13 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

These weren't bad, but they weren't as good as I had hoped. They were messy but easy and fun to make. I cut my chicken breasts into strips, but one container of sour cream was still plenty, and I used up the leftover potato chips like I wanted. I used regular flavored store-brand ruffled chips, and I too found that they weren't as crispy as I might have expected. And the leftover pieces were soggy upon reheating, of course. I would happily eat it again if served, but I probably won't make it again myself.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Eris March 17, 2010

This was very good. Added some garlic powder and onion powder and pepper to the sour cream mixture. The chips on the top came out very cruchy and yummy. Wonder how it would do with baked chips? This will be added into the meal rotation. Thank you!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jade-Angel January 22, 2010

I like that this is low fat as well as being tasteful to everyone, little ones included. Thanks.. great recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CattMI August 26, 2008

My hubby and I prepared this the other night and it was very good. He did add crushed red pepper flakes, parsley, and pepper for a little more flavor, but otherwise followed the recipe. Thanks for sharing this easy and tasty recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Vitameatavegamin Girl May 25, 2008

This was a nice change to ordinary baked chicken. I used 4 boneless skinless chicken breast, and the only thing I did differently was put the sour cream in a gallon ziploc bag, add some Italian Seasoning, red pepper flakes and a very small amount of seasoning salt...then added the chicken, mushed it all around in the bag, and refrigerated all day. I had a dentist appointment in the afternoon so I wanted to be a step or two ahead when I got home. Anotherwards, it kind of marinaded all day in the refrigerator. I also used lemon rosemary flavored potatoe chips...very good. Kittencal, thanks for an easy yet yummy recipe...my husband and I enjoyed it very much.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Noni Suzanne February 01, 2008

Excellent recipe! We all loved it and my 4 year old was thrilled that she was eating potato chips for dinner LOL! Thanks, Kitten, another winner!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Katelyn1009 November 03, 2007

I actually originally got this recipe from my mother-in-law who has made this for years -- it isn't very healthy so I don't make it often, but it is a treat when I do -- it tastes fantastic! :) I normally cut the chicken breast into strips before coating but otherwise the recipe is the same! It's one that will please the whole family!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
amylou2 April 30, 2007

wonderful!!! I DID USE 1/2 EXTRA VIRGIN OLIVE OIL AND 1/2 BUTTER.I ALSO USED LITE SOUR CREAM and added salt, pepper and garlic powder to it! I only needed 1-10 ounce bag of potato chips. I had 4 breast halves, not sure what I would have done with 20 ounces of chips??LOL Thanks for sharing. Ingrid/Koechin

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Koechin (Chef) February 13, 2006

I thought I followed this recipe exactly, but the coating wasn't as crunchy as other reviewers described, and sometimes pieces of coating just fell off the chicken. Regardless, the end product was still delicious. I will make it again--I truly think it was the cook, and not the recipe's fault...

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ladyfingers February 01, 2006

The kids gobbled this up. I cut the pieces into strips and we only had 2 lbs of meat thawed so I just winged the amounts and everything turned out great.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
startnover January 27, 2006
Easy Potato Chip Chicken Breasts