12 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This was quick for a last minute lunch. 4 stars only because I did not like the tomato in the soup. I followed the recipe and it turned out tasty, after spooning out the tomatoes. Thank you!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
drinkmore March 13, 2014

I was looking for a quick soup to make on a rainy evening that used both asparagus and potatoes, and found this recipe. It was very tasty, without any adjustments in seasoning or major changes. I was missing a few ingredients, so subbed plain yogurt for sour cream, some grape tomatoes for a regular tomato, and 1/4 cup grated parmesan cheese for the cheddar. My husband and I both really liked it and will definitely enjoy it again sometime soon!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lisa28282 March 03, 2014

This makes a delicious soup with the perfect amount of spice for our taste. I made a little healthier by using vegetable broth with a couple teaspoons of Better than Bouillon No Chicken Chicken Base and organic vegetables. This is a definite make again recipe! Thanks so much for sharing, Lorac!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bev January 14, 2014

This gourmet soup was very easy and fun to make! I used fat free Greek Yogurt instead of the sour cream, and grape tomatoes and regular potatoes because that was all I had on hand. The Cayenne pepper was a perfect touch. A party in my mouth!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
stefanysquires September 10, 2012

So easy and quick to make, and makes a great lunch for the next day! I changed the sour cream for natural yoghurt and put half cheese and half Philadelphia soft cheese instead.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Emelie78 December 28, 2010

Great soup! I made a half recipe and blended with a stick blender. I did add a little fresh garlic. I also only had russett potatoes, so I precooked them in the microwave before adding them. Also left out the tomato as we don't like them. This recipe was good, pretty quick and easy to make. Will eat the rest for lunches this week. Thanks for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
StacyMD187373 November 14, 2010

This came out very good, although I did make some additions: added garlic with the onions, added a little white wine for part of the chicken broth, put in about 1/3 c short julienned red pepper strips with the tomato. I was completely out of cayenne so I replaced that with some red pepper flakes and a dash of hot sauce. I also added a little dried dill weed. I think it would also be really good with some diced ham or canadian bacon. For the salt I used smoked kosher that we keep on hand. I didn't stir in the cheese, but used Mexican 4 cheese blend as a garnish. I did not puree as some readers suggested, and may do that with the little bit of leftovers remaining. This is a definate do-again for a cool rainy day lunch or dinner.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jaybee chef October 23, 2010

This is an excellent recipe! Thanks so much for submitting it. I included a few variations using canned diced tomatoes, 1 cup each shredded parmesan and american cheeses, and added a can of tuna in water. I garnished with fresh ground black pepper and served with toast points. Divine!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Angelique.1 August 12, 2007

Excellent and easy. Thanks for submitting this recipe!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
medic_357 March 02, 2007
Easy Potato Asparagus Soup