25 Reviews

Beans/Rice/Sausage is a dish I make when I want to put NO effort into dinner whatsoever, so I was a little skeptical of this recipe because it requires a LITTLE effort :) I wasn't sure it'd be worth it... OH MY GOD... SOOOOOO worth it. This is a regular rotation for us because its delicious, filling, 2yo ds and 5yo dd both love it too, and its inexpensive!! Thank you!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
piranhabriana July 21, 2011

We really liked this recipe. It is much quicker than many recipes. Pretty spicy--which we liked. I added a little corn starch to thicken--just a personal preference. Thanks for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
babytoothdoc February 14, 2016

Really good one skillet meal. I didn't have peppers or celery and it was still awesome.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Rosie O. December 20, 2015

Good but WAY too spicy for me, even though I did not put in the Louisiana hot sauce. Next time I will trade out the bell peppers for carrots and leave out the cayenne seasoning. This time I used cajun flavored sausage so next time I will look for a more bland sausage. But I was grateful to have this recipe since it gave me a general idea of what proportions to use etc. I knocked off a star because it was so so spicy.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Julie M. August 05, 2015

We used a sweet chicken sausage. It was amazing!!!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
taraks July 13, 2014

I came across this recipe while looking for a convenient red beans and rice recipe, and it really couldn't have worked out better. The seasoning I found was the Walker

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SarahBluth September 01, 2013

Super easy and delish! I did use andouille sausage. I cut back on the cajun seasoning to 1.5 TBSP as I was afraid with the spicier sausage, it would be too much. Not sure if it was this particular brand but the sausage wasn't as spicy as I was expecting. Had a good dose of heat to it but we enjoy our beans and rice SPICY so I will use the full 2 TBSP next time. Great filling meal with enough leftover for Monday lunchboxes! Thanks for sharing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lynda Of Virginia September 18, 2011

Small changes: I used mild andouille sausage, Cajun seasoning, basmati rice, 1/2 a green pepper instead of red, and added 4 small bay leaves. I am eating some for lunch right now! Thanks for this quick and easy way to whip up a pot of red beans and rice. I want to give this 5 stars but the stars are not registering for some reason.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Heirloom Tomato July 14, 2011

Mmmm! This was my first attempt at "red beans & rice" and its soooo delicious! I didnt have any kebassa sausage so I use 2 giant beef hot dogs from Costco. I also only use about 1 tablespoon of the cajun seasoning because I felt the hotdogs would bring a lot of salt. It is delicious!

Thank you T-Reed for a keeper recipe :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Merry Cook July 06, 2011

Deeelicious. I used creole seasoning instead of cayenne seasoning, and basmati rice, which held up nicely with all the other ingredients. I will definitely make this again. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
yamakarasu January 18, 2011
Easy Red Beans & Rice With Sausage