24 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

very good. made as advertised and turned out great!

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SAries February 15, 2010

WOW! Velvety and delicious!!! I only used 1 bottle of red coloring and I thought the batter was a little dense, so I added about 1/2 cup more water/buttermilk mixed. Used this for a birthday, where there were 2 cakes -- this was eaten to the last crumb. One guy said "I usually don't even LIKE cakes, but this is REALLY GREAT!" Will definitely make this again.

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sutherlins October 18, 2009

The grocery store was out of white cake mix with pudding, but they DID have red velvet cake mix! Otherwise, I followed the recipe exactly. 4 stars for my improvisation... a million stars for deliciousness. I made cupcakes and frosted with cream cheese frosting (recipe on 'zaar). Mmm mmm!!!

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Emily C February 11, 2009

i added 2x more cocoa, used butter, 1 teas vanilla and 1/2 teas almond extract and cream cheese frosting beat into cool whip (much lighter and VERY delicious)

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
hollywall February 22, 2011

Loved it. I used yellow cake mix instead, and 1 oz food coloring, and they came out beautifully! Not to mention delicious. Store bought cream cheese frosting works well with this too if you're super short on time.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Milano April 22, 2010

Absolutely delicious and so easy. Couldn't find the cake mix with the pudding. I did have to add more buttermilk though..too thick. And I made home made fluffy white icing the recipe on the Wilton meringue can for the boiled icing. It really made the cake. I did three layers wow what a picture. I will be doing this one again at Christmas for about 200 people.. wish me luck

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chantal's Sweet Shop November 26, 2009

I'm giving this 1 star for simplicity. Taste reigns supreme and in my opinion this cake doesn't have it. I am a red velvet fan, and followed the directions to a "T" ... BUT this cake came out like a dry chocolate cake. Not moist (and it wasn't overbaked), no depth of flavor, just like a dry bleh choc. cake with food coloring. My husband actually thought it was okay, but he likes dry, unsweet cakes. This tastes nothing like a 'real' red velvet cake. The only redeeming factor of the cake I made was that I iced with Bourbon Cream Cheese frosting... with enough of the icing in each bite, it was easier to overlook the lack of flavor in the cake itself.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ashleybakes April 04, 2009

This was an excellent recipe, and very easy to make. I used butter instead of margarine, and a yellow cake mix (I couldn't find a white mix with pudding in the mix). I used 2 heart shaped pans, and it turned out perfect.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lmeneely February 15, 2008

My kids loved this cake! I didn't have a pudding-in-the-mix cake mix, so I added a box of instant chocolate pudding mix to the recipe, decreasing the cocoa to 2 Tbl., and increasing the buttermilk to 2 cups. I frosted it with homemade cream cheese frosting and it was a big hit. Thanks for a great recipe:)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bakedapple42 February 22, 2011

A gorgeous looking cake, perfect for our Christmas lunch dessert- it got lots of ooh's and aah's... unfortunately, the taste was a little off. Perhaps it's the 'cake mix taste' or the food coloring..I just don't know. In any case, if I were to make red velvet cake again, I would use this recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MrsMM December 25, 2009
Easy Red Velvet Cake