have a floury taste because I cooked the flour in the butter for a little while before adding the milk. I used skim milk. When I asked DH if he wanted homemade or box mac and cheese he didn't want me to go to a lot of trouble, but this recipe is very easy, and came out sooo good, and so much better then boxed. We had this with pigs in a blanket and black bean salad. Wonderful supper. Thanks for the recipe, I'll use it again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 25, 2012

      If you use this recipe to make food for your family, they will stop loving you.

      Seriously. I made this tonight for my (probably now ex) husband. I followed the recipe exactly. What resulted was a gritty, runny, floury, terrible mess. I had no clue how to dispose of it, let alone eat it.

      I can't help but notice the folks giving this high ratings also COMPLETELY ALTERED THE RECIPE.

      I will never, ever, ever make this again. I will never stop hearing about the time I tried to make this. Thanks for the divorce, recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 06, 2011

      Good basic recipe. This works best with extra sharp cheddar cheese IMO. I also add a little dried mustard, garlic powder, and nutmeg to the sauce. Make sure the flour is cooked thoroughly before adding liquids. To make a creamier product, try mixing half and half and milk. Also, to keep it from getting grainy, take the sauce OFF the heat and THEN whisk in the cheese, a little at a time. It's worth the effort to shred your own cheese for a good end product.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 16, 2011

      Creamy and delicious! (I doubled the amount of macaroni because there was so much sauce.) My new go-to mac and cheese recipe--Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 05, 2014

      This was a simple recipe. If you had trouble with the flour/butter part of it you probably don't know how to make a roux. Melt the butter, stir in the same amount of flour as the butter and stir, stir, stir with a whisk. It should look buttery but creamy. Let it heat through completely and then start adding the milk very slowly allowing it to thicken as you whisk in the milk until you get the creaminess and thickness you desire. Then take it off the stove and add your cheese, stirring as the cheese melts. I was making it for my granddaughters who do not like anything spicy [they are 4 and 2 years old] so I used Kraft singles and Gruyere, grated from a chunk I had. I ripped the singles into strips. It was delicious although very mild and very creamy. They loved it. If it was for a dinner or for adults I might start adding other spices but kids, I have found, like it very mild. This was certainly as quick as a box of Kraft macaroni and cheese and much tastier. I wish I had a chunk of cheddar but I didn't so the Kraft Singles were okay.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 29, 2011

      This is such a good easy, tasty, & creamy recipe. Prefer this over baked recipes!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 07, 2011

      Just made this for the kiddos for lunch. I thought it turned out great--I used 16 oz of pasta AND doubled the sauce. Used some white sharp cheddar as well as some pre-packaged colby-jack since that was all I had on hand. The kids liked it and I really liked that it didn't take much more time to make than the box stuff! Thanks for the recipe!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 17, 2011

      This is a very good recipe. Simple, fast, tastes good. The first time I made it, I felt there was WAY too much sauce for the amount of pasta, so I ended up making more pasta to add to it. The second time I made it, I just halved the recipe for the sauce, keeping the 8oz pasta. It was the perfect amount. I also sauteed a little onion and garlic in the melted butter to add a little more flavor. All around, good recipe--thanks Marie!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 29, 2011

      Just made this for lunch for me and my boyfriend. He never really enjoyed macaroni and cheese and gave in saying it was very tasty, especially as a side-dish. So rich! yum!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 03, 2010

      Easy and delicious! I normally bake my M&C, but no time tonight! Added about a half teaspoon dry mustard and spanish paprika and used (NON smoked) gouda. Great, fast & easy recipe, thanks Marie!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 23, 2014

      This was delicious. My only substitutions were that I used penne pasta and extra sharp cheddar cheese. Turned out perfect. Nice and easy recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 17, 2014

      This is a great recipe. The first time I made it I had leftover cheese sauce(oh darn), so this time I doubled the noodles and it was perfect. The key to this recipe, as with any sauce or gravy, is to stay with it- no walking away from the stove. Thank you for this yummy recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 05, 2014

      A foolproof recipe! I wouldn't change anything about it. The kids love it -- so it's definitely a keeper!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 05, 2014

      This recipe was an absolute fiasco, and still turned out fabulous. After I had my roux cooking, I promptly realized I had 1 cup of marble cheese... That's it. I used that, two big scoops of cheez wiz, and a generous sprinkling of parm. At which point my new born woke up screaming, and the chicken breast I had wanted to put in this as a meal was still raw in the centre. While juggling the baby, trying to cut up and cook the chicken, I went to pour the sauce in my pasta... And the handle snapped off my pot. I was struggling, and about to give up, when I remembered to taste my cheese sauce. It was heaven. I licked the pot clean. It is now baking in the oven while I feed my baby and write this review. Awesome awesome awesome. I'm now dreaming of different cheese combinations. Apple wood smoked cheddar and mozzarella? Jalapeño and Monterey Jack? Mmmmmm

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 01, 2014

      We loved this! Only addition was a touch of garlic powder and a couple of light shakes of cayenne pepper. Creamy and delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 27, 2014

      This recipe needs a lot of help. first of all, it does not need the blond roux (flour and butter) the cheese is enough to make the sauce thick. Too hard to keep the sauce from gritting up. So this brings me to another point...probably requires whole milk, or better yet part whole, part cream. A tsp of salt is too little...I used about 4. bottom line, this recipe needs a lot of help

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 19, 2014

      As written, I give it two stars (and only because it is pretty easy and not bad tasting). The directions are horrible. You need to actually make a roux with the flour and butter and cook it before adding the milk. Thank goodness I actually knew how to make mac n cheese or it would have been horrible.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 15, 2014

      I have tried several different recipes and finally...my children like this one! I found it simple and very satisfying. I think for the others that found it "gritty", maybe they didn't make sure the flour was completely dissolved? I used the only cheese I had in the house, and it was a weight watchers mexican style blend cheese. I can't wait to have the leftovers tomorrow! P.S. The kids will always love the original box of mac'n'cheese from Kraft, but their mother wants to keep it real! :-)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 07, 2014

      Excellent recipe! Easy and tasty. Thanks for sharing :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4 5 6 ... 7

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Easy Stove-Top Macaroni & Cheese

    Serving Size: 1 (262 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 661.9
     
    Calories from Fat 321
    48%
    Total Fat 35.7 g
    54%
    Saturated Fat 22.1 g
    110%
    Cholesterol 106.9 mg
    35%
    Sodium 806.5 mg
    33%
    Total Carbohydrate 57.9 g
    19%
    Dietary Fiber 2.3 g
    9%
    Sugars 1.9 g
    7%
    Protein 26.9 g
    53%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites