Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Easy Skillet Cheese-Topped Chili Macaroni Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Easy Skillet Cheese-Topped Chili Macaroni

    Average Rating:

    66 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 66

    Sort by:

    • on September 15, 2011

      Realizing this is a homemade Hamburger Helper, I didn't pre-cook the pasta to al dente. Just throw it in with a little more water. It worked great and WAY less effort than boiling them first. Family loved this!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 15, 2011

      It's a good recipe, one you could make quickly to please the whole family. It does need more spice, chili powder and garlic. It is a homemade hamburger helper, which is great. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 15, 2011

      This is just wonderful! Next time I make it I will add more chili powder to it, at least a tablespoon. I think it would be good with Monterey jack cheese or a Mexican bcheese blend. Thanks for posting it!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 05, 2011

      Had 2 cups of pinto beans, 1/2 cup of green beans, 1/2 cup beef stock, and 2 cups shredded cabbage that I didn't want to go to waste in the frig. This recipe was perfect. I followed the instructions with what I had and added more cumin, used a little cayenne pepper, more ancho chili pepper, and used leftover beef stock instead of water. I also used 1/2 cup mozzarella & 1/2 cup cheddar cheese. It was very easy and very delicious! Thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 05, 2010

      This recipe far exceeded expectations. To make the recipe vegetarian, I omitted the ground beef and used veggie crumbles in its place. I also added only half a cup of water. Other than that, I followed the recipe exactly and found the seasoning to be perfect.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 23, 2009

      This is WAY,way,way better than eating a stupid boxed meal. It's really like upscale hamburger helper, which is a kid FAV. Very yummy and very healthy. Be sure to use a pan big enough, as I had a small pan and it was hard to not spill while stirring.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 21, 2007

      Some people are such food snobs, it's incredible! Obviously, this is not a 50th wedding anniversary party main course, and this is how I will review it. This was incredible for a quick, easy (for Martha's sake, my guy made it while I was at rowing practice and it came out beautifull)and tasty weeknight evening meal. Bravo for a great addition to my personnal list of regular (as in done regularly, not as in "just a regular meal") weeknight meals!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 30, 2007

      Very good skillet dish. Everyone at our table enjoyed it very much. Nice mexican-style flavor; perfect after-work meal or anytime you want a quick, easy to prepare meal that is not too spicy for the kids. The only adaptation I made was to use pinto beans I prepared from scratch with onion, garlic, and boullion. I used a mexican blend of cheese and small shell macaroni as that is what I had available. For those of us who enjoy more spice, this could easily be adapted with the addition of chile peppers or an increased amount of chili powder and cumin, which I did add to this dish and I recommend it highly. I did not add the salt as my beans had enough salt in them. This will have a regular place on our meal rotation. Thanks Little Bee for bringing another lovely addition to our menu.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 15, 2014

      This really lacked flavor for us, in spite of using fresh garlic, smoked paprika, and canned refried beans instead of kidney beans. I like that it's different than other skillet meals I make, so I will try to spruce it up in the future.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 21, 2012

      This dish was a big hit with the kids! I added more of the spices, as advised by many reviewers. Everything else I kept the same. My husband added tabasco sauce at the table to give his serving more heat. Will be making again--thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 18, 2012

      The family liked this and it was easy to make. Thank you for a great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 28, 2012

      Yum, very nice. I made this exactly as per recipe, my only change was to actually cook the pasta in with the other ingredients, other than pre-cooking. So I probably needed a bit more liquid, adding as I thought necessary, but didn't use that much more. Even though we don't like overly spicy food, we both agreed that I could have added more chilli to this, other than that, super recipe that was very much enjoyed, I suspect leftovers will be even better :) Thanks, Little Bee, this recipe was made for I Recommend, tag game.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 25, 2011

      Yum! I took reviewers' advice & added macaroni with the beans w/a half cup more water and 1 tsp cumin & 2 tsp chili pepper. I added the salt when browning meat and used more onion & cheese, a half yellow onion & 2 cups cheese (mix the first cup after melting & then 2nd cup on top). Lots of flavor and the macaroni was cooked perfectly. As a house of one, I'll be enjoying this cool weather comfort food for a few days.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 01, 2011

      Should have read the reviews first. I cooked the pasta - adding it with more water is way less work and one less pan! Anyway, kids liked it, DH thought the beans didn't belong. I thought it tasted like Cincinnati chili but maybe could use a little more heat.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 01, 2011

      Great Great Great. Thanks. Easy and delicious.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 27, 2011

    • on September 19, 2011

      The recipe was obviously too large for just my husband & I but it looked so good, I went ahead with it. My daughter and her friend dropped in after dinner and saw the casserole still hot on the stove asked if they could take some for their lunch the next day. I just rec'd raves fron both of them. I used fresh garlic but that was the only change. It was truly very flavourful and we certainly indulged. We will have that again for sure.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 14, 2011

      This was a very simple, quick and easy dish. The kids liked it just fine, but we adults thought it was extremely bland. This is a great meal when you're short on time and need something the kids will like, even the picky eaters.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 12, 2011

      Like Hamburger Helper except you actually know what's in it. Was perfect for leftovers to bring to work. I made it gluten and dairy free using brown rice fusilli pasta and Daiya mozzarella style shreds. Next time I'll make and even bigger batch to have more for leftovers!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 26, 2011

      Yum! Quick and easy and the kids loved it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Easy Skillet Cheese-Topped Chili Macaroni

    Serving Size: 1 (305 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 458.5
     
    Calories from Fat 155
    33%
    Total Fat 17.2 g
    26%
    Saturated Fat 7.5 g
    37%
    Cholesterol 68.9 mg
    22%
    Sodium 989.5 mg
    41%
    Total Carbohydrate 44.9 g
    14%
    Dietary Fiber 6.2 g
    25%
    Sugars 4.8 g
    19%
    Protein 29.7 g
    59%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites