62 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

A great, quick, and easy recipe! I did make a few changes/additions:<br/>-I added a bit less brown sugar (2.5tbsps); next time I'd add even less, probably 1/2. <br/>-I added 1/2tsp of red chili peppers<br/>-I added an EXTRA 1/2tsp of garlic powder<br/>-and, I added 1 cup of ground beef.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ihchicky May 17, 2013

Easy, fast and good.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Picky Picky Eater January 02, 2013

super easy and tasty! per other reviews i cut sugar to 1 Tbsp. spices were pretty much doubled. teeny amount of snp. coupla shakes crushed red pepper flakes and splash of moscato. used 28oz can crushed tomatoes cause that's what we had.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
fochaux May 25, 2012

I did not care for this recipe, it is very bland and the tomato sauce doesn't work well with it. The sauce is VERY thin, not chunk or thick like we would have wanted. To salvage the sauce I added MANY more spices and fresh garlic and let it simmer longer.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Spiphibus November 23, 2010

This was good, a little sweet. Next time I will cut the sugar in half. I didn't have tomato sauce so I used two cans of italian diced tomatoes and half a can of tomato paste and added a small can of sliced black olives. The flavor and consistency was very good!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Trinitys Momma September 22, 2010

Great basic recipe that is easily redirected to suit your needs! I will keep this as a foundation recipe in my kitchen. Found that I didn't have any oregano in the cupboard, so I substituted 1 tsp of italian seasoning. I also added just a bit more parsley and basil, because I like my sauces spicy. I added only a can of tomatoes drained, but I can see that this sauce would be wonderful with olives, mushrooms, and other veggies that folks have on hand! Thanks for helping me out in a pinch!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Shortcake May 21, 2010

I always use this when I discover I am out of spaghetti sauce. I wouldn't say it is the best ever, but it is really good, fast, and easy. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
GwenG December 27, 2009

Quite honestly, I wasn't impressed with this recipe at all and couldn't decipe between 3 stars or two. I've actually had inexpensive canned sauce that I thought was better. Yes, it's quick and easy but I probably won't make it again. Thanks for posting it, though, and I'm glad to see others have enjoyed it more than I.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Okra November 06, 2009
Easy, Speedy Spaghetti Sauce