Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Easy, Speedy Spaghetti Sauce Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Easy, Speedy Spaghetti Sauce

    Average Rating:

    62 Total Reviews

    Showing 21-40 of 62

    Sort by:

    • on September 09, 2009

      I didn't have canned tomatoes so I used fresh... it took a little longer because of that but I LOVED the combination of spices. THANKS!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 08, 2009

      I didn't realize I was out of spaghetti sauce and the meatballs and noodles were cooked. So I had to come up with something fast! I'm glad I found this one because it had everything I had on hand. This came out delicious and it was definitely different too. Not in a bad way. I'll probably be making my own spaghetti sauce from now on. Thanks for sharing this recipe ;-)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 17, 2009

      This was SOOOO yummy! I didn't have 2 cans of tomato sauce, so I used one can tomato sauce, I can crushed tomatoes and added some ground beef I browned with the same spices... Oh, yeah, I also used Italian spice mix instead of the basil and oregano, and my family cleaned their plates. Will NEVER buy spaghetti sauce again. Thanks Junebug!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 14, 2009

      This sauce is so easy and tasty too! I'm glad for this recipe because it let's me control the salt. I used this to make Classic Baked Spaghetti and it was great. Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 09, 2009

      Amazing easy sauce! I cut the sugar in half, and added a dash or so of red wine, and have been making this sauce weekly by popular demand for months now. Finally got around to reviewing. I have also, in a pinch, used a tablespoon of italian seasoning mix, in place of the mix of spices. I use minced garlic, but the garlic powder works great too! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 21, 2009

      Oct. 1, 2008 This was great! It takes the same time to make as it does to heat the water and boil the noodles. I had a 29 oz. can of tomato sauce so I wasn't sure I wanted to put all of the brown sugar in to start. I used 1 tablespoon and that wasn't enough. After adding a 2nd, that was a tad to sweet. But DD added a sprinkle of salt to hers and said it was better than store bought. I also used half the garlic and basil due to personal taste. DS is super picky and I was a little worried about there being bits of onion in a very smooth sauce but they melted right in after I sauted them first in the olive oil and then added the rest of the ingredients. DH also thought this was better than store bought. This is our new spaghetti sauce. Thanks so much for a easy and great tasting recipe. **I have to add that since I've started making this (almost weekly) I've started to use this as a pizza sauce. I use Pizza Dough for Thin Crust Pizza. Sometimes if I'm in the mood I'll sprinkle the sauce with a little extra garlic and oregano after I spread it on the dough. I just don't tell the picky people. I'm also making DH learn to cook a few things. This was the first thing. He was truely shocked at how easy it was. He's been known to drive to fast food rather than heat up a plate I've left for him because it was easier so that tells you everything you need to know. Thanks again Junebug!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 05, 2009

      Very good, easy recipe when you don't have much time. I also cut down the amount of sugar (personal preference) and added a little white wine and a dash of red pepper flakes. Thanks for a great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 13, 2009

      I originally tried this recipe because of all the great reviews. I was skeptical of the amount of sugar, but because of the high reviews, I thought I would simply go by the recipe and see how it turned out. My family isn't used to sweet spaghetti sauce, so naturally, after tasting it, nobody wanted to eat it. It was edible though, it might be okay if it were tweaked, but not as is.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 12, 2009

      Thank you for posting this recipe. It is delicious and oh so fast to make!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 08, 2009

      Super easy sauce. I was making Junebug's Ziti recipe and realized that I didn't have any meatless spaghetti sauce, only tomato sauce...I tripled this recipe (using 2-28 oz cans of sauce and 1-28 oz can of diced tomatoes and adding 1 1/2 teaspoons of red pepper flakes) and made a double batch of ziti...that's a lot of dinners ready in the freezer. Thanks Junebug

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 07, 2009

      I never thought excellent spaghetti sauce could be this easy!! I LOVED it! And, will continue making on a regular basis. Thanks so much for the great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 27, 2009

      This is the easiest spaghetti sauce recipe I have tried, and very tasty too. Will make again. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 13, 2009

      This is my new favorite sauce. Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 09, 2009

      This should be called "The BEST spaghetti sauce recipe!" I hate ready-made spaghetti sauce in jars, and since that's all I've ever known, I MISTAKENLY thought I didn't like spaghetti. But with this sauce, I love spaghetti!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 25, 2008

      Great recipe. I needed to find a sauce recipe that didn't call for tomato paste, because I didn't have any. This was excellent

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 14, 2008

      This was tasty and very easy to make. I cut the sugar down to 1 tablespoon, which was enough for us. I omitted the onions just to save some time. I found the sauce to be a tad salty, only because I eat a low sodium diet. Next time I will pay closer attention to the sodium in the tomato sauce I purchase, which will eliminate this. I look forward to making this over and over. Much less expensive than what I was purchasing in a jar. Thanks for a great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 16, 2008

      WOW I was expecting okay for a speedy sauce and this was great!!! I made exactly as posted and it came out sweet but not to much and served it on Chicken Parmesan Chicken Parmesan and it was awesome!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 05, 2008

      My family loved this sauce, could be used in so many ways

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 04, 2008

      This is great! Love it Love it Love it!!! I can rarely eat store bought spaghetti sauces for the heartburn hades they put me through but this seemed to just melt into the noodles and be no problem at all. This is definitely my new stand by.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 10, 2008

      This is my new sauce! It tasted so good, very close to my Italian grandma's. I only had one 15 oz can of tomato sauce and one of the smaller ones, so I added a can of diced tomatoes. I also added 1 lb browned ground beef with diced onion and celery, and two good pinches of italian dressing seasoning mix.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Easy, Speedy Spaghetti Sauce

    Serving Size: 1 (155 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 125.4
     
    Calories from Fat 34
    27%
    Total Fat 3.8 g
    5%
    Saturated Fat 0.5 g
    2%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 1126.8 mg
    46%
    Total Carbohydrate 22.7 g
    7%
    Dietary Fiber 3.5 g
    14%
    Sugars 19.4 g
    77%
    Protein 3.0 g
    6%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites