Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Easy Soft Breadsticks Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Easy Soft Breadsticks

    Average Rating:

    38 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 38

    Sort by:

    • on January 09, 2003

      Tasty and so easy! I didn't put any sesame seeds on them, instead I rolled them in unsalted butter mixed with garlic salt. (kinda defeated the purpose of the unsalted butter, but who cares it tasted good :) I upped the amount of flour by 1/4 cup, as someone else suggested, and the dough was perfect! I made them to go with a copycat recipe on this site for The Olive Garden's Pasta E Fagioli. I will definitely have this recipe on hand every night I make pasta! It was such a cinch!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 03, 2002

      Very good end result Inez, I followed the recipe exactly but ended up with a very very sticky dough, would never be able to roll it out, couldn't even knead it, had to add about another 1/4 cup of flour. Next time, I will use less milk and probably only 2 tablespoons of butter, there was a lot of butter left in the pan after rolling the sticks. In any case, there will be a next time, they are delicious! (made them for dinner tonight, but of course had to test them while still warm, nummmy!!!!)Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 07, 2003

      These were very easy to make. I didn't have sesame seed so I added garlic salt to the butter, then sprinkled them with parmasan cheese. They turned out great! Thanks for the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 15, 2002

      i tried this and didn't care for the dough. i agree with the previous post that it was VERY sticky and i had trouble using it further. i was also surprised at how small the dough was and couldn't get 12 adult size bread sticks out of it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 02, 2003

      My husband made a feast of a dinner for me last night and it started with warm breadsticks straight from the oven. These were wonderful! I can't believe my husband actually made me breadsticks from SCRATCH! Thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 29, 2014

      These were like a biscuit, which is not quite what I was going for. I added 1/8 of a cup of flour, which made the dough very nice to work with, but may have contributed to the biscuit-like texture. I read the first several reviews, which said add 1/4 cup flour, and didn't read MizzNezz's update that she had already added that 1/4 cup into her directions until I was getting ready to post this. Kids ate them up, but I was looking for a doughy breadstick. I also used a spice mix that we keep on hand to sprinkle on top, and just plain Parmesan for the kids.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 10, 2011

      So easy! I love that there is no yeast or rising time, which helps on hectic week nights! I don't keep sesame seeds on hand, so I've used garlic, parmesan, and mozzarella as substitutes (not together, at different times). Delicious for the effort!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 16, 2010

      These are super easy and while most recipes need yeast which I don't keep regularly in the house, all these ingredients were in my kitchen. Like others I thought these tasted a little like biscuits but that was fine with me. I made these with a vegetable chowder for my poor BBF who had a tooth pulled today and they were soft and perfect. They are also versatile, on some I used garlic and parmesan,some sesame seeds, and some sea salt, and some shallot salt. My only problem with the recipe is I only ended up with 8 sticks...I think if they were any thinner they wouldn't have stayed so soft. Thanks so much for a quick and versatile recipe I'll use again and again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 15, 2010

      Thank you so much for posting this!! Made it twice in 24 hours heh. First time I used garlic salt instead of sesame seeds (didn't have any) and second time when it had 10 minutes left to bake I put some generous handfuls of mozzerella cheese over them, ended up with what seemed a true copy of cheesy bread from dominos!!! Which is the only thing that used to make me order from dominos heh THANK YOU so much for posting this!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 07, 2010

      Made these tonight - family & I thought they were pretty darn good. I used parmesan cheese instead of sesame seeds. I'm looking forward to trying these with a cinnamon sugar topping!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 02, 2010

      I have made these 2 times now, and just realized I did not review them. They are very good and quite simple, made with things I always have on hand. The first time I made them, DH and I agreed that we thought they would be better covered in parmesan than in sesame seeds. The second time I made them, I twisted them and covered in parmesan...delicious! They went great with spaghetti this way (taste delicious dipped in the meat sauce). DH thought they tasted like the Pillsbury refrigerated breadsticks, so that's pretty good for no yeast and very little work! Thank you! I will make these again and again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 02, 2009

      While these biscuit-like breadsticks cannot compare to the ones made with yeast and kneading and lots of rising time, they great for what they are: quick, easy, and tasty. That said, the dough is very sticky, so have plenty of spare flour on hand for when you're kneading and cutting them.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 13, 2009

      these were like biscuits, not bread sticks. Not so good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 22, 2009

      Very easy and yummy. I skipped the sesame seeds since I didn't have any. Used olive oil in place of butter and sprinkled on garlic powder and garlic salt.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 25, 2008

      Wow! Zing! These were great! I loved how quick and easy they were to make. I will be making these regularly.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 30, 2008

      These turned out very puffy and soft and were super fast to make. Definitely a good choice when you're short on time! I subbed olive oil and garlic for the butter and sesame seeds.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 29, 2008

      These were pretty good. A bit dry... more biscuity than breadstick, but tasty and quick when you're in a hurry.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 07, 2008

      I did this tonight with meatballs and spaghetti they were very easy and delicious. my husband loved it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 30, 2008

      these were DELICIOUS!! everyone loved them!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 04, 2008

      Excellent!! I made these with half whole wheat flour/half unbleached all-purpose flour and sprinkled with garlic powder, dried parsely and parmesan before baking. Absolutely wonderful! I got 8 large breadsticks the first time I made them and 10 smaller, thicker breadsticks the second time. Thicker is definitely better! Will definitely be making these regularly - thanks for posting! :) Almost forgot - I baked at 425 for exactly 12 minutes and had perfection.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Easy Soft Breadsticks

    Serving Size: 1 (418 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 1162.6
     
    Calories from Fat 407
    35%
    Total Fat 45.3 g
    69%
    Saturated Fat 26.3 g
    131%
    Cholesterol 114.4 mg
    38%
    Sodium 2096.1 mg
    87%
    Total Carbohydrate 162.1 g
    54%
    Dietary Fiber 5.7 g
    23%
    Sugars 8.9 g
    35%
    Protein 26.1 g
    52%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes