Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Easy Shepherd's Pie Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Easy Shepherd's Pie

    Average Rating:

    52 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 52

    Sort by:

    • on December 17, 2002

      This was easy to make. The only change I'd make in the future would be to lower the garlic salt and add straight garlic. It came out a bit salty for my taste. The most impressive thing was that my wife and both my kids liked it and ate without any arguing (A rarity in my house)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 27, 2002

      This was a quick and easy recipe to make up. We enjoyed it very much. I did make a couple of changes to the recipe to suit our taste. The main change was I added cajun seasoning to give it a spicy flavor and I didn't add the cheese untill the last 5 minutes of baking. I will definately make this recipe again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 26, 2003

      To respond to Jellyeating Bob....shepards WATCH their sheep, they don't eat them. Shephards eat cows....

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 25, 2003

      shepards for lambs. lambs. not cows. moooooooooooooooooooooooo. that is the sound of a cow. moooooooooooooooooo.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 15, 2003

      Woah, this was really good. I changed a few things up on this one...first, I used 2 lbs of ground turkey with the onion, and drained it. I then added the one can of soup undiluted, and added one can of corn and one can of peas, both drained. I left the garlic salt at one tablespoon and also used the suggested 8 servings of instant potato flakes. It turned out *very* well, but I can see how the garlic salt and potato measurements could be too much for just 1 lb of meat. I baked it for 30 minutes but only added the cheese for the last 10. Tasted great! Thanks for the great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 05, 2002

    • on November 19, 2007

      Unbelievably good! My father is a self-proclaimed shepherd's pie afficionado, and he said "this is the best I've ever had!" I used Paradise Valley All-Natural Creamy mashed potatoes (available at costco) and normandy-style mixed frozen veggies, which I cooked first before adding, and chopped them into smaller pieces. My Dad had two servings and my brother had THREE! I also used garlic powder instead of salt. There's so much hidden salt nowadays in everything, you really don't need to add it. EXCELLENT recipe, and this will be made again!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 05, 2014

      This turned out great.....I used a can of cream of mushroom and 1/2 a can of tomato soup, mixed in with ground meat. Frozen veggies.....and garlic powder. I also used instant potatoes and my guys had no idea. :) Everyone had seconds. Easy, quick meal. :) Inexpensive too.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 27, 2014

    • on May 10, 2014

      This was great... everyone liked it including my picky husband (I really didn't think he would like it). He asked me to make it just like this every time.<br/><br/>So for me and anyone that wants to try it my way... I accidentally mixed two recipes together and it worked out great and it was mostly this recipe.<br/><br/>I added a packet of taco seasoning to the ground beef (1 1/4 oz or 1/4 cup). Rather than canned veggies, I dumped in a 16 oz bag of frozen veggies: Flav-R-Pac Sugar Snap Pea Stir Fry Combo. I let it cook until it was mostly done and then added in the mushroom soup and only 1 teaspoon garlic salt (the taco seasoning had a lot of flavor). At the last minute I added a drained can of corn because I decided I wanted more veggies.<br/><br/>I spread some of the potatoes on the bottom of the baking dish and some on the top. Also I used only about 1/3 cup of mexican blend cheese (and left it off my part since I don't like cheese). For the mashed potatoes I used Honest Earth Instant (they are delicious and made of real potatoes... but really easy for a quick shepherd's pie meal).<br/><br/>Thanks for a great and quick meal recipe! I'll definitely add this into my cooking rotation.<br/><br/>I think this recipe is very versatile... you could use any combo of veggies you like

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 23, 2014

      Very good. I used a bag of frozen instead of canned veggies. Oh, and added cheese for last 5 min of cooking. A keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 08, 2012

      Great recipe! I only had a can of cream of celery on hand, so it replaced the mushroom soup but it was so tasty! Such a simple recipe that gets such a great reaction from the people who get to eat & enjoy it! I will be making this for dinner lots!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 13, 2012

      This was super easy to put together and delicious. I used fresh garlic instead of garlic salt, frozen vegetables and added cayenne pepper and a bit of paprika. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 25, 2012

      This is probably the most requested dish by my DH. I don't mind, either, because it is super quick to make. I fry up 1lb meat with garlic powder (not garlic salt) and onions. I steam some frozen veggies and chop them if they are not bite sized. Then I mix everything together in the pan with some Cream of Mushroom. Finally, I top with garlic mashed potatoes (made from spuds with the left over water from steaming the veggies) and top with a nice Grana Padano cheese. This cheese is excellent on with the dish.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 29, 2011

      This was a really good, cheap, and inexpensive meal. I did make a couple of minor changes. I didnt have any onion so I just used onion powder and instead of garlic salt I used garlic powder. I also used half of a can of green beans and a half a can of corn. I also used one packet of Betty Crocker sour cream and chives mashed potatoes. Made just the right amount for it. Thanks so much! Will make again and again!!!! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 21, 2011

      I was really skeptical about how this was going to taste with the mushroom soup instead of the usual gravy. It was so good, and so easy! I used betty crocker herb and butter potatoes and frozen peas and corn.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 27, 2011

      Great recipe, I used real garlic and added some salt instead of garlic salt and I used fresh carrots (they need to be par-boiled first) and frozen peas/corn. I used condensed mushroom soup and added some milk. It turned out perfectly! Thanks, I'll make this again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 21, 2011

      Loved that it was simple & fast. I added 1C beef broth & still thought I would prefer it with a little more sauce. Maybe use 2 cans crm mush soup next time. But was still delicious. Just what I was looking for. Thx

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 12, 2011

      Fantastic recipe! So easy to make without sacrificing taste. The only thing I did differently was to add a store-bought pie crust to the bottom to hold things together better. I'll definitely be making it again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 19, 2011

      Good base recipe! I did change it up a bit though. I made home made garlic mashed potatoes for the topping. I didn't use garlic salt in the mix, instead I sauted a tablespoon of garlic with my onion in a pan then added it in the mix when I mixed everything else together. I also used frozen veggies in mine. Will make again! Thanks! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Easy Shepherd's Pie

    Serving Size: 1 (198 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 465.6
     
    Calories from Fat 188
    40%
    Total Fat 20.9 g
    32%
    Saturated Fat 9.2 g
    46%
    Cholesterol 71.1 mg
    23%
    Sodium 665.0 mg
    27%
    Total Carbohydrate 44.5 g
    14%
    Dietary Fiber 4.9 g
    19%
    Sugars 4.3 g
    17%
    Protein 25.0 g
    50%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes