Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Easy Red Velvet Cake Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Easy Red Velvet Cake

    Average Rating:

    10 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-10 of 10

    Sort by:

    • on December 03, 2007

      I had the same issue as vlynn. I followed the recipe to the tee and got a VERY dense and FLAT cake. It was very hard, too. The directions need to be more specific. The only thing I can think of that I did wrong was that the I should prepared the yellow cake mix the way I normally do and in addition, add the other eggs and vegetable oil mentioned in the recipe. This needs more clarification BIG time.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 10, 2011

      I used butter (as my cake box called for, bumping it to half a cup) instead of oil. I almost forgot the eggs...it wasn't until after I poored a VERY dense cake batter into the pan that I realized the eggs were still sitting by waiting to be added. Super light, fluffy and will pass for red velvet - it does't have quite the extra bite of a traditional, but the prep and clean up was WAY easier on a weekday time budget.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 15, 2011

      Whipped a batch of these up yesterday for Valentine's Day cupcakes. They were moist & delicious! Topped with buttercream instead of cream cheese frosting. I will be using this recipe again & again! Thank you for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 12, 2010

      I tripled this recipe and it made the perfect half sheet cake, I threw it all in the mixer, (no patience at all), and baked it, turned out perfect. Thanks Kitten, this was a fast easy and delicious recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 14, 2010

      These truly say Valentine's Day over and over. I made mine in cupcakes to share for gift-giving for this special day. I did cheat and used a canned cream-cheese frosting. I"m sure your home-made recipe would have taken these up another notch. Moist and delcious!! A true find that was so very easy and tasted just like they were made from scratch. Made for Recipetag in KK's forum!~

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 08, 2009

      Red velevet cake isn't really a big thing here in Oz so I thought this sounded interesting. I used butter cake in lieu yellow cake for fellow Aussies. The cake was lovely & moist & the presentation is beautiful, it made a great cake for my mother in-laws birthday, thanks Kitten!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 13, 2008

      Thank You so much Kittencal for this great easy recipe! I invited the neighbors over for dinner tonite and did not have anything for dessert...saw this recipe and thru it together as it is Valentines Day tomorrow and I thought this would be a great recipe....

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 19, 2007

      I'm not going to rate this because I really think I did something wrong. It just did not turn out right at all. It was very thick and very flat. I guess the cake mix I had was old or something. Sorry Kitten, your recipes are wonderful but this just didn't work for me.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 06, 2007

      This is the best cake I have every eaten.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 29, 2006

      Good, easy cake. I was a little worried at the beginning because the batter was so thick, but then I remembered how dense this cake is supposed to be. I started out trying to frost this with a canned frosting - not enough - so made my own. You'll be able to tell from the picture that I over-frosted. lol. I served this on Christmas day and it was a real hit. Thanks for another great one Kit.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Easy Red Velvet Cake

    Serving Size: 1 (56 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 12

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 284.3
     
    Calories from Fat 138
    48%
    Total Fat 15.3 g
    23%
    Saturated Fat 2.3 g
    11%
    Cholesterol 47.3 mg
    15%
    Sodium 297.8 mg
    12%
    Total Carbohydrate 33.8 g
    11%
    Dietary Fiber 0.7 g
    3%
    Sugars 18.5 g
    74%
    Protein 3.6 g
    7%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes