Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Easy Shepherd's Pie Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Easy Shepherd's Pie

    Average Rating:

    14 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-14 of 14

    Sort by:

    • on March 31, 2008

      AWESOME! My boyfriend is likely the pickiest eater on the planet (he hates tomatoes and most ground beef recipes are tomato based) but he requested I make it again. He doesn't like onions but I managed to sneak some minced dehydrated in without him noticing and it added a bit of a kick. I had trouble with the gravy but I always do (lumps, lumps. lumps). I used frozen peas, carrots, and corn and cooked them first. Took quite a bit longer than 30 minutes but I'm a novice so that's probably why.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 01, 2008

      Delicious.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 20, 2005

      I also added 2 tsp. Worcestershire sauce to the recipe and used canned corn instead of the carrots. Very good- I am very happy with this recipe- love the gravy! Thanks :)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 18, 2011

      One of our family favorites! We have this often and take it to church meals as well. We double the recipe for our family. Everyone loves it. We use green beans instead of carrots, but almost any vegetable will do. We have used peas and carrots, too. Great winter night casserole and great to take to potlucks or to put in the freezer in a disposable foil container for another night. A whisk and low heat help keep the gravy from becoming lumpy. Start those potatoes early and then start mincing the onions and garlic. After that, get the gravy started whle the meat is cooking with the onions and garlic. Those are the things that take the longest.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 20, 2008

      This was my first attempt at Shepherds Pie and it turned out very nice. I used mixed veggies, thats what I had on hand other than that I followed the recipe. My DH said I needed to brown the top more but it went over very well. Thanks for the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 02, 2008

      This was an easy & super quick version of shepherd's pie. I used a 16 oz pkg of frozen mixed vegetables instead of the canned carrots. I also added 1/2 cup of sliced celery and 1 t of tarragon. It went together quickly, the sauce was thick enough, and everything blended well flavorwise. Thank you for sharing the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 06, 2008

      This was really good. I did change it quite a bit though. I added a can of mixed veggies, since that is what I had on hand and added banquet browning sauce to the gravy. I also topped mine with cheddar cheese. We will be making this again but adding some more flavor to the gravy with different spices. Thank you Pines!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 27, 2007

      This is such a wonderful, versatile recipe! I used my left over garlic mashed potatoes that I had warmed up with additional milk and added shredded cheddar and Durkee fried onions on top before baking. To the gravy, I added some bottled hot sauce, Worcestershire sauce and beef bouillon granules (which added a richer beef flavor), and I used steamed peas and carrots to the meat. My husband and son have decided this has to be a staple in our house from now on. It seems like a lot of work, but if you plan ahead, you can quickly put this together when you have left over mashed potatoes in the fridge and a jar of gravy in the pantry.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 12, 2007

      I thought this was tasty, but I'm one of the other reviewers that there is no way this can be made in 30 minutes. (It took almost 20 for the potatoes to cook). That isn't a complaint, though, I realize that most of us cannot actually get a meal to the table in 30 minutes, unless we're ordering it from a drive through window. I used frozen peas, and fresh baby carrots that had been steamed in one of those Glad steamer bags. I think next time I should use a small onion instead of the medium sized one I used this time. I loved the onions, personally, but I have to deal with picky eaters that don't like onions. I also added a couple of extra tablespoons of sour cream to the potatoes, and let me say they were fabulous. Overall, this is a nice dish that, although it takes a fair amount of time to make, is simple and perfect for weeknight meals. I will probably make this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 06, 2006

      I added some celery and some shredded carrots to this. Didn't have broth so I used a bouillon cube. Cooked the veggies till tender then topped with mashed potato left over from yesterday. I doubled this and put one in the freezer to use on one of those scary busy days.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 27, 2005

      This was great. My family really enjoyed it, although I did mixed veggies instead of carrots. 2 thumbs up!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 01, 2005

      was very good but felt it needed a bit more flavor. Since i can't have corn, it was so nice to find a shepards pie that doesn't have any. Will make again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 04, 2005

      I added mixed vegetables, and still was delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 28, 2004

      My hubby loved it...I thought it was good but would probably have given it 4 stars. Thanks for "modifying" Rachel's recipe. I looked her's up and sort of took a little from each of you. I added peas and a little worcester sauce. Great tip on the canned carrots. There is no way this meal could be made in 30 minutes! I saw the episode where she made this and was planning on making it. It took me more like 40 minutes before I put it in the oven. I don't know how she does it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Easy Shepherd's Pie

    Serving Size: 1 (477 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 542.0
     
    Calories from Fat 258
    47%
    Total Fat 28.7 g
    44%
    Saturated Fat 14.1 g
    70%
    Cholesterol 88.7 mg
    29%
    Sodium 414.2 mg
    17%
    Total Carbohydrate 52.0 g
    17%
    Dietary Fiber 7.4 g
    29%
    Sugars 6.1 g
    24%
    Protein 20.0 g
    40%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites