25 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

this was totally awesome and so easy to throw together! i made a few changes to fit what i had and to play into the mexican theme a little more. i used a sleeve of the yellow saffron rice, black beans instead of the corn, a can of pace enchilada sauce instead of the tomato sauce, i added a serrano pepper and some garlic to the onion pepper mixture, i added a layer of cheese in the middle, i seasoned the ground beef with a taco seasoning packet, i used a can of extra hot rotel for the tomatoes, and i partially cooked the bacon and cut it up before adding to casserole. everyone enjoyed this! it was full of flavor and pretty too! i'll be making this several times a month. served with mexican corn muffins. thanks for another winner, carol!!!!

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KPD June 08, 2009

This is a very versatile recipe, your could change it to fit your taste in many ways, as long as you keep the liquid ratio correct. I made a mexican casserole out of it, next time I'll try the regular recipe. I stirred about 1-2 T of my homemade cilantro pesto into the rice (it was a nice addition) and would put basil pesto for the regular recipe as well as some mushrooms over the meat layer. The timing was right, but a 450 degree temperature is too hot for my oven, it burnt and stuck a little in the corners, so I think 425 would work better for me, perhaps increasing the cooking time a bit. It was an easy recipe since nothing needs pre-cooking, you just need to plan plenty of cooking time. This is a keeper!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jaybee chef February 26, 2012

I used canned chicken as someone else suggested and my hubby and son looooved it! Easy to put together and very filling. I also seasoned with chili powder and garlic. Used a can of rotel tomatos too. I think it would have been better with the salsa instead of the tomato sauce. Thanks for the recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dizzyfreedom February 11, 2010

I modified this recipe by using black beans instead of corn and also a jar of salsa instead of green peppers and the diced tomatoes...and then I used a can of chicken instead of using ground beef. And, no bacon. We loved it! Thanks for the inspiration!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mrs. DeVelopment March 22, 2009

Loved it. Added garlic and the cheese in the middle. It was really good left over too. I noticed none of the other reviewers had this problem, but my bacon (not thick) didn't get done and trying to get it there overcooked my rice some. I think it might be a good idea to microwave the bacon a little first. Thanks for an easy yummy recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Starweaver January 04, 2009

This was pretty darned tasty. The only problem was that the rice was burned at the very bottom. The only tweaks I made were instead of 8 oz of tomato sauce, I used 4 oz of tomato sauce and 4 oz of green chili verde enchilada sauce, and instead of green pepper, I used diced green chills. I will make this again but will either lower the cooking temp or shorten the cooking time so I don't get burned rice.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
RedhairMac March 19, 2014

My mom used to make this for me when I was a kid, it's nice to see this posted as I haven't had this meal in a long time. I will be making this next week.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
dayzeee November 01, 2013

Another Kittencal winner! This was so easy to make and so tasty. I used seasoned salt on the ground beef. I think next time I would increase the corn and maybe not use diced tomatoes. Other than that just the ease of this won me over. Thanks hon! :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ang11002 August 18, 2010

What a great way to get dinner on the table with a minimum of fuss. I prepared this exactly as written. DH and I loved the results. Next time I'll season the meat before adding as suggested in the intro. DH added more freshly ground pepper and soya sauce to the leftovers. Made for Zaar Stars Tag.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dreamer in Ontario September 18, 2009
Easy Seven Layer Rice Casserole