62 Reviews

I didn't have canned tomatoes so I used fresh... it took a little longer because of that but I LOVED the combination of spices. THANKS!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
elglance September 09, 2009

I didn't realize I was out of spaghetti sauce and the meatballs and noodles were cooked. So I had to come up with something fast! I'm glad I found this one because it had everything I had on hand. This came out delicious and it was definitely different too. Not in a bad way. I'll probably be making my own spaghetti sauce from now on. Thanks for sharing this recipe ;-)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
The Veganista September 08, 2009

This was SOOOO yummy! I didn't have 2 cans of tomato sauce, so I used one can tomato sauce, I can crushed tomatoes and added some ground beef I browned with the same spices... Oh, yeah, I also used Italian spice mix instead of the basil and oregano, and my family cleaned their plates. Will NEVER buy spaghetti sauce again. Thanks Junebug!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cintelis June 17, 2009

This sauce is so easy and tasty too! I'm glad for this recipe because it let's me control the salt. I used this to make Classic Baked Spaghetti and it was great. Thank you!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
drinkmore May 14, 2009

Amazing easy sauce! I cut the sugar in half, and added a dash or so of red wine, and have been making this sauce weekly by popular demand for months now. Finally got around to reviewing. I have also, in a pinch, used a tablespoon of italian seasoning mix, in place of the mix of spices. I use minced garlic, but the garlic powder works great too! Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lorena1 May 09, 2009

Oct. 1, 2008 This was great! It takes the same time to make as it does to heat the water and boil the noodles. I had a 29 oz. can of tomato sauce so I wasn't sure I wanted to put all of the brown sugar in to start. I used 1 tablespoon and that wasn't enough. After adding a 2nd, that was a tad to sweet. But DD added a sprinkle of salt to hers and said it was better than store bought. I also used half the garlic and basil due to personal taste. DS is super picky and I was a little worried about there being bits of onion in a very smooth sauce but they melted right in after I sauted them first in the olive oil and then added the rest of the ingredients. DH also thought this was better than store bought. This is our new spaghetti sauce. Thanks so much for a easy and great tasting recipe. **I have to add that since I've started making this (almost weekly) I've started to use this as a pizza sauce. I use Pizza Dough for Thin Crust Pizza. Sometimes if I'm in the mood I'll sprinkle the sauce with a little extra garlic and oregano after I spread it on the dough. I just don't tell the picky people. I'm also making DH learn to cook a few things. This was the first thing. He was truely shocked at how easy it was. He's been known to drive to fast food rather than heat up a plate I've left for him because it was easier so that tells you everything you need to know. Thanks again Junebug!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cookee monster April 21, 2009

Very good, easy recipe when you don't have much time. I also cut down the amount of sugar (personal preference) and added a little white wine and a dash of red pepper flakes. Thanks for a great recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Connie Lea March 05, 2009

I originally tried this recipe because of all the great reviews. I was skeptical of the amount of sugar, but because of the high reviews, I thought I would simply go by the recipe and see how it turned out. My family isn't used to sweet spaghetti sauce, so naturally, after tasting it, nobody wanted to eat it. It was edible though, it might be okay if it were tweaked, but not as is.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Pale Rose February 13, 2009

Thank you for posting this recipe. It is delicious and oh so fast to make!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
statesboro blues February 12, 2009

Super easy sauce. I was making Junebug's Ziti recipe and realized that I didn't have any meatless spaghetti sauce, only tomato sauce...I tripled this recipe (using 2-28 oz cans of sauce and 1-28 oz can of diced tomatoes and adding 1 1/2 teaspoons of red pepper flakes) and made a double batch of ziti...that's a lot of dinners ready in the freezer. Thanks Junebug

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lifeswruff February 08, 2009
Easy, Speedy Spaghetti Sauce