Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Easy Spicy Shrimp Pasta - Low Fat Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Easy Spicy Shrimp Pasta - Low Fat

    Average Rating:

    57 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 57

    Sort by:

    • on October 26, 2011

      Even if it is low fat, 616 calories per serving is waaaaay more than I want to eat for dinner, no matter how romantic the meal is! I lowered the calories by making the 8 ounces of pasta yield four servings instead of just two (4 ounces of pasta per person is a HUGE serving). That cut it down to 324 calories per serving, a lot more reasonable for someone trying to lose weight. Other than the humongous serving size, this is a great recipe for losing weight because the result is totally satisfying and extremely delicious, even with half the the pasta. I loved it, and my non-dieting husband loved it too. He said it was "restaurant quality" (he ate more than 1 serving, of course). I started out with only 1 tablespoon lemon juice but I couldn't taste it at all, so I added another. I still couldn't really taste it so I'm not sure why so many people thought the recipe was too lemony. I didn't have any regular white wine so I used rice wine, which is a little more robust than regular table wine, so maybe that mellowed out the lemon. Or maybe the people who thought it was too lemony didn't add the wine at all?? I also cut the red pepper flakes down to 1 tsp. and that was plenty hot for us. Thanks for a great recipe. I'll definitely be making it again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 30, 2011

      I love this low fat recipe! Even my boyfriend and one of his friends couldn't believe it was actually good for them! I didn't have any green onions, instead I chopped up a sweet onion, and a little green pepper. Turned out amazing! They have been begging for me to make it again, plan on doing it this weekend. Thanks so much for posting such a fabulous recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 05, 2012

      Loved it, with these mods:

      1. Use 1 can diced tomato in favor of chopped
      2. Reduce to juice & zest of 1/2 a lemon
      3. Reduce pepper flakes (a few shakes will do, unless you like breathing fire)
      4. Add a few tsps of sugar to counteract the bitterness of lemon

      I also used cooked shrimp I had on hand (just add it at the end) and omitted the green onion, it came out great! I drank it with the rest of the Chardonnay I used for the sauce :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 13, 2011

      This was really good. I used a whole lemon (by accident but no zest) and 1 tsp of red pepper flakes (it's spicy!) and 1/2 cup of chix broth (I had to substitute broth for wine since I didn't have any wine on hand and used a lot to balance the extra lemon I added). I only used about 1/4 cup of the pasta water but, in the end, probably could have used 1/2 cup. I would DEF make this again! Hubby loved it! I served it with Roasted Garlic Cauliflower (recipe also found on this site). I also added a few shakes of Granulated Onion and Garlic to it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 16, 2011

      I thought this was excellent. I didn't add pasta water; instead, added same amount chicken broth as wine at the same time as the wine. Had to use powdered garlic (!!!!), didn't have enough lemon juice, no tomato. But this was delicious anyway. Can't wait to make it with fresh ingredients.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 23, 2011

      I added the whole cup of pasta water and doubled the wine to cut the acidity of the lemon, but could have used more hot pepper with this dilution. I added a shallot, some very thin slices of yellow and green peppers for visual appeal. I served it with a Greek salad and chardonnay. DH loved it, so did I.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 15, 2010

      awesome! Didn't have any green onion - will include next time. Also only one twp of pepper flakes and that was plenty. Had some tomato juice to use up so added that instead of the pasta water. A great light summer meal!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 12, 2010

      LOVED LOVED LOVED this recipe - thanks for posting! Changes I made -- used two medium sized tomatoes, regular white onion as I didn't have any green onion and 3 LARGE garlic cloves. No wine - although I suspect that would be a wonderful addition. I also used two heaping tsp of hot pepper flakes and next time - would use slightly less (hot for me...) We ate this happily with 6 oz of wheat pasta and think it was a super wonderful quick yummy weight watcher friendly meal. Thanks so much. Will definitely make many more times!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 09, 2010

      A simple, elegant and tasty dish.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 23, 2009

      Excellent and low-fat to boot!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 13, 2009

      This was a good recipe for shrimp! I plan to find ways to make the sauce a little thicker for next time and more heat. Thank you for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 08, 2009

      This was very delicious. And so quick and easy to make. I followed the suggestions of another reviewer and substituted the salt for anchovy paste. And to make it even more Spanish I sprinkled it with chopped black and green olives. It's a keeper!! Made for zwt5.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 12, 2009

      Talk about QETH . . . Quick, Easy, Tasty and Healthy! Only thing I did differently was add diced red pepper and sprinkled parmesan on the top! Yummy. Thanks Hope for a great recipe! PS: Used all the jalapenos . . . maybe next time a little more . . . but that's my Mexican side coming out!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 15, 2009

      Very light pasta dish that was simple to make. I added 2 more cloves of garlic, omitted the green onions and used about 2 tablespoons of freshly chopped basil. I think next time I'll decrease the amount of lemon juice I use -- I think I used too much this time and it overpowered the dish. The Mr. and I both had seconds, and we agreed that it tasted better when it had been sitting for awhile. Thanks for sharing. We'll definitely try making it again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 04, 2009

      Amazing dish; I am already planning to make it a second time. Since younger kids were dining as well, I served the hot peppers on the side. The kids asked for left overs the next day, but of course all was gone. UPDATE - I must have made this dish up to 10 times by now, I also add halved snow peas, sliced yellow/orange or red peber to get a bit more curch and green in there. The dish is just so versatile.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 04, 2009

      It's so great to find such a flavorful and satisfying healthy dish! I left out the jalapeno and forgot the lemon zest but this was still great! (I even made this with thin whole wheat spaghetti!) This is definitely going in my regular rotation!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 01, 2009

      We LOVED this but would just change a couple things: 1) Despite being fans of spicy food, this was a little over the top - I would suggest 1 tsp of hot pepper flakes, not two. 2) As other reviewers have noted, it's a little too lemoney as written - cut the amount of juice in 1/2 and it's PERFECT. This recipe is now a perminent part of our dinner repitoire - thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 24, 2009

      So So Good! I used 1 green onion and 1 shallot...subbed chicken stock for the wine and added about 1 tsp of brown sugar for balance. This is definitely a keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 02, 2009

      Very tasty. Next time I would reduce the amount of water I add back into the dish.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 15, 2013

      We really enjoyed this the fresh vegies and spicy taste of the shrimp went so well together, served over pasta and except for forgetting the basil made as directed. I'm sure the basil would have made it even better and can't believe I forgot it. Even the pepper flakes was right on for our taste. I would not change a thing. This is one of those recipes that would even be great to serve to company.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Easy Spicy Shrimp Pasta - Low Fat

    Serving Size: 1 (373 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 2

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 561.6
     
    Calories from Fat 30
    49%
    Total Fat 3.4 g
    5%
    Saturated Fat 0.5 g
    2%
    Cholesterol 142.8 mg
    47%
    Sodium 1821.0 mg
    75%
    Total Carbohydrate 94.7 g
    31%
    Dietary Fiber 5.7 g
    22%
    Sugars 6.2 g
    25%
    Protein 31.8 g
    63%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites