66 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Yum! I omitted the beans, used whole grain pasta, 1/2 cup of water instead of the full cup, and low fat cheese. I topped with sour cream which made it creamy and yummy! Thanks so much for sharing!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
megs_ May 02, 2010

This was really a good, quick dinner - I used ground turkey, olive oil and pinto beans as substitutions for the obvious ingredients - all in all, good eats!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Pineapple January 25, 2010

I, my DH and my DD all really loved this recipe! The only things I did differently were to use 2 tbsp chili powder and 1 tsp of cumin. Next time I might add more onions, because I like onions and it seemed like there weren't quite enough. Otherwise, fantastic and easy!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mrs. Delishis January 12, 2010

This recipe was really great. For any Canadians out there, I used a can of President's Choice Southwest Bean Medly in place of the kidney beans. I also used 2 tsp of chili powder and 1 tsp cumin. I also added 2 cloves of chopped garlic in place of the powder. Excellent - I will definitely make this again!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Carolyn in Toronto June 30, 2009

This is WAY,way,way better than eating a stupid boxed meal. It's really like upscale hamburger helper, which is a kid FAV. Very yummy and very healthy. Be sure to use a pan big enough, as I had a small pan and it was hard to not spill while stirring.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Nsremom May 23, 2009

Boy, this makes a lot! I used Boca crumbles instead of ground beef but left everything else the same. It made for quick, comforting, delicious vegetarian meal for us. I will definately be making this again in the winter. Thanks for the recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Niki-G October 16, 2007

This really lacked flavor for us, in spite of using fresh garlic, smoked paprika, and canned refried beans instead of kidney beans. I like that it's different than other skillet meals I make, so I will try to spruce it up in the future.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
J-Lynn January 15, 2014

This dish was a big hit with the kids! I added more of the spices, as advised by many reviewers. Everything else I kept the same. My husband added tabasco sauce at the table to give his serving more heat. Will be making again--thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CafeMaddy August 21, 2012

The family liked this and it was easy to make. Thank you for a great recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
drinkmore August 18, 2012

Should have read the reviews first. I cooked the pasta - adding it with more water is way less work and one less pan! Anyway, kids liked it, DH thought the beans didn't belong. I thought it tasted like Cincinnati chili but maybe could use a little more heat.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sheepdoc October 01, 2011
Easy Skillet Cheese-Topped Chili Macaroni