9 Reviews

This is pretty good and easy. I didn't have any parsley so I omitted it but did add several cloves of garlic and some Grains of Paradise. I used this as a base for a Mushroom Barley soup. I was very pleased with it. I saved this recipe and will make it again.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Riverside Len December 02, 2012

Excellent! Easy to prepare and so good. Made a really good quality vegetable stock. I added 2 large cloves of Garlic as I was making the stock to use for my Turkey brine and it was so aromatic! Everyone wanted to know what kind of soup I was making. No more store bought for me! Like that there isn't any salt which is why I went for the homemade to eliminate the extra sodium. Thanks you so much RonaNZ! ItalianMomof2

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ItalianMomof2 November 27, 2009

I had never made vegetable stock before but this was so easy. I will not buy from the store anymore! This was easy to make. I froze some for future use. I also took others advice and added garlic.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bmcnichol July 07, 2008

This is a simple, relatively quick stock that is easy to freeze.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MilliMoMo November 23, 2009

This is really simple to make. I've had it simmering away all afternoon and now I have some fabulous, healthy homemade stock for my freezer. Great tasting with lots of veggie flavour. Will be making this again and again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jewelies August 10, 2008

This is a popular recipe! Along with bmcnichol and Jubes, I too am reviewing it for the Aussie/NZ Recipe Swap. It was very easy, smelled great, looked beautiful, and made about 8 cups. I've been looking for one that doesn't include leeks, because they are kind of expensive. This will be my veg stock recipe from now on. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mliss29 July 18, 2008

*Reviewed during Aussie NZ Forum July Recipe Swap* Couldn't be simpler to make your own vegetable stock. The end product was packed full of flavour. Great that it uses the celery ends that I usually just throw away. Add an onion, some carrot and a bunch of parsley from the garden too. Really no need to waste money buying ready prepared stock. I'm going to use half and freeze half. Photo also being posted

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
**Jubes** July 14, 2008

What a lovely simple idea. I prepared this early in the day to go in some minestrone for tea, I also added garlic. I love the fact the the celery leaves I usually throw away are put to good use. Thanks for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
**Mandy** April 30, 2008

Easy Easy! Fantastic results for such little effort! Why buy stock when it's this easy? I almost always have these ingredients on hand. Best of all it's so affordable and you control the ingredients and the sodium so you know exactly what you're getting. I love to use in soups and I add a couple of garlic cloves too since I love it. In fact, I see this as very adaptable depending on your tastes. Once it cools, I just pop it into pint freezer bags, stick it in the freezer, and use as needed - couldn't be easier! Thank you for posting!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Pinot Grigio December 27, 2007
Easy Prep Vegetable Stock