18 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I enjoyed this, but the beer taste was too overwhelming for me. Next time I think I will only use half a bottle.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
DenaMac January 04, 2003

This recipe was easy & delicious. The whole family loved it. I made it for sunday football. No leftovers!!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
snow2000 September 23, 2002

LOVE this recipe! I usually add a can of beef consomme, as well as sliced onions, minced garlic & bell peppers. Sometimes I add mushrooms, also. I wouldn't cut out the butter on the rolls... that's one of those little things that gives this sandwich an AWESOME taste. After toasting the rolls with butter, then adding the beef & veggies, I put provolone on top and put it under the broiler until the cheese is nice and bubbly. YUM!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kynd December 13, 2009

These were good. I too added on onion on the bottom of the crockpot, per another reviewer. I served these with a slice of swiss cheese and on hoagie rolls. Thank you for sharing this recipe with us.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mommyoffour July 25, 2010

Yes, I agree this makes an easy delicious sandwitch. I have been making it for a long time. It is really nice when you are having out of town guests and don't know exactly when they are arriving. It keeps warm in the crockpot.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Naturelover February 02, 2010

I couldn't find condensed french onion soup, so substituted more beef broth and dry onion soup mix as another reviewer did. I also halved the recipe, but unfortunate circumstances forced me to leave the crockpot cooking for the full seven hours, which left the beef too dry. Despite that, we could tell that had the beef turned out properly, it would have been amazingly delicious. Will cook again, and probably add mushrooms or carrots.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Hani Selamat August 06, 2009

I made this a few months ago, forgot to rate it, but saw it in my Tried and True cookbook today. We really enjoyed this! Like BlueState, another reviewer, I added some onions and garlic. Also seasoned with Montreal Seasoning and fresh ground pepper. I had some home-made French Onion soup in the freezer that I used and that really put it over the top! So easy and so tasty. Thanks for posting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Scoutie December 03, 2008

What a quick, tasty meal! I only had a 2 lb roast so I used the can of French Onion soup and half of a bottle of beer. When I prepare it with a 4 lb roast, I'll probably use 2 cans of onion soup as we really like that flavor. I skipped the butter on the rolls to cut down on the fat. I made the mistake of thinking the meat was supposed to be like a shredded meat filling, which is why I cut it the way I did. DH told me it was supposed to be thin slices (I've never had French Dip before!) so next time I'll make sure to cut it properly. :o) Thanks for sharing! We all enjoyed it so I know I'll be making it again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Marg (CaymanDesigns) August 08, 2008

This was easy, tasty and fun. I love hot toasty sandwiches and this one fit my bill.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cookworm March 18, 2008

My husband and I enjoyed this recipe although the meat still tasted like southern style roast. I'm not to big on roast anymore due to having it every sunday growing up but this was okay. The dipping sauce was what was so good. Next time I will use a different cut of meat but I will def. eat this again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KT~Lynn March 10, 2008
Easy Slow Cooker French Dip