66 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Realizing this is a homemade Hamburger Helper, I didn't pre-cook the pasta to al dente. Just throw it in with a little more water. It worked great and WAY less effort than boiling them first. Family loved this!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
frugalmary September 15, 2011

It's a good recipe, one you could make quickly to please the whole family. It does need more spice, chili powder and garlic. It is a homemade hamburger helper, which is great. Thanks for sharing!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Smiley7 September 15, 2011

This is just wonderful! Next time I make it I will add more chili powder to it, at least a tablespoon. I think it would be good with Monterey jack cheese or a Mexican bcheese blend. Thanks for posting it!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
linguinelisa September 15, 2011

Had 2 cups of pinto beans, 1/2 cup of green beans, 1/2 cup beef stock, and 2 cups shredded cabbage that I didn't want to go to waste in the frig. This recipe was perfect. I followed the instructions with what I had and added more cumin, used a little cayenne pepper, more ancho chili pepper, and used leftover beef stock instead of water. I also used 1/2 cup mozzarella & 1/2 cup cheddar cheese. It was very easy and very delicious! Thanks!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
L1nah March 05, 2011

This recipe far exceeded expectations. To make the recipe vegetarian, I omitted the ground beef and used veggie crumbles in its place. I also added only half a cup of water. Other than that, I followed the recipe exactly and found the seasoning to be perfect.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
stacey.moore November 05, 2010

This is WAY,way,way better than eating a stupid boxed meal. It's really like upscale hamburger helper, which is a kid FAV. Very yummy and very healthy. Be sure to use a pan big enough, as I had a small pan and it was hard to not spill while stirring.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Nsremom May 23, 2009

Some people are such food snobs, it's incredible! Obviously, this is not a 50th wedding anniversary party main course, and this is how I will review it. This was incredible for a quick, easy (for Martha's sake, my guy made it while I was at rowing practice and it came out beautifull)and tasty weeknight evening meal. Bravo for a great addition to my personnal list of regular (as in done regularly, not as in "just a regular meal") weeknight meals!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
gourmetronik June 21, 2007

Very good skillet dish. Everyone at our table enjoyed it very much. Nice mexican-style flavor; perfect after-work meal or anytime you want a quick, easy to prepare meal that is not too spicy for the kids. The only adaptation I made was to use pinto beans I prepared from scratch with onion, garlic, and boullion. I used a mexican blend of cheese and small shell macaroni as that is what I had available. For those of us who enjoy more spice, this could easily be adapted with the addition of chile peppers or an increased amount of chili powder and cumin, which I did add to this dish and I recommend it highly. I did not add the salt as my beans had enough salt in them. This will have a regular place on our meal rotation. Thanks Little Bee for bringing another lovely addition to our menu.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Happy Hippie April 30, 2007

This really lacked flavor for us, in spite of using fresh garlic, smoked paprika, and canned refried beans instead of kidney beans. I like that it's different than other skillet meals I make, so I will try to spruce it up in the future.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
J-Lynn January 15, 2014

This dish was a big hit with the kids! I added more of the spices, as advised by many reviewers. Everything else I kept the same. My husband added tabasco sauce at the table to give his serving more heat. Will be making again--thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CafeMaddy August 21, 2012
Easy Skillet Cheese-Topped Chili Macaroni