Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    More Slow-Cooker Favorites

    Top Slow-Cooker Dishes

    Top Slow-Cooker Dishes

    52 Low-and-Slow Meals
    You Can Slow Cook That?!

    You Can Slow Cook That?!

    Try Potatoes, Pizza or Cake
    Slow-Cooker Desserts

    Slow-Cooker Desserts

    Effortless One-Pot Treats
    You are in: Home / Recipes / Easy Potato and Corn Chowder - Crock Pot Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Easy Potato and Corn Chowder - Crock Pot

    Average Rating:

    41 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 41

    Sort by:

    • on November 08, 2010

      This looks way better in the picture than it did in my crock pot. The flavor just isn't there either. I'm glad other people like it, but we don't. Sorry.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 09, 2010

      Very good.

      I used frozen shopeg and yellow corn vs the 1 can of regular corn, but did use the cream corn as well.

      Added milk and half and half combo vs evaporated which I am not a fan of.Also added a bit of vegetable broth to thin the chowder out a bit.

      More seasoning was needed for
      me and I added quite a few scallions for color as well as for flavor.

      I did garnish with bacon and grated white cheddar.

      Thx for a nice easy recipe.
      ---------------------------------------
      One quick note:

      Made again for a friend ... the type of crock pot will matter. My older one took 6 hours, my new crock which I used the batch I just took to a friend cooks much hotter. 4 hrs was plenty, 6 would of been dried out.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 06, 2010

      Very yummy even my picky husband ate a bowl. The reason people had bad results w/ consistency is they used the frozen corn need to use canned corn...I really loved it and plan to make again soon

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 21, 2010

      This was great! However, I only gave it four stars b/c I think my extras added a little more flavor (jalapeno, garlic, carrot, celery, cayenne and hot sauce). I took another's suggestion and added some broth b/c I knew it had to cook the full six hours while we were at work. I will make this again for sure! Thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 30, 2009

      Oh. My. Gosh. This is soooo good, my whole family raved about it. Just absolutely delicious! I served it with some whole grain buns and it was a filling and satisfying meal for us. I did make a couple of changes though. After buying all of the ingredients and planning it for dinner, I quickly realized I hadn't even read the title correctly and didn't see that this was a crock pot meal, LOL! Not to worry, I just threw it all on the stove top in a pot, and added some 2 percent milk as I went along to thin it out as it was really thick. I can't say how much milk I added, I just eyeballed it as I went along until it looked right. Creamy, but not too thick. I'll make this a thousand times more, it was THAT good!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 08, 2013

      The recipe was very easy to follow. I added a little ground clove and cinnamon, but still found it kind of bland. Still, I will make it again, probably doubling the Wostershire sauce and add a couple drops of Tobascco.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 31, 2012

      We loved this chowder! I fixed this as the recipe directed, but found that I had to add 1 1/2 cups of chicken broth after 4 hours. It was starting to stick to the bottom and get to brown on the sides. The addition of the broth made it just right and the flavor was delish! Thanks, Carole in Orlando

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 01, 2011

      Great easy recipe. My DH loved it. I think next time I will add one more can of creamed corn. I like it a little more soupy. Thanks again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 14, 2010

      This looks delicious! Will try tonight!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 13, 2010

    • on October 21, 2010

      We thought that the overall flavor of this soup was good. However, as others have said it was much too thick for us. I did make it on the stop top rather than crock pot, so I browned the bacon and onions first. I should have added the hash browns in then as well because they were a little bland just heated in the soup broth. I had to add some skim milk because there wasn't enough broth. I did make extra and froze and it has reheated well in the microwave. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 05, 2010

      We all liked this very much. I think that it makes a better side dish. Will make this one again. Thank you.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 21, 2010

      I cooked mine on high for about 3 hours to completion. I added about 1/2 brick of low fat cream cheese in the end to make it more creamy. I also added the kernels of 1 extra corn cob (and glad I did). Also added some all purpose seasoning in the end. Thanks for sharing this super easy recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 21, 2010

      This was a great easy recipe for a chilly spring day. I thought it felt a little heavy but DH ate two giant bowls.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 08, 2010

      Very good even the kids liked it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 22, 2010

      I'm rating this 4 stars because I did a lot of my own changes. I followed someone else's suggestion and cooked it on the stove top in about 30 minutes. I also used real potatoes instead of frozen hash-browns and just cut them into french fry like pieces but next time I would just do cubes. I also used ham chunks instead of bacon, just seemed like it would be more filling. We really loved it though, even my husband who doesn't usually like soups! Great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 21, 2010

      I made this with the addition of some garlic, and I thought it turned out great. The only reason I'm giving 4 stars and not 5 is that my husband felt it was a good side dish but not hearty enough to be an entree. He loved it as a side dish with steak, though!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 17, 2010

    • on March 17, 2010

      Very yummy, nice light flavours. I too just cooked it on the stove. I added a crushed clove of garlic.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 09, 2010

      I LOVE how simple this recipe is. However, as written is was just a little boring for my taste, tasted like fancy creamed corn. I added some red pepper flakes and some hot sauce (2 fire packets from taco bell) that I had hiding in the fridge. I had bits and pieces bacon that I cooked extra crispy and mixed into the whole pot and topped with more bacon and green onions. Delicious!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Easy Potato and Corn Chowder - Crock Pot

    Serving Size: 1 (307 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 305.7
     
    Calories from Fat 95
    31%
    Total Fat 10.6 g
    16%
    Saturated Fat 4.5 g
    22%
    Cholesterol 23.7 mg
    7%
    Sodium 805.9 mg
    33%
    Total Carbohydrate 47.6 g
    15%
    Dietary Fiber 3.7 g
    14%
    Sugars 4.8 g
    19%
    Protein 10.0 g
    20%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes