82 Reviews

This was very good, but I thought it was a bit too sweet. I would definitely lessen the brown sugar. I added crushed red pepper and black pepper, and served it with chicken, broccoli, and linguine.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mosma October 25, 2007

Good basic sauce, with some hot sauce or red pepper flakes it has much more flavor, you can control the heat as desired. With that addition I'd give it 5 stars, but added heat is a matter of personal preference it certainly is quick and easy. I didn't have fresh garlic so I used both granulated garlic and some jarred minced garlic and that worked well. I made a half recipe and found that was enough for 3 generous servings with no shortage of sauce on them. I did stir in just a little of a Yoshida's original sauce into my completed stir fry dish because my husband loves that flavor, but I think this recipe would stand alone very well. I made this recipe with a packet of sodium free beef Herb Ox since it has no sodium and I used low sodium soy sauce and for the vinegar I opted for rice vinegar. I think that may be a must for a good stir fry sauce. I made it into an asparagus and beef stir fry with mushrooms, green onions, fresh Cutie segments and leftover sliced rib steak. I served it over rice.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jaybee chef November 24, 2014

I followed the recipe as written, however I used a 1/2 tsp garlic powder b/c I didn't have reg garlic. It turned out okay. Mine never really thickened up, but it had great flavor. I will probably try this recipe again, and just use more cornstarch next time.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
beckyhomeckie January 09, 2012

This was really good. All I did was add a little bit of Sriracha to make it a little spicy. This will be my go to stir fry sauce from now on!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
marmoora37 November 30, 2011

Very good sauce - family said best stir fry ever!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kchal11267 February 20, 2010

Made it last night for my very picky family, and they loved it.. I didn't have ginger in the cupboard, so I omitted it -- but I think it needs that extra spice.. Will definitely be a favourite. Marlene H. ONtario, Canada

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Marlene H March 04, 2004

Very nice. I won't be buying stir fry sauces anymore. I used a lighter brown sugar and a little less than stated. I used it with a simple stir fry of chicken, mange tout and chipped carrot and a touch of fresh chilli. It was delicious.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Simon G. October 08, 2015

I like to add more cornstarch for a thicker sauce and I usually add some red pepper flakes but this is great. My 6 year old hates vegetables and he will eat a dish with mostly veggies if it has this sauce on it. That makes this recipe almost invaluable to me

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
creaturefromthebog August 21, 2015

LOVE it! I added red pepper flakes as well and used a cider vinegar. I think I will add more red pepper flakes next time. My hubby likes the heat! Beats anything you can buy at the store!!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Igraine February 01, 2009

The BEST stir-fry sauce ever.... I will use a bit less brown sugar next time. The fresh garlic and ginger are the stars of this sauce. Thank you!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
vanessa.mostert January 11, 2016
Easy Stir Fry Sauce