Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Easy Shepherd's Pie Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Easy Shepherd's Pie

    Average Rating:

    18 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-18 of 18

    Sort by:

    • on November 19, 2008

      This was a very yummy supper. I used instant potatoes and gravy out of a jar because I was feeling lazy. I did cut back on the veggies some...I probably used about 3 cups instead of the 4. This is something that I will probably make again. Delish. The cream cheese and cheddar cheese in the potatoes was a very nice touch. Thanks for posting! Made for Football Tag 2008 :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 24, 2012

      A wonderful complete dinner! Thanks! I used instant mashed potatoes, an spiced and already salted Italian veggies mix and two biiiiiig galic cloves! I didn't use the broth as I combined the half frozen veggies to the meat, they released enough juice. The veggies mix included: mushrooms, zucchini, peppers and green beans. I would use this mix again and I wouldn't use a fade neutral mix...or I would add spices! It was very easy to assemble and fast; however the preparation of the ingredients requires more time if you don't have all ready.
      Thanks again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 24, 2012

      Trying again - wrote a review yesterday that seems to have disappeared into thin air. So, anyway...I increased this recipe to serve 9 since one never know how large a serving actually is. Made gravy using drippings from the cooked meat. For the veggies, I chopped and cooked 1 cup of onion and 1 cup of carrots. Added 1 cup of canned and drained (reserved liquid for gravy) mushrooms, and not quite a cup of defrosted peas. Put in an 11x13 pan. We had never had Shepherd's Pie before but certainly will again. Everyone love it! Thanks, Jim!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 06, 2012

      This is really good. I put about a tablespoon of catchup in with the meat and gravy to give it a little zip. Really nice!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 20, 2012

      Great Shepherd's pie and it's hard to believe, but I've come to the realization that the whole world depends on me...the whole world! For instance, India is on hold with questions regarding Easy Chai Masala, France is on line 2 asking advice about Shortcut Boeuf (Beef) Bourguignon and somebody from Texas wants to fight because she's fearful I'd snitch her recipe for Agave Margarita and she didn't even have one in hand when she walked in! Well, maybe that someone from India will pacify whatever Texas' beef is. What else? Oh, yeah, made for ZWT#8~Great Britain/Ireland.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 14, 2013

      Hadn't made this dish in years. Something I used to make when I was a starving student. I precooked the veggies (carrots and green beans) in the microwave so they would be tender. I added onion to my meat mixture just because I really love onions. Would suggest making extra mashed potatoes for a thicker layer on top because they are delicious with the cream cheese added! I am going to make my mashed potatoes with cream cheese from now on! I bet fresh chives would be great added to them.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 26, 2011

      Got a gr8 visual for this recipe: hubby pushed plate away after sampling it (I thought he hated it!) & gave me a big hug & said it was one of the best things ever!! I cut this recipe in half: I only used about 1 1/2 cups frozen veggies (peas/carrots mix) & used low fat cheddar. It really was quite easy & delicious according to the husband. Thanks so much for sharing!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 18, 2013

      Where's the salt pepper and onions??? I added those and some beef boullioun and it came out great. I think the best part of this recipe is the potatoes with the cream cheese and cheddar cheese added.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 22, 2013

      in australia, a shepherds pie is made with lamb mince. that is the reason for it's name. a beef pie made in the same manner is called a cottage pie!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 17, 2013

      This was an easy weeknight dinner, i did add a lot of different spices italian seasonings, s&p,garlic,onion plus paprika. i also added a green pepper and an onion, plus a squirt of ketchup to the meat. I know without these it would be kinda bland. I will be making this again, my family liked it. We were not wowed by it, but it was easy and tasty.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 12, 2013

      I don't eat beef so I swapped out the beef and beef gravey for turkey. Love this recipe! I cooked the turkey with 1.5 cups of chopped onions, then added a cup each of steamed fresh carrots, thawed out corn and peas. I also added onion and garlic powder to the meat mixture. The only thing I would change next time is to add AT LEAST 50% more gravey. My husband likes a lot of gravey so I will double it but 50% more would be good for the average person.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 23, 2013

      This recipe turned out okay and does make quite a bit, it just needs seasoning and other tweaking. Gravy worked, but I think beef broth would be fine too.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 22, 2012

      This was easy and good. Surprised my son, cuz he was sure he'd hate it! Made for ZWT8.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 17, 2012

      used Good Old-Fashioned Mashed Potato for potatoes very easy meal mr picky liked it zaar world tour 8

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 17, 2012

      Thanks for posting MDJim! I am a creature of habit, and I love my own version of Shepherd's Pie, which is the only shepherd's pie I make. I fell in love with it in nursery school :) LOL...so this was a ~little~ bit different for me. I did add a quarter white onion finely diced to the grass-fed beef and veggie mixture, and I only used french style green beans as that's the only way I've ever eaten this pie ~ and it's the way I like it ! I did make 'from-scratch' mashed potatoes, using red potatoes. I used Kerrygold Dubliner cheese, which is quite a bit different from a regular cheddar, but it worked out very well. I didn't have beef gravey so used a gluten-free beef bouillion cube and water, and cooked that down with the beef and beans. I also sprinkled just a few chives into the potatoes for a touch of color, and topped it all with fresh ground mixed peppercorns before it went in the oven. Jim...I have to say this is the best shepherd's pie I've ever eaten - the simplicity of the ingredients is perfect in our opinion and the result was stupendous. I think I've just adopted a new favorite recipe for an old favorite comfort food...makes me a bit sad that it's better than "my" recipe, but I'm glad I decided to try this as it is simply wonderful. Miss Peggy, my nursery school teacher, would be green with envy. I will make this again for sure Jim ! Made for ZWT8 and the Herbaceous Curvaceous Honeys.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 15, 2012

      I love Shepherds Pie. I however do not eat beef, so I substituted ground turkey and it still came out yummy. Because I was using only an eight inch dish, I cut my veggies back to 3 cups. This was a great Shepherds Pie recipe, will make again. Made for ZWT8

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 18, 2011

      Quick and tasty! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 20, 2008

      This was very good, and super quick, which makes it even more likeable! I used prepared mashed potatoes from the refrigerated section of the supermarket, and followed the recipe exactly as written. I will be making this again. Made for Football Tag 2008.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Easy Shepherd's Pie

    Serving Size: 1 (374 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 480.3
     
    Calories from Fat 235
    49%
    Total Fat 26.1 g
    40%
    Saturated Fat 12.8 g
    64%
    Cholesterol 94.5 mg
    31%
    Sodium 727.8 mg
    30%
    Total Carbohydrate 35.9 g
    11%
    Dietary Fiber 7.2 g
    29%
    Sugars 1.8 g
    7%
    Protein 27.7 g
    55%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites