41 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Very good.

I used frozen shopeg and yellow corn vs the 1 can of regular corn, but did use the cream corn as well.

Added milk and half and half combo vs evaporated which I am not a fan of.Also added a bit of vegetable broth to thin the chowder out a bit.

More seasoning was needed for
me and I added quite a few scallions for color as well as for flavor.

I did garnish with bacon and grated white cheddar.

Thx for a nice easy recipe.
---------------------------------------
One quick note:

Made again for a friend ... the type of crock pot will matter. My older one took 6 hours, my new crock which I used the batch I just took to a friend cooks much hotter. 4 hrs was plenty, 6 would of been dried out.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SarasotaCook October 09, 2010

This looks way better in the picture than it did in my crock pot. The flavor just isn't there either. I'm glad other people like it, but we don't. Sorry.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Autuamnsprite November 08, 2010

Very yummy even my picky husband ate a bowl. The reason people had bad results w/ consistency is they used the frozen corn need to use canned corn...I really loved it and plan to make again soon

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
998171 May 06, 2010

This was great! However, I only gave it four stars b/c I think my extras added a little more flavor (jalapeno, garlic, carrot, celery, cayenne and hot sauce). I took another's suggestion and added some broth b/c I knew it had to cook the full six hours while we were at work. I will make this again for sure! Thanks!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sbera007 March 21, 2010

Oh. My. Gosh. This is soooo good, my whole family raved about it. Just absolutely delicious! I served it with some whole grain buns and it was a filling and satisfying meal for us. I did make a couple of changes though. After buying all of the ingredients and planning it for dinner, I quickly realized I hadn't even read the title correctly and didn't see that this was a crock pot meal, LOL! Not to worry, I just threw it all on the stove top in a pot, and added some 2 percent milk as I went along to thin it out as it was really thick. I can't say how much milk I added, I just eyeballed it as I went along until it looked right. Creamy, but not too thick. I'll make this a thousand times more, it was THAT good!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
~Leslie~ December 30, 2009

The recipe was very easy to follow. I added a little ground clove and cinnamon, but still found it kind of bland. Still, I will make it again, probably doubling the Wostershire sauce and add a couple drops of Tobascco.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Southern Sister December 08, 2013

We loved this chowder! I fixed this as the recipe directed, but found that I had to add 1 1/2 cups of chicken broth after 4 hours. It was starting to stick to the bottom and get to brown on the sides. The addition of the broth made it just right and the flavor was delish! Thanks, Carole in Orlando

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
carole in orlando December 31, 2012

Great easy recipe. My DH loved it. I think next time I will add one more can of creamed corn. I like it a little more soupy. Thanks again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Alayane October 01, 2011

This looks delicious! Will try tonight!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ChristineKorda December 14, 2010
Easy Potato and Corn Chowder - Crock Pot