Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Easy Spicy Shrimp Pasta - Low Fat Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Easy Spicy Shrimp Pasta - Low Fat

    Average Rating:

    57 Total Reviews

    Showing 21-40 of 57

    Sort by:

    • on January 21, 2009

    • on November 18, 2008

      Low fat, easy to make, ready in 30 minutes or less AND delicious? What more could a girl ask for? The handsome man liked it so much he said "Can you make that again? Like.. tomorrow night?" hehe! We actually felt healthier after having this for dinner. Not weighed down by all the fats in a lot of dishes. I served it with a Cesar salad and it was delicious. How I made mine: I used fresh basil (mine in the yard isn't dead from frost yet!), I used 1 tbsp fresh jalapenos (they aren't dead yet either), 5 green onions, and 3 cloves of garlic and slightly less than 1 tsp of salt.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 03, 2008

      This was just fabulous! When you rate this recipe...PLEASE rate it against other LOW FAT recipes. This recipe is only 3.5 grams of fat and packs a whallop of a punch in flavor! When you consider most vegetable side dishes are quadruple the fat/calories of this dish, you'll realize this is easily a 10 star main dish recipe in the healthy department. We loved this one. I doubled the recipe and quadrupled the garlic. I used crushed red pepper flakes vs jalapeno's and also quadrupled the tomatoes (because we love them). SUPER packed with delicious flavor and kick! Hard to believe this is only 3.5 grams of fat per serving. Rediculously easy, tasty and filling! Will definitely make this one again! Thanks for posting this one Mama!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 16, 2008

      Very easy to make (though she's right, have everything ready before you start!)... yummy, spicy (I added a couple of dashes of cayenne pepper). Great mix of textures.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 30, 2008

      Delicious and easy! I used a sweet white onion instead of the green onions, and a dash of cayenne pepper for the heat (I don't care for food to be too spicy, but I liked the look of this recipe besides that part!). I added an extra 1/2 tomato, and only 1 T of the lemon juice. It was great - definitely a keeper! Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 23, 2008

      Doubled this recipe to serve 4. The pasta was very easy to prepare. Even though I doubled the other ingredients to serve 4, I used 2 tsp of red pepper flakes like the original recipe called for. Even with this modification, the dish was still very hot and I was glad I did not use 4 tsp (and please note that I like my dishes spicy!!). I agree with the other reviewers that the lemon taste was too pronounced. Maybe halving it next time? My guests thought it was good and said they enjoyed it. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 18, 2008

      This was really good and really hot (which made it even better). The only change I made was I added 4 cloves of garlic. The only thing I'll change next time is I'll cut back on the lemon zest or omit altogether and maybe add an additional tomato. This is definitely going in the regular rotation at my house.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 09, 2008

      wow this ones a hot one.... if you like spicy you'll like this one. I only put in 1 1/2 tsp of red pepper flakes and it was very, very spicy. Too spicy for mine and my hubby's taste. I gave it a 4 star because of the ease of the recipe and because I think the flavour was quite good despite the heat . I did not have any lemon, so I did not add any. Maybe that was my mistake and it would have somehow counter acted the heat? I did add about 1/3 cup of parmesan cheese to try and reduce the heat. I will make this again, I just will decrease the peppers...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 01, 2008

      Delicious! I made this once and it was great. Then I made a few changes and it was even better (for us anyway!): vidalia onion (we don't like green). Followed everything else as stated BUT when I added the white wine I also added a few tbs of heavy cream and about 1/4 cup parmesan cheese. I thickened it a bit with cornstarch then got it to the perfect consistency adding a little pasta water. We will make this again soon because dh said he LOVED it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 30, 2008

      EEEEEWWWWW WWWEEEE! Tagged for June/July Bevy Tag 2008. MAMA this is HOT,HOT,HOT. DH loved it. I cried through much of it. I am not used to the heat but made as directed figuring I could handle it. Well, let me tell you I doused myself with fresh italian bread between each bite and loved all of it. DH wants this again. I will make again but reduce the hot peppers and put on table for DH to add to it. The flavors were great. I also added lemon wedges at the table as suggested and they did give a fresh value to the eal. I cannot wait to use fresh from the garden tomatoes to make this super supper. YUMMY! (ps- my taste buds are sensitive right now from medications so that acconts for the sing in my step still!)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 18, 2008

      I LOVE this recipe. It is easy, healthy, and delicious. The best way to make this is to use fresh tomatoes from the garden and mix in a couple handfuls of orange, heirloom tomatoes. After cooking it this way, I won't make it from store-bought tomatoes ever again. Also, instead of reusing the pasta water, I put chicken broth into the tomato mixture. I also usually thicken it with corn starch.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 04, 2008

      This is good, fast and easy. I would make this again. I went easy on the pepper because three of us were under 10. But I added more red pepper flakes when my husband and I ate it. We all enjoyed it. Next time I may reserve leave the lemon juice out during cooking, but serve with lemon wedges at the table. I think the taste of lemon juice gets "dissipated" in the cooking and there's a more fresh taste when added at the table. Thank you.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 03, 2008

      Amazing how simple ingredients can be so tasty. I added one jalepeno and a tsp of crushed red pepper and it really wasn't spicy enough for me...but tasty nonetheless. I also added lots of veggies, so maybe that stretched the spice factor some: I put some broccoli in with the pasta water, and threw in some sliced baby carrots and zucchini along with the tomatoes in the sauce. For the green onions, I used some baby vidalias which were deliciously carmelized in the end. Thanks for a nice meal, mama!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 07, 2008

      This was a great, light, fresh meal! The flavor was really good with the combination of lemon juice and the onion. I didn't have jalapeno pepper, so I just used more red pepper flakes. Yum! Yum!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 28, 2008

      Sorry, we didn't like this one. We thought there was too much lemon. My advice to anyone making this would be to halve the amount of lemon and add more later if needed when tasting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 31, 2007

      My husband and I both really liked this meal, however it was more spicy than we had anticipated. I think next time we will use less red pepper. But it satisfied us, and it was healthy! Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 27, 2007

      My husband and I really enjoyed this. We substituted 10oz of canned tomatoes, 1 tsp of red pepper flakes, added 1/4 tsp of oregano, 4 cloves of garlic (and would have enjoyed even 6) and used whole wheat angel hair pasta.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 24, 2007

      Excellent!! This has a nice kick to it and the flavor is oh so good. I made it as posted except did not use the zest, DH really doesn't care for lemon flavor. I only used about 1/2 cup of the pasta water. Served it over fettucine. We had a very enjoyable dinner. Thanks, mama's kitchen for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 21, 2007

      I have a few complaints on this recipe. My biggest complaint was the fact that the red pepper flakes were a little too much. I would say 1 teaspoon is plenty unless you want to feel like you just ate a fireball. Secondly, the pasta was very dry. In the future I will probably adapt this so that you would use 1 can of diced tomatoes (basil, oregano) and I bet that would solve the problem. Other than not being able to hardly eat it because it was so hot, I basically loved it. But I think this recipe needs some definite tweaking.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 05, 2007

      This was excellent. I used Roma tomatoes and a mix of red pepper flakes and fresh chopped jalapeno. If you can get fresh basil - do. The first fork full is just bursting with a tantalizing flavour. There was quiet and then a chorus of Mmmmm as our guests first began to eat. I used an Australian Pinot Grigio to cook with and to enjoy with dinner. Served with a crusty loaf of bread and a green salad. Oh - tip - I only used half the pasta water and still found it a bit too much so removed the shrimp so they didnt' over cook and then simmered over medium heat until the sauce was reduced by half. Happens fast. The flavours just intensified and the aroma was quite tantalizing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Easy Spicy Shrimp Pasta - Low Fat

    Serving Size: 1 (373 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 2

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 561.6
     
    Calories from Fat 30
    49%
    Total Fat 3.4 g
    5%
    Saturated Fat 0.5 g
    2%
    Cholesterol 142.8 mg
    47%
    Sodium 1821.0 mg
    75%
    Total Carbohydrate 94.7 g
    31%
    Dietary Fiber 5.7 g
    22%
    Sugars 6.2 g
    25%
    Protein 31.8 g
    63%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites