14 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

AWESOME! My boyfriend is likely the pickiest eater on the planet (he hates tomatoes and most ground beef recipes are tomato based) but he requested I make it again. He doesn't like onions but I managed to sneak some minced dehydrated in without him noticing and it added a bit of a kick. I had trouble with the gravy but I always do (lumps, lumps. lumps). I used frozen peas, carrots, and corn and cooked them first. Took quite a bit longer than 30 minutes but I'm a novice so that's probably why.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kikiloveshercop March 31, 2008

Delicious.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
anozira86 January 01, 2008

I also added 2 tsp. Worcestershire sauce to the recipe and used canned corn instead of the carrots. Very good- I am very happy with this recipe- love the gravy! Thanks :)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
atlantamom April 20, 2005

One of our family favorites! We have this often and take it to church meals as well. We double the recipe for our family. Everyone loves it. We use green beans instead of carrots, but almost any vegetable will do. We have used peas and carrots, too. Great winter night casserole and great to take to potlucks or to put in the freezer in a disposable foil container for another night. A whisk and low heat help keep the gravy from becoming lumpy. Start those potatoes early and then start mincing the onions and garlic. After that, get the gravy started whle the meat is cooking with the onions and garlic. Those are the things that take the longest.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
epicurean May 18, 2011

This was my first attempt at Shepherds Pie and it turned out very nice. I used mixed veggies, thats what I had on hand other than that I followed the recipe. My DH said I needed to brown the top more but it went over very well. Thanks for the recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jazze22 December 20, 2008

This was an easy & super quick version of shepherd's pie. I used a 16 oz pkg of frozen mixed vegetables instead of the canned carrots. I also added 1/2 cup of sliced celery and 1 t of tarragon. It went together quickly, the sauce was thick enough, and everything blended well flavorwise. Thank you for sharing the recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Susie D August 02, 2008

This was really good. I did change it quite a bit though. I added a can of mixed veggies, since that is what I had on hand and added banquet browning sauce to the gravy. I also topped mine with cheddar cheese. We will be making this again but adding some more flavor to the gravy with different spices. Thank you Pines!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mini_1 January 06, 2008

This is such a wonderful, versatile recipe! I used my left over garlic mashed potatoes that I had warmed up with additional milk and added shredded cheddar and Durkee fried onions on top before baking. To the gravy, I added some bottled hot sauce, Worcestershire sauce and beef bouillon granules (which added a richer beef flavor), and I used steamed peas and carrots to the meat. My husband and son have decided this has to be a staple in our house from now on. It seems like a lot of work, but if you plan ahead, you can quickly put this together when you have left over mashed potatoes in the fridge and a jar of gravy in the pantry.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
beverlysmusic November 27, 2007

I thought this was tasty, but I'm one of the other reviewers that there is no way this can be made in 30 minutes. (It took almost 20 for the potatoes to cook). That isn't a complaint, though, I realize that most of us cannot actually get a meal to the table in 30 minutes, unless we're ordering it from a drive through window. I used frozen peas, and fresh baby carrots that had been steamed in one of those Glad steamer bags. I think next time I should use a small onion instead of the medium sized one I used this time. I loved the onions, personally, but I have to deal with picky eaters that don't like onions. I also added a couple of extra tablespoons of sour cream to the potatoes, and let me say they were fabulous. Overall, this is a nice dish that, although it takes a fair amount of time to make, is simple and perfect for weeknight meals. I will probably make this again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kay D. October 12, 2007

I added some celery and some shredded carrots to this. Didn't have broth so I used a bouillon cube. Cooked the veggies till tender then topped with mashed potato left over from yesterday. I doubled this and put one in the freezer to use on one of those scary busy days.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Fairy Godmother January 06, 2006
Easy Shepherd's Pie