Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Easy Red Velvet Cake Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Easy Red Velvet Cake

    Average Rating:

    24 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 24

    Sort by:

    • on October 18, 2009

      WOW! Velvety and delicious!!! I only used 1 bottle of red coloring and I thought the batter was a little dense, so I added about 1/2 cup more water/buttermilk mixed. Used this for a birthday, where there were 2 cakes -- this was eaten to the last crumb. One guy said "I usually don't even LIKE cakes, but this is REALLY GREAT!" Will definitely make this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 11, 2009

      The grocery store was out of white cake mix with pudding, but they DID have red velvet cake mix! Otherwise, I followed the recipe exactly. 4 stars for my improvisation... a million stars for deliciousness. I made cupcakes and frosted with cream cheese frosting (recipe on 'zaar). Mmm mmm!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 15, 2010

      very good. made as advertised and turned out great!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 22, 2011

      i added 2x more cocoa, used butter, 1 teas vanilla and 1/2 teas almond extract and cream cheese frosting beat into cool whip (much lighter and VERY delicious)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 22, 2010

      Loved it. I used yellow cake mix instead, and 1 oz food coloring, and they came out beautifully! Not to mention delicious. Store bought cream cheese frosting works well with this too if you're super short on time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 26, 2009

      Absolutely delicious and so easy. Couldn't find the cake mix with the pudding. I did have to add more buttermilk though..too thick. And I made home made fluffy white icing the recipe on the Wilton meringue can for the boiled icing. It really made the cake. I did three layers wow what a picture. I will be doing this one again at Christmas for about 200 people.. wish me luck

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 04, 2009

      I'm giving this 1 star for simplicity. Taste reigns supreme and in my opinion this cake doesn't have it. I am a red velvet fan, and followed the directions to a "T" ... BUT this cake came out like a dry chocolate cake. Not moist (and it wasn't overbaked), no depth of flavor, just like a dry bleh choc. cake with food coloring. My husband actually thought it was okay, but he likes dry, unsweet cakes. This tastes nothing like a 'real' red velvet cake. The only redeeming factor of the cake I made was that I iced with Bourbon Cream Cheese frosting... with enough of the icing in each bite, it was easier to overlook the lack of flavor in the cake itself.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 15, 2008

      This was an excellent recipe, and very easy to make. I used butter instead of margarine, and a yellow cake mix (I couldn't find a white mix with pudding in the mix). I used 2 heart shaped pans, and it turned out perfect.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 22, 2011

      My kids loved this cake! I didn't have a pudding-in-the-mix cake mix, so I added a box of instant chocolate pudding mix to the recipe, decreasing the cocoa to 2 Tbl., and increasing the buttermilk to 2 cups. I frosted it with homemade cream cheese frosting and it was a big hit. Thanks for a great recipe:)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 25, 2009

      A gorgeous looking cake, perfect for our Christmas lunch dessert- it got lots of ooh's and aah's... unfortunately, the taste was a little off. Perhaps it's the 'cake mix taste' or the food coloring..I just don't know. In any case, if I were to make red velvet cake again, I would use this recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 22, 2009

      Fantastic! Topped it with cream cheese frosting & it tasted even better right out of the fridge the next day. I wish I had more right now!!! Because I had to use what I had on hand, I made a few changes: cake mix had no pudding, 2 eggs + 1 egg yolk, 8 Tbsp. butter, and 1/2 oz. red food coloring. Buttermilk and cocoa were the same. A keeper!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 08, 2009

      Easy and Delicious! Not to mention cheap! To avoid the food coloring flavor go to any cooking store like sur la table, or go online, and buy food coloring concentrate. That way, you use WAY less food coloring, achieve the same color, and no food coloring flavor. This was a great cake, made it for my daughter's 3rd birthday party. Made two batches, as it was a layered paw print for her Blue's Clue's party. And it was also fun to see the look on everyone's face when the blue paw print was cut open, and it was red inside. :o)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 25, 2008

      For an easy cake this was great. I was a little worried with how thick the batter was but it came out very moist.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 20, 2004

      Made this today for Father's day and EVERYONE loved the color and taste of this cake, there was none left. At first i was going to make a cake from scratch but i ran out of time and ended up choosing this recipe. This was EASY. I dumped everything into the mixing bowl and with a hand mixer beat it for about 3 min. I was not sure about the margarine, so i left it room temp. and cut it into squares so it would be easier to mix in but i did not melt it. And i only added 1 oz. of red color and about 1/2 a bottle of .25 oz. red color (that was all i had) but the red color was intense just like it should be not pink. Will also add some vanilla next time just b/c i love it. Made this in a 13x9 and it took about 26 min. but my oven runs a little hot. There were a few spots that were yellow where i think the margarine did not get mixed in but i don't think anyone noticed. Frosted with store bought cream cheese frosting. Beautiful, moist cake just love the deep red color. And as simple as it was this will be my stand-by recipe for red velvet cake if i do not have the time to make one from scratch. Thank you AnnaCG =)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 11, 2008

      It was o.k. but not the recipe that makes everyone swoon. Since that's my goal, I'll keep looking. Thanks for sharing though!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 06, 2008

      This was a huge hit at my BBQ. So easy! I couldnt find any cake mix with pudding so I used an extra moist French Vanilla. Perfect with cream cheese frosting :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 14, 2008

      I made red velvet cupcakes with cream cheese frosting using this recipe and the results were awesome! Since I was baking cupcakes instead of layer cake, I baked the cupcakes for ~13-15 minutes, and they came out perfect. The cupcakes seemed to rise more than I was expecting, so I had to adjust how much I was filling the liners after the first batch. Also, it turned out that I only had 0.25 ounces of red food coloring (the standard size bottle that can be purchased at the supermarket), so I used all of that and the color was more of a dusty rose than the traditional red color.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 03, 2008

    • on October 22, 2007

      I made this cake as part of another recipe, Bloody Halloween Cake. I chose this recipe because I had all the ingredients on hand. The cake was great and my grandson and I had so much fun making it. Unfortunately, he didn't like the icing on the cake, It had gummy worms, cool whip, sweetended condensed milk, marshmallow cream and vanilla pudding mix, wow was it sweet. I will definately make the cake again, but use the cream cheese icing instead. Thanks for a good recipe, Claire #3. :-) Sue

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 26, 2007

      This was wonderful! I made it yesterday for my mother's birthday, and everyone gave it rave reviews! I made just as directed. Thanks for posting such a fantastic recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Easy Red Velvet Cake

    Serving Size: 1 (88 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 12

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 283.7
     
    Calories from Fat 125
    44%
    Total Fat 13.9 g
    21%
    Saturated Fat 2.9 g
    14%
    Cholesterol 47.3 mg
    15%
    Sodium 418.1 mg
    17%
    Total Carbohydrate 36.2 g
    12%
    Dietary Fiber 0.9 g
    3%
    Sugars 24.8 g
    99%
    Protein 4.6 g
    9%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites