38 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Tasty and so easy! I didn't put any sesame seeds on them, instead I rolled them in unsalted butter mixed with garlic salt. (kinda defeated the purpose of the unsalted butter, but who cares it tasted good :) I upped the amount of flour by 1/4 cup, as someone else suggested, and the dough was perfect! I made them to go with a copycat recipe on this site for The Olive Garden's Pasta E Fagioli. I will definitely have this recipe on hand every night I make pasta! It was such a cinch!

10 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ChipotleChick January 09, 2003

Very good end result Inez, I followed the recipe exactly but ended up with a very very sticky dough, would never be able to roll it out, couldn't even knead it, had to add about another 1/4 cup of flour. Next time, I will use less milk and probably only 2 tablespoons of butter, there was a lot of butter left in the pan after rolling the sticks. In any case, there will be a next time, they are delicious! (made them for dinner tonight, but of course had to test them while still warm, nummmy!!!!)Thanks for sharing.

10 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Derf November 03, 2002

These were very easy to make. I didn't have sesame seed so I added garlic salt to the butter, then sprinkled them with parmasan cheese. They turned out great! Thanks for the recipe.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
karenway March 07, 2003

i tried this and didn't care for the dough. i agree with the previous post that it was VERY sticky and i had trouble using it further. i was also surprised at how small the dough was and couldn't get 12 adult size bread sticks out of it.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bettybabe November 15, 2002

My husband made a feast of a dinner for me last night and it started with warm breadsticks straight from the oven. These were wonderful! I can't believe my husband actually made me breadsticks from SCRATCH! Thanks!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Miss Erin September 02, 2003

These were like a biscuit, which is not quite what I was going for. I added 1/8 of a cup of flour, which made the dough very nice to work with, but may have contributed to the biscuit-like texture. I read the first several reviews, which said add 1/4 cup flour, and didn't read MizzNezz's update that she had already added that 1/4 cup into her directions until I was getting ready to post this. Kids ate them up, but I was looking for a doughy breadstick. I also used a spice mix that we keep on hand to sprinkle on top, and just plain Parmesan for the kids.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mark & Stacy April 29, 2014

So easy! I love that there is no yeast or rising time, which helps on hectic week nights! I don't keep sesame seeds on hand, so I've used garlic, parmesan, and mozzarella as substitutes (not together, at different times). Delicious for the effort!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
TheFamilyCook March 10, 2011

These are super easy and while most recipes need yeast which I don't keep regularly in the house, all these ingredients were in my kitchen. Like others I thought these tasted a little like biscuits but that was fine with me. I made these with a vegetable chowder for my poor BBF who had a tooth pulled today and they were soft and perfect. They are also versatile, on some I used garlic and parmesan,some sesame seeds, and some sea salt, and some shallot salt. My only problem with the recipe is I only ended up with 8 sticks...I think if they were any thinner they wouldn't have stayed so soft. Thanks so much for a quick and versatile recipe I'll use again and again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Glimmer September 16, 2010

Thank you so much for posting this!! Made it twice in 24 hours heh. First time I used garlic salt instead of sesame seeds (didn't have any) and second time when it had 10 minutes left to bake I put some generous handfuls of mozzerella cheese over them, ended up with what seemed a true copy of cheesy bread from dominos!!! Which is the only thing that used to make me order from dominos heh THANK YOU so much for posting this!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
random witty name February 15, 2010

Made these tonight - family & I thought they were pretty darn good. I used parmesan cheese instead of sesame seeds. I'm looking forward to trying these with a cinnamon sugar topping!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
PamMal February 07, 2010
Easy Soft Breadsticks