10 Reviews

These were outstanding. We loved these. I think the bacon gives them such a good taste and they were so succullent. Thank you for a great recipe. We will definitly be making these again.

11 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Gingerbear June 10, 2002

Like the other reviewers said, succulent and fabulous. This was very easy to prepare. The bacon wrapped around the shrimp really made for some great tasting shrimp. These were put down in record time. Thanks Nurse Di.

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Laylagirl September 09, 2002

Oh Nurse Di--This was so fabulous. Shrimp wrapped in bacon in lemon/butter sauce. This is a very simple dish but large on flavor. The smell while cooking was heavenly. Incredibly easy to make as well. DH and I thoroughly enjoyed this. Thanks :)

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
PixieDust August 02, 2002

We had dinner from the grill last night and these shrimp kabobs were a huge hit. I tripled the recipe because I had 3 lb. of shrimp to use. 6 hungry adults ate every last bite. The bacon and lemon butter sauce were sensational. The kabobs were easy to assemble and are a new family favorite. Thanks.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Gladys58 May 25, 2003

Excellent recipe! And yes, so easy to fix. I did partially pre-cook the bacon so it would be done by the time the shrimp was cooked. We loved the combination of flavors and the lemon/butter sauce just put it over the top. Definitely a keeper for me.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mary K. W. June 02, 2007

EXCELLENT! What a fine way to raise our spirits on an otherwise dank and overcast November Sunday. I fired up the large hibachi on the patio table and when all was ready I brought it inside to the table. I repeatedly assured my guests that I would not burn the house down nor would the charcoal be in the house long enough to burn the oxygen out of the room. When the kabobs were done the hibachi went back to the patio table and we feasted on these wonderful shrimp. The only change I made was to substitute lime juice, I was out of lemons. My guests insisted on getting a copy of the recipe. They couldn't believe it was as simple as it is. Thanx for posting this great recipe. Pierre

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Pierre Dance November 20, 2005

I just didn't have good luck with this shrimp. None of us really liked the shrimp/bacon combo and there was literally no flavor, other than bacon. I assumed that we would love it because I loved bacon wrapped scallops! At any rate, I also had a devil of a time getting the skewers cooked evenly and the bacon had a tendency to fall off. I've made shrimp skewers before, so I can only figure the bacon is just sort of a mess on the grill. We have loved every recipe of yours that we have tried, but for some reason, this one just didn't work out for us.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Denise! July 11, 2004

hubby and i loved this recipe, we thought it was great. but what really made it great is that the kids (the ones that hate shrimp) couldn't get enough of it. thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
chuckholemama July 02, 2004

I got a bit klutzy with these. I fussed with the bacon wrapping a bit much, because I miscalculated and cut the pieces too small. As a result, I found it quite *difficult* (ha ha). I also accidentally added *cold* lemon juice to the melted butted, immediately unmelting it. I enjoyed the smoky flavor of the bacon paired with the shrimp every bit as much as your other reviewers, so I will be making this again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
evewitch June 05, 2004

I can't think of many things that I like better than shrimp. The kabobs were easy to assemble and tasted like heaven. The smoky flavor from the bacon and grill was mouth-watering. I ate a whole pound of shrimp by myself. Oh my goodness, what joy. Thanks Nurse Di.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lauren-Grace June 20, 2003
Easy Shrimp Kabobs