Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Easy Refried Beans Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Easy Refried Beans

    Average Rating:

    28 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 28

    Sort by:

    • on October 09, 2002

      This recipe was indeed easy to make. To add a little extra zing I used a dash of cumin and hot sauce in it. It complimented Diana Neal's Taco Dorado's #12833 well.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 26, 2003

      This was the crowning touch to a dinner of chili rellenos and Spanish rice. I was looking for a easy canned bean reicpe without the bacon or lard added. Thanks for a good recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 06, 2010

      easy & very yummy! took out some beans plain to use in my mexican lasagna tonight, then stirred in some cheddar & ate for lunch. next time I will also saute the onions in the butter for a couple minutes first

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 08, 2012

      Sooo much better than canned! They were a little too salty the 2nd time I made them, and I noticed that the pinto beans I used had salt in them. I may eliminate the salt altogether next time. I used 3 TB butter and the taste was still wonderful. Will be making these again and again.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 19, 2011

      My mom and I love this recipe! It's so easy and delicious. We have tried this several ways; once we used about 2 cups of pinto beans that she had made in the crock pot the previous night. Always amazing!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 23, 2011

      Great! The only thing I did different was to cook 2/3 cup of dry beans per the directions on the bag, and use them instead of a can of beans. Otherwise, followed the recipe, and it turned out fantastic. Thanks.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 02, 2010

      Wow! So simple with basic ingredients and an end result that is utterly fantastic! I sauteed the onions in the butter and added to the mashed beans.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 04, 2008

      We thought these were easy and good! I cut the amount of butter down a bit, but otherwise stuck to the recipe. Thanks for sharing!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 21, 2007

      The absolutely best refried beans ever! I used Monterey Jack cheese and they were wonderful. Thanks for a new favorite!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 14, 2012

      Its easy and good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 12, 2011

      This was very easy to make. I did make a couple of changes, I halved the butter and sauteed the onions in this. I also added a half of a diced jalapeno pepper to it (fresh) and a clove of garlic. I removed the onion/garlic/pepper mix, then poured the beans in the pot to heat. After that, I followed the recipe, except I garnished with sliced green onions. I really enjoyed this quick and easy Refried Beans recipe! So easy to throw together after a long week at work! Made for PAC Spring 2011.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 06, 2009

      Vrey delicious and easy to make. I make them all the time now.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 30, 2009

      I've made these several times and am just now remembering to review. Easy and tasty - no need to buy the canned stuff ever again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 12, 2009

      I had never made refried beans from scratch, and I was absolutely amazed. I also added some garlic powder and all purpose seasoning. I made it to use in a taco casserole, but could have sat down with a bag of chips and at the whole thing. DH wants me to make it again soon.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 12, 2009

      Made this for Tex Mex/Mexico/Southwest region for ZWT5. I only used a 15.5 oz can of pinto beans, but I think this would have came out better had I used double the amount of beans. I would have also preferred for the onions to have been precooked/soften. With those two modifications, this recipe was great. Still tasted good in Crunchy Burritos.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 03, 2009

      We liked this, but I thought that it was a little bit too salty. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 25, 2008

      This was fabulous, quick, and easy! I decided at the last minute that refried beans would go nicely with the fajitas we were having for dinner but didn't have any in the cupboard. Thanks to recipezaar, I found just what I was looking for. I didn't have pinto beans, but made it with cannellini beans instead hoping it would turn out anyway. It worked great and, thankfully, I made a double batch because they were all eaten and the spoon licked clean! Thanks for such a great and fast recipe, no need to buy canned refried beans anymore...I've found something better!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 02, 2008

      I made these for bean burritos. the beans mashed up in seconds in my food processor. I think that it might be a little more work with a mixer as suggested. My burritos had rice, queso sauce that was made with chorrizzo (sp?), velveeta and rotel. It was perfect when complimented with these other flavors. I'm not a big fan of refried beans as a side dish. So, I honestly didn't try it just by itself. But, it was delicious on my burrito and as a dip on my chips. It was also super quick and easy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 30, 2008

      Charlotte, this just didn't work for our tastes. I had cut the salt in half and it was still much too salty. Maybe it was the brand of pinto beans I used which was Sun Vista. Also, for our tastes, the butter didn't compliment the beans. So sorry Potluck friend! Made for Potluck Tag, please see my rating system.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 31, 2007

      These are fabulous!!! I loved the butter in them....lol. It really gave them great flavor. So simple yet so good. Thank you for this easy bean recipe that I will make again....Stephanie

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Easy Refried Beans

    Serving Size: 1 (142 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 306.5
     
    Calories from Fat 151
    49%
    Total Fat 16.8 g
    25%
    Saturated Fat 10.4 g
    52%
    Cholesterol 45.3 mg
    15%
    Sodium 626.5 mg
    26%
    Total Carbohydrate 27.5 g
    9%
    Dietary Fiber 9.2 g
    36%
    Sugars 1.0 g
    4%
    Protein 12.7 g
    25%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites