20 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Ok... We invited family friends over for Sabbath lunch with out knowing of any dietary restrictions other than our own(kosher). He pulled a fast one on us that "He" the husband was a vegan. My first reaction was Oh $#!^ what am I going to make!(that we will also like to eat) This was great! The heat/spice level was up there where I like it and though meatless it was a good bean chili. I did add black beans as well. He also said it was the best chili he has had. At least we have a goto meal if I don't want to be adventurous with vegan food the next time they come over. Thanks for saving the day!!!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Abba Gimel November 13, 2010

This was a tasty medium-heat chili. It can easily stand to use another tablespoon of chili powder if you like spicy chili. I used a 15 oz. can of black beans instead of kidney beans and a 15 oz. can of chickpeas (540 ml equals 19 oz.). I also used the bulgur, which I don't think really added anything to the chili. If I make it again, I'll omit the bulgur and the sugar to see how it compares. Thanks for posting this recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Netgirl's Healthy Cookbook October 10, 2007

I loved this, my husband thought it was warm salsa. I made it without mushrooms, as I don't like them. I ate the leftovers for days, so yummy. I thought it was so colorful and filling. We served it with corn chips, shredded cheese and a dollop of sour cream.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Margie99 December 03, 2011

This was pretty good, but was lacking in flavour for my tastes. This may have been largely due to the fact that I didn't have any cumin, but I think that it's still lacking something. I think that next time I'll use vegetable broth in place of the water, which should give it more flavour, instead of just adding salt. Good, though! I used red and yellow bell peppers, lots of sliced white mushrooms, a big can of mixed chickpeas and fava beans (that was all I had), couscous, and added extra red pepper flakes.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
day-hee May 25, 2011

I would give this recipe 10 stars if I could! This was super good and easy!! I used black and kidney beans and almost minced the mushrooms so that they would blend into the chili. I also used red, yellow, and green peppers, and left out the corn. I loved the texture that the bulger added. This was a very satisfying and delicious vegeterian meal that my meat-eating family also loved! I can't wait to make it again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Oliver & Fischer's Mommy February 02, 2011

I really enjoyed this chili. I followed the recipe exactly, but at the end I added a lot of salt, much more cumin, red pepper, and a tablespoon of a spice called 'Hakuna Matata". Also added about 1/2 cup more water. Came out perfect!! Will definitely be making this again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jaqi1996 October 20, 2010

So delicious and I never ever like veggie chilis! Skipped the bulgur and the cocoa and it was so amazing. Can't wait to make it again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
I love spicy food July 08, 2010

Fantastic! We used portabelllas for our mushrooms (4 large caps). We subbed a can of crushed tomatoes and two chipotle's in Adobo sauce for the salsa and cayenne pepper. We also used 1/2 cup of Young's chocolate stout instead of water. Topped with some cilantro and grated cheddar cheese and served with white rice. This recipe is a keeper!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Larry Spaghetti February 07, 2010

Excellent Veg. Chili. Did adjust the recipe a bit by adding more cumin and salt. I didn't use the chick peas but all kidney beans and added a bit of water since it did get a bit too thick while cooking. Will def. be making this chili again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Crustee September 25, 2009
Easy Spicy Vegetarian Chili