Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Easy Soft & Seasoned Bulgur Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Easy Soft & Seasoned Bulgur

    Average Rating:

    8 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-8 of 8

    Sort by:

    • on September 05, 2011

      I made this tonight because the family is tired of rice and we had some bulgur wheat left over from another salad we made.
      I decided to saute the onions in a tiny bit of butter for about 2 minutes before adding the broth and salt. I only had beef bullion cubes so I used that instead of vegetable.
      Mine needed to be cooked a tad longer after the 10 minute resting time. When I took off the lid there was some liquid at the bottom still. I might have had the heat on too low.
      Anyway, the end result was incredibly delicious! We had it with garlic rosemary pork chops done on the grill and steamed broccoli. The flavors together were just perfect. We will definitely hold onto this recipe to make again!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 02, 2013

      This was a nice change from the usual rice side dish recipes I've used in the past. The bulgur cooked beautifully and had a great nutty taste. We served this with chicken. I will put this recipe in my permanent collection--thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 06, 2007

      Easy wonderful side dish, that doesn't use butter! I loved it. I used veggie stock and a sweet onion. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 28, 2006

      I've never had bulgur before. It's an acquired taste, perhaps? Making this was easy. I used chicken stock since I had some leftover in the fridge. I want to add something though. Maybe celery to the leftovers.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 25, 2006

      Really easy, fast, and good. I put chopped fresh herbs in it when it was done. It will become a frequent side dish for us! Much better than rice.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 14, 2006

      My whole family really liked this. I used chicken broth because that's all I had. Zaar's calorie count is waaaayyy off though -- unless I have some weird kind of bulgar wheat. My bulgar box says that 1/4 cup of the bulgar has 140 calories.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 25, 2005

      Super easy and wonderfully tasty. I used chicken stock because it is what I had and served #122134 overtop. Really superb dinner.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 05, 2003

      Very easy to make, but a great side dish. Good change from rice. I may try adding other ingredients: grated carrots, peas, spices or herbs... Great recipe to play around with -- thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Easy Soft & Seasoned Bulgur

    Serving Size: 1 (353 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 51.7
     
    Calories from Fat 1
    61%
    Total Fat 0.1 g
    0%
    Saturated Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 34.3 mg
    1%
    Total Carbohydrate 11.6 g
    3%
    Dietary Fiber 2.7 g
    10%
    Sugars 0.7 g
    2%
    Protein 1.8 g
    3%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    vegetable stock

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites