11 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Excellent recipe and very adaptable to other fruits. As a lover of rhubarb, I was drawn to this recipe as it wa similar to my own recipe but the jello and marshmellows were a new feature. I also tried it with sliced strawberries and it also was superb. Since rhubarb can be hard to obtain, this recipes adaptability to other fruits makes it a real plus in my book. It does require a longer baking time than normal, about 70 minutes but I am at a very high altitude so watch carefully but plan on at least 45 minutes and keep checking.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cloudtears July 14, 2002

I never take the time to review recipies that I try. I am making an exception. This is the best rhubarb recipie I have ever tried. It just cooled off and I cut a piece and it is amazing. Thank you for sharing this. Now I am going to be trying to find more rhubarb to freeze!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
stefanne74 June 18, 2008

I only gave this four starts instead of five because it didn't turn out quite as "pretty" as I had hoped. As far as taste goes...definitely FIVE stars! I really liked the effect of the marshmallows!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KaDo June 05, 2008

I love rhubarb and this cake was good, but I wouldn't make it again. It was a little too sweet for my taste.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Colby's Mom June 28, 2005

I grew up with this recipe, however, we grease the pan and just spoon the cake out ( we don't invert it) I also love it hot or cold also I've used strawberry or raspberry jello w/ no problem. We serve it w/ homemade whipped cream. YUM! Makes me think of grandma.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
startnover June 15, 2005

I couldn't wait for this cake to cool down, and did it taste good. I thought I had a white cake mix and I didn't, so I used Kittencal's "The Best White Cake". It says to line the bottom of the cake pan, but I used parchment paper and had it come up the sides as well. No sticking at all. Thanks for posting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Shar-on July 08, 2004

This recipe is great! What a great way to use my rhubarb! I love the jello use and have tried that in my pies as a thickening agent! Great for any occasion! Thanks for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Meg G August 17, 2003

Very easy to make & excellent with vanilla ice-cream. I had several people ask for the recipe. I would suggest greasing the sides of the pan to keep the cake mix from sticking. Thank you so much for sharing. Tonia B Iowa

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bobski Boyanovsky June 10, 2003

Very tasty and very easy to make. It took about 45 minutes in my oven, with 10 minutes prep-time. A sweet treat! We really enjoyed this recipe. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Heidi in Wisconsin June 08, 2003
Easy Rhubarb Cake