69 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This recipe really dressed up the plain old can of refried beans! I cut the recipe in half and used a can of jalapeno flavored refried beans. I didn't add any water, because I felt it didn't really need it. These beans had a wonderful flavor! I will definitely be making these again!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kim D. April 07, 2003

I live in South TX (also called "North Mexico" around here) and these are really GOOD! I have had my share of bean and cheese tacos from the taco stands and shacks, and these are as good if not better than some of theirs! I use the nonfat canned beans to start so I can control the fat/salt. I add a clove of garlic to the onions when they are cooking, and then a bit of salt and pepper. I taste first before the salt, since some bacon is saltier than others. It's nice to get that authentic taste without all the LARD, which is a key ingredient. Perfect topping for some homemade tortillas, which I always have on hand!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CookingBlues June 07, 2010

Awesome! The bacon gives it a great flavor. My daughter said these tasted better than the refried beans at our favorite Mexican restaurant so that speaks volumes! Thanks for sharing!!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Epi Curious May 15, 2011

This is an awesome recipe. I made these for my sons graduation party so made the recipe X 10 and it turned out perfect. I had so many compliments on the beans that I was almost embarrassed that they were so simple. These were a great addition to our "taco bar". Thank you for our refried bean recipe from now on.....Stephanie

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mommyoffour June 22, 2007

My husband hates refried beans out of a can and almost refused to try it. I convinced him to take a mouthful, promising him it would be topped with cheese and that there was bacon and onion in there. Turkey bacon, but 'shh' he didn't know the difference. He loved them and so did I. It really sparks up the flavor and gives the dish some 'oomph". Pinned it!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ChaCha3 September 04, 2014

This was an excellent way to dress up canned refried beans. Just thinking about it now...we should have added a bit of sliced green onions on top of the cheese before serving. Will likely use this again... thanks for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Gidget265 July 02, 2013

These are great! I can portion the for a small or large crowd and I have received many compliments on them!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bradysmom33_12014788 November 27, 2012

OK, not real sure if it's worth the extra effort. Just open up the refried beans, warm them up and put cheese on it.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ms. Mother Earth October 26, 2012

For a quick bean dish, it can't get better than this! Thanks for posting - we enjoyed them.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Pesto lover September 02, 2012

These were very enjoyable "canned" refried beans. I don't normally use canned beans, but wanted to give this one a shot. The bacon tried hard to infuse the beans with the same flavor slow cooking them gives. Thumbs up for this, and for a shortcut, this is a go-to recipe. I'd like to give this a 4 1/2 stars, but food.com doesn't allow halves. Because I've made them before from scratch and know how absolutely devine they can be...just can't give a 5. But as I said....4 1/2 for a wonderful shortcut recipe!!! Thanks for sharing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
breezermom August 28, 2012
Easy Refried Refried Beans