Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Easy Red Velvet Cupcakes or Cake Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Easy Red Velvet Cupcakes or Cake

    Average Rating:

    16 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-16 of 16

    Sort by:

    • on July 31, 2011

      These were very easy and good red velvet cupcakes. The only concern I would have is the amount of red food coloring. I made a double batch and used 2 bottles of food coloring (1/2 the amount called for in the recipe) and they were extremely bright red. I can't imagine using more than this and would probably use even less next time. The texture and flavor was really good and enjoyed by all. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 05, 2012

      This is a great recipe and worked very well for me!!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 06, 2011

      I made these cupcakes yesterday for an event for today. For my taste I added another tablespoon of coco powder which gave the finished cake a darker red appearance. There was one flaw with the recipe in the fact that the cooking time was left out. Otherwise the recipe was delicious and easy to make. I topped the cupcakes with freshly made whipped cream and they were loved by all who attended!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 19, 2010

      This cake was a hit, it was very moist and tasted just like the 'from-scratch' red velvet that I've had. I used store-bought cream cheese frosting as the layers in a 9 inch round birthday cake and used Kittencal's Buttercream recipe to frost and decorate the outside.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 17, 2010

      I made this as a layer cake for my son's Star Wars birthday party--with one red layer and one blue layer. Everyone was amazed at how moist it was! It looked and tasted great! So easy too!!! I'll definitely make this again.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 21, 2009

      So easy and so tasty! I added the full 2 ounces of red food coloring and the color was stunning!! My husband tested one of the cupcakes for me and no red dye on his tongue :) I topped these with Kittencal's Best Cream Cheese Frosting (Extra Creamy Option) and they came out beautifully! Thanks for posting! :)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 20, 2009

      this has been my go-to-cake-recipe for at least the last three years - all my friends and family still demand red velvet for every birthday, shower, housewarming, potluck, holiday party, etc. i've made them green for st patrick's day, purple for the laker games, even black for halloween just by changing the food coloring. i should've thanked you, kittencal, a long time ago: THANK YOU for this fantastic recipe!!! don't skimp on the food coloring - i know 2 ounces seems way too red, but it comes out perfectly and everyone loves it.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 17, 2009

      These were good and very simple to make! I made them "green velvet" for my daughter's preschool class for St. Patrick's day. They were a hit. I used 1 one ounce bottle of green food coloring in place of the red food coloring. The cupcakes were plenty green with this amount. I may even use a little less next time. Thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 16, 2009

      Such an easy recipe!!! I followed the instructions exactly, even to the (2) bottles of food coloring (which I have always been leery of). Nice rich flavor and I especially love the frosting :) Thanks Kittencal!!! Made this for the "Tag It RED" event Feb. '09.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 20, 2009

      These were great! Even the batter was tasty ( I used egg beaters with yolks so it was OK) . Also I only needed one bottle of red food dye to get a bright red color. The texture was rich and you would never know there was a mix. Thanks for the great recipe, there are a few en route to a friend to solve her boy problems , they are thatgood

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 30, 2008

      A hit! Love the texture and most of all, love the fact that it's so easy to make! Thanks Kittencal!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 04, 2007

      I made these for a baby shower and everyone loved them. Thank you Kitten for another great recipe. I will make it again!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 04, 2007

      this recipe is bomb....... especially cuz i don't have to make the cake mix from scratch!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 11, 2012

      Just made this cake for my friends and it was delicious - however I too added an extra tablespoon of coca - and one other thing - this is Heloise's recipe I had cut it out of the paper many years ago - at that time she said she had had over 15,000 requests for it ! I give it 5 stars just for the convenience if nothing else - and it's always impresses the crowd !

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 11, 2011

      These were really good! A easy first start at Red Velvet cupcakes! I used about 3/4 oz of red food coloring and cupcakes came out a beautiful red, see picture. Well loved recipe. Thanks for another great recipe Kittencal! Oh, I used Kittencal's Best Cream Cheese Frosting too.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 12, 2007

      I’m very disappointed ... These cupcakes have zero taste. Don’t waste your time on this one. The icing was delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Easy Red Velvet Cupcakes or Cake

    Serving Size: 1 (1135 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 153.4
     
    Calories from Fat 73
    48%
    Total Fat 8.1 g
    12%
    Saturated Fat 1.3 g
    6%
    Cholesterol 39.5 mg
    13%
    Sodium 167.4 mg
    6%
    Total Carbohydrate 17.6 g
    5%
    Dietary Fiber 0.3 g
    1%
    Sugars 9.8 g
    39%
    Protein 2.6 g
    5%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites