28 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Recipe was too salty. I think it might've been the second Tbsp of chicken base that put it over the edge. If you prepare this, add zero salt and cut down on the chicken base.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Luke S. February 08, 2015

This recipe was very easy. The outcome was good, but in my opinion, the dish was EXTREMELY salty. The only thing I can attribute that to is the chicken base. I will make it again, but next time, I will cut the base in half, or see if I can find a low sodium base instead. I served it over penne pasta and followed the recipe as written.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Becky S. December 31, 2014

Turned out PERFECT! It was a bit salty, and I like salt. I doubled the recipe, and I think next time I will use a little less of the chicken base, and use real butter, to make it not quite so salty. I used only about 1/4 teaspoon of red crushed pepper and that was just right for us.<br/>Other than that it was YUMMY!!! YOU MUST HAVE FRENCH BREAD FOR DIPPING! Thanks for that info to prior posters! a MUST TRY recipe for Seafood lovers- you wont find anything this good in a restaurant, and I live on the Beach!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
addiva45 November 02, 2013

This was great! I actually didn't even make it with shrimp and scallops - I just made the sauce and served it on homemade gnocchi. I added maybe a tablespoon of flour and 1/4 cup of grated cheese at the end to thicken it up. I served it on the side with a tuna steak. Next time I think I'll cut down on the onions (it was a little much for 2 servings). Thank you!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mikey & ev August 07, 2007

This is an outstanding recipe. I tripled the recipe but only used 2 onions. I used large shrimp and dry sea scallops. I cooked this on medium in a very large skillet. I cooked the onions/garlic for about 2 minutes. It took longer than 2 minutes for the shrimp/scallops to be done. I used fresh parsley and fresh Parmesan cheese. We did not find this to be too salty. I went easy on the red pepper. This is definitely going into my best of 2015 cookbook. Thanks to Aunt Barb and to you for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
GibbyLou January 18, 2015

Easy to make. Tastes great. I added a few extra cloves and italian herbs instead of parsley. Served over fettucini. Yummy

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Yani C. September 18, 2013

Incredible! Better than restaurants I've been to. I used all shrimp, no scallops, but made no other changes. Simply delectable. Served over angel hair and with crusty french bread- a must!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rosiecottontail February 06, 2013

Absolutely wonderful. I omitted the butter to make it healthier and it was wonderful. I also had Dr. oz ringing in my ear so I used a pinch of coconut oil and no other oil. Way to go Aunt Barb! Thanks for sharing this recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bbarbsbox February 02, 2013

Yummy! Made exactly as directed (well 1 lb shrimp, no scallops, and maybe two extra cloves of garlic) and this is heavenly. I served over angel hair pasta with crusty bread. The bread is a must for soaking up the delicious broth. I could eat that broth like soup. It is incredible.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
tjhoth January 16, 2013

This recipe was a HUGE hit with the entire family. I served it over fresh angel hair instead of rice, and everyone had second helpings.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Katey in GB February 26, 2012
Easy Shrimp and Scallop in White Wine Sauce